Deborah Lippmann • Addicted to Speed • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.4(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 PolishedSalon on 4/13/2014 8:59:00 AM more reviews by PolishedSalon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Super fast drying but it thickens in a bottle fast too. The formula is a little too thick too.
I stopped using it a while ago (got 3 bottles, still 2 un-used)
The bottle is very pretty but I don't like Deborah Lippmann brushes. Way to small :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deppism on 3/17/2014 10:20:00 AM more reviews by deppism

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Probably it's my 5th or 6th bottle after I tried over 10 top coats.
I got my newest bottle couple of weeks ago and I found it's renewed.
It's much runnier, thinner and take much longer to dry.
It's easier to use with less bobbles and shrinkage but I can't get glasslike look anymore..
still quite glossy but it's more like greasy oil-like gloss not glass-like.
I might buy this again unless I find something new
but I'm willing to try other topcoat now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SugarCelebi on 11/18/2013 11:38:00 PM more reviews by SugarCelebi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I give this more of a 4.7 or so, but whatever. I've tried quite a few quick-dry topcoats, and I've liked each for different reasons (or sometimes I didn't like them at all), but I think this one has been my favourite so far. Dries quickly, isn't too prone to dragging (it will drag if you go over a spot too many times, but not if you're careful!), and it almost never bubbles, which puts it above my previous favourite, Nails Inc. It admittedly isn't QUITE as shiny as the Nails Inc, but that's hardly a big deal for me. The consistency is thin but not too thin, and I don't find the smell offensive. The biggest deal for me, though, is the wear time. My nails chip mercilessly no matter what topcoat/polish combo I use, which I attribute to my horribly weak and flimsy nails. I'm talking first day chips sometimes. But with this, I can usually get to the 3rd day with no damage, and then the damage is pretty minor. I know that seems like a short time, but trust me. For me, it's a big deal. The biggest drawback is obviously the price tag, but I will probably be purchasing again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Karinpe on 10/18/2013 5:07:00 PM more reviews by Karinpe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've tried about a million quick dry top coats, and this honestly beats them all! It typically wears a good 5 days on me before I feel like I should remove it (although I could easily wear this even longer, since on day 5 it still isn't bad), which I think is outstanding when it comes to these kind of top coats. Most quick dry top coats starts to chip quite badly on me after only one day (looking at you seche vite). I use this with the deborah lippmann "turn back time" base coat and these two together are seriously like iron! However, I found that this works a bit differently depending on which nail polish brand you use. When used with a creamy polish (like OPI) its just pure magic! It lasts forever and ever. When used with polishes that are thinner in concistency (like Essie or other Deborah Lippmanns) it's not as good, but still better than any other quick dry top coat I've tried. This is not a problem for me since I mostly own OPI polishes but maybe something to consider if most of your polishes are on the thinner side. Also, it gets a bit gloopy after a while, but if you add some nail polish thinner it's just like new and for some weird reason it gets even better after that (plus the bottle will last longer) Oh, and I forgot to mention that it dries SUPERFAST!! I absolutely love this!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 9/13/2013 10:31:00 AM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very impressed with this so far. I'm not specifically a Deborah Lippmann fan due to the price, but I tried this on over wet colors in a Sephora store & was impressed how well it dried - fast, smooth, shiny, "cushioned" (like gel). While the brush isn't big, it applied abundantly & effortlessly w/o any cuticle flooding. I think this rivals Sech Vite & (so far) no shrinkage! I had a 10% VIB coupon so I decided to take the plunge. The only other very costly topcoat I like is Dior Gel Coat ($24). Addicted To Speed being a fast-dry topcoat, it's worth the expense to have it for really shiny, sturdy manicures. Seche Vite was perfect in every way (aside from toxic chemicals) except that it shrinks my polish, which was the deal breaker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JulesOfWisdom on 8/7/2013 6:40:00 AM more reviews by JulesOfWisdom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had high hopes for this after reading many positive reviews on varying sites. People saying it's better than Seche Vite. It better be for $20 a bottle. First problem is that the brush is too small, not a standard size brush. It's smaller than a regular fashioned Revlon brush. The reason this is a problem is that since this is a fast drying product you need to load the brush enough to get a good amount to spread before it dries out. Many times, I was out of product, had to go back into the bottle to finish my nail & as I went to apply some more I found my nail was tacky dry just enough to cause those catches you get when you try to put another coat on during the tacky phase of drying. Deborah Lippmann's choice to go with the small brush defeats the product. Second problem is that it shrinks back the tips of your mani. I tried this with a holo polish and then a variety of creams from different brands and all had tip shrinkage. (main reason I tried this was the reviews that said this wont shrink back your tips) Third problem was that this small brush & quick dry formula actually picked up my polish color on my nail. The first time I just wiped off the brush, but the second time it smeared my design. Seche never smears my designs. Now the next two things that I didn't like aren't problems, but you need to know. You have to wait 2 minutes after applying color before you can apply this topcoat & they mean it. In addition, this is not a high vinyl shine like Seche. If you're used to a high vinyl shine or like a high vinyl shine this is not for you. It shines, but at the same level as a nice cream polish. No extra special high shine factor. I bought mine from HSN & am returning. I'm going back to Seche & Sally Hansen 30 second. Bummer was really hoping for something that would better Seche & was really hoping this was going to be an amazing product. Lastly, if you still want to try it, then I recommend buying it somewhere that accepts returns & is convenient for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marybob on 6/3/2013 10:20:00 PM more reviews by marybob

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Outstanding top coat that dries faster than anything else I've tried, whether from drugstores, beauty supplies or dept. stores. Not just dry to the touch but dries to the point where you can move on with your life very soon after painting your nails. On the down side it gets thick in the bottle and can leave a rough edge on the nail. The price is steep as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 2/7/2013 1:49:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best top coat I've used to date. It's incredibly fast-drying, so application must be done quickly. The finish is extremely shiny. I'm very happy to have found this product. It's now a favorite and I highly recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Marihoene on 11/7/2012 5:18:00 PM more reviews by Marihoene

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think this one beats the Poshe top coat,which was previously my favourite(I stopped using SV because of the nasties in it). It dries my polish very fast,and I've noticed it sort of hardens the layers(kind of like if you had a layer of gel over). The two things I didn't like about it are the fact that it gets a little goopy(but this is easily fixed with thinner) and the brush(but I'll survive).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 6/1/2012 2:40:00 PM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It does what it says on the bottle - dries nail polish very quickly. The first time I used it the fam was waiting on me for dinner so I applied as quickly as possible and then out the door. It dried my mani (BC, 2 coats colour, 1 thickish coat of glitter) completely without any dents or smudges. It has good staying power and my nails looked great until I was ready to take it off. No chips, lifting or peeling, though I did have a little shrinkage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Deborah Lippmann products

More Top/Base Coats products