Bare Escentuals • Buxom Lips Full Color Sophia • Lip Gloss

rated 3.3(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 4/14/2014 5:46:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for free in a VIB Rouge gift bag at a Sephora "event" recently. I've never tried any Buxom product before and I now see why this brand is so popular. Having said that, if I were buying this product, I'd have chosen a different colour - this is too pale and flesh toned for my liking. However, I do wear this around the house, to the gym, etc. and find the texture lovely and moisturizing. I like it enough that I'm eager to try this product but in a more "berry" or deeper shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zhaya on 6/27/2012 10:36:00 PM more reviews by zhaya

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Big disappointment, as I love the Buxom glosses (though find the color range limited for my taste- too many bubble-gummy colors). So I had high hopes that being a full-color, non-bubble-gummy product, I would like Sophia. But Sophia is a gloppy mess. It is not sheer like the other glosses and this is a detriment to the texture, look, and feel. It looks like a pretty shimmery bronzey-plummy color in the tube and when first applied. But on me, and everyone I know who has used it, it quickly turns into a silvery mess, with the color almost disappearing as the metallic look takes over. I hoped one of my daughters could use it, but they passed it around between the 4 of them til someone finally tossed it. I also didn't like the brush that comes with this one; I prefer the sponge tip as in the glosses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 4/10/2012 4:37:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sad to say that out of the 8-10 of these I now own, this was the first one I disliked enough to return (actually, it's the first one I've disliked at all). It's the warm-toned sister to Roxanne; more of a peachy/bronze than Roxanne's rosy-bronze. The metallic finish of Sophia is not attractive at all on me though and seems more frosty than Roxanne, and also appears more orangey on my lips than in the tube. Every time I looked at myself with this on, I felt like a warm-toned version of the Tin Man from Wizard of Oz. It simply did not work no matter what I tried. Otherwise it has the same great formula, texture, pigment, lasting power, taste, scent, plumping effect and all the rest this line is known for which I love. It was the shade that killed it for me so it warrants a two lippy rating, rather than one. I exchanged Sophia for Sugar which I'm so far very happy with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* demmie on 6/21/2011 9:10:00 PM more reviews by demmie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is EXACTLY like the shade Ginger, except a tad more pigmented and with a brush. I put both of these on, and I honestly can't see much of a difference. I suppose if you want a more sheer finish, go with Ginger, and if you want something a bit more pigmented go with Sophia.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TherinekaVeroli on 4/2/2010 10:19:00 AM more reviews by TherinekaVeroli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have naturally pigmented lips so lip glosses rarely show up on me, when I saw the full coverage lip glosses at sephora I got soooo excited I ended up leaving with the color Sophia (I bought it because it is my daughters name) it's not much darker than my natural lips but it's just dark enough to make lips really stand out without being overwhelming. I pair this color with jordana l/l in tawny and the final result is very beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 redheadreporter on 1/28/2010 2:02:00 PM more reviews by redheadreporter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Very pigmented, but too metallic and a little too dark for my taste. I do like how minty and tingly it is, but I'm not sure how much it actually plumps my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 7/1/2009 10:34:00 PM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm in love with Buxom, and this product is no exception. This is my first full-color Buxom, and I am very pleased with it. I was heartbroken when Clinique discontinued its liquid lipsticks, and this is a similar but better product. The color is described as a nude rose, but I find it not a nude shade at all, except that it's slightly warm (if that fits your definition of nude). Anyway, it's a mid-toned, very slightly warm rose shade with quite a lot of shimmer. Like the previous reviewer, I'm not crazy about the brush applicator. This formula is very thick and looks seriously frosty if applied too heavily, which is way easy to do with the attached brush. I find that picking up some product from the wand with a separate lip brush gives the best application--a thin layer looks just shimmery enough and the color is beautiful. It's only slightly sticky and the staying power is incredible--the shine may wear off a bit, but the color keeps going, even under a layer of lipbalm, and the shimmer doesn't settle into the lines in my lips. It has the Buxom tingle and I found the scent to be a sort of caramel/vanills--fleeting and not unpleasant. This is similar to Kevyn Aucoin's Liquid Lipstick in Aurelia but slightly warmer, more shimmery, less sticky, and less expensive. This loses a lipstick for that damn brush wand, but overall I really like it and will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yshah0621 on 4/11/2009 12:43:00 PM more reviews by yshah0621

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: beautiful color, minty tingly feeling which plumps lips quite nicely, the color is really full, like a liquid lipstick as most people have noted, and it looks on your lips like it does in the tube. it covers the natural pigmentation of your lips, very very shiny, super high gloss finish

cons: don't like the brush applicator, since its full color you have to be very precise when applying this, since it can get all over the place. can't apply this in a rush! you have to be careful also, because this can get on your teeth pretty badly. the smell might be a bit strong for some, very vanilla-ey. this reminds me of the DISGUSTING prestige lipgloss which gave me a headache and nausea, smelling like straight up vanilla extract

overall, i really like this, because its such a pretty color and such great coverage!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MamaNicole on 11/22/2008 8:57:00 AM more reviews by MamaNicole

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was a fan of the original sheer Bare Escentuals Buxom Lipglosses until I realized they were all basically clear on me. That's why I was so excited to try the new Full Color Buxom l/g - surely these were just what I was waiting for! Sadly, not the case. To begin, the container is exactly the same, except the applicator is now a brush. I prefer the doe foot, myself. The product is not like a full color gloss - it's actually more like a liquid lipstick. I purchased Sophia, described as a rosy nude, which is actually a very frosty warm color. The entire thing was a disappointment. The only good parts were the container (which I love) and the minty tingle. This was certainly not worth $18.00. It's going back to Sephora today!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Bare Escentuals products

More Lip Gloss products