3M - Nexcare Acne Patch

4.4

75 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

hydrocolloid and ethylene oxide


on 8/15/2015 7:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I found these effective on whiteheads that have already popped, or after lancing/needling. They do not have a discernible effect on other pimples or in the earlier stages, which is mainly what I had wanted to use them for. Part of the advertising description is that Nexcare "Acts as a protective cover, reducing the urge to squeeze," however this makes no sense when it is necessary for the pimple to be squeeze in order for the product to work properly.

Otherwise, I found them very easy to use. They were not overly uncomfortable to remove but they still had enough adhesion to stay on throughout the night. I sleep on my side or my stomach and I have had no problems with them staying put. I have dehydrated normal-to-dry skin and I did not find them drying.

Overall, these are a decent product to have around for pimples that have popped but don't toss out your other acne products.



on 7/30/2015 6:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

To preface, I'm a master esthetician so I have access to a lot of brands/products. I LOVE these!! I read about the Nexcare Acne Patches on here (see reviews), so I bought a couple of boxes from Amazon for about $10/each. They work like a sponge to absorb pus and oil from acne blemishes. Simply peel a cover off the clear sticky liner and place it over the blemish. The cover turns white when all the oil has been absorbed, giving you a visible sign that it's working. For the more cystic papules, the patches have also pulled oil and pus.
I read where many say it's best to properly/carefully/safely/hygienically lancet (I use Walgreens extra fine gage) first, to drain and to create a tiny passageway for fluid, oil, pus to better eliminate and release. I completely agree. It's so important to do this gently and not attack it. I make sure the area is completely clean and clear of any product. The box contains two patch sizes and 36 patches. I use one on each acne lesion, for two to three nights, depending upon the size and type of acne- papule, pustule, whitehead, cyst. The next morning I can see the pus which has pulled from the acne...so self gratifying!!
I LOVE these acne patches and I tell my clients how amazing they are! To reiterate again, it's imperative to prep the lesion carefully and safely, leaving no residue or the patch won't stick. I have not been able to find any in the retail stores, even though I've seen stores carry the Nexcare brand. With Amazon, even if I place an order on a Saturday, the patches arrive by Tuesday.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/28/2015 9:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

These are amazing! I just tried them overnight for the first time. They even worked on an old scabby spot I had picked at. Usually it would take these another 5 days to heal (and leave me with a mark) but when I peeled off the patch it was like it was never even there, just a slight redness on smooth skin. I can hardly believe my eyes. I am so excited at the idea that these could help me finally stop picking at my face!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2015 3:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I use these whenever I have a blemish, especially if it has popped. Overnight, this absorbs all the yuckiness from the blemish and speeds up the healing process enormously. The blemish does not have a "crust" on it in the morning -- it is greatly flattened and diminished, and much easier to apply concealer on top.

I tried using the CVS version that comes in larger sheets and must be cut, but they did not compare to the effectiveness of the Nexcare at all, for acne, in my experience.

These are available on Amazon, but I usually buy them in bulk from eBay sellers. It's much cheaper that way, but you must wait longer for shipping because they are coming directly from Asia.

These are HG items for several years now!! I'm never without Nexcare patches!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I buy a box of these patches after I tried out a single strip and found out that it works like miracle.

Like what other reviewers have commented, the acne/pimple has to be "opened", ic, inflamed with yellowish pus and bleeding a bit which is quite painful and feel uncomfortable. I have learnt my lesson that I cannot immediately apply the patch on my skin after I washed my face as it will not stick properly and end up waste a patch and re-stick it will not be adhesive anymore. After one application (about 4 hours), I find that my acne/pimple has shrunk into smaller size, I peel it off and wash my face again and I cannot even locate my acne/pimple on my jaw area! The redness and inflammation has reduced much that I can hardly feel the pain! I am so surprised! I decide to apply a second patch overnight (and it sticks strongly without fall off) and the white discharge of pus on the patch almost fills up the whole patch and now my acne/pimple is left with only a brown, dried up spot - which means it will not further infected and grows pus again and the spot might eventually fade and disappear.

The instruction on the box stated that the patches are packed in sterilised method to keep it clean and hygiene, but once you open it, you might want to close/seal it properly to prevent dusts or dirty hands to contact with the patches directly. I have tried many times before, on an opened acne/pimple, to squeeze out the pus and blood and thereafter to apply medical cream or OXY 5/10. But it does not cure or reduce the pain and size of it, but instead, on the next day, it keeps inflamed and the redness on my face is so obvious! The cycle of keep squeezing and re-infection makes it leaving a permanent scar/spot on my face and it is very hard to fade. So now, be clever and apply this patch on it, it saves me from endless squeezing and touching it which could induce a severe swollen wound.

A box of patches could last me for quite sometimes as I still use OXY 5/10 on my face for those tiny annoying acnes/pimples which does not open up. I saw from local drugstores that they have a normal patches, for night use, thinner patches available for the customers' preferences.


on 1/27/2015 4:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product is amazing, and it really works! Before I bought these, I did a bit of research on it. These patches are like tiny "hydrocolloid' bandages that work by pulling out the blood and pus from your zit. I find that these work only on pimples that have already popped. What I usually do is use a pricking tool to poke a very tiny hole or scrape the skin on top of the pimple, just enough to let out the pus then I put this on top. After a few hours you'll see the pus and blood draining away, and the acne patch turning white. Sometimes I have to use two patches to completely drain the stubborn zits. After this, they will become flat. I find that this speeds up the healing process. If you haven't tried this, go out and buy it! You need this product in your life if you're prone to acne. Oh and by the way, I'm in the Philippines and I got these at Mercury Drug. Not all branches sell them though. I got these from the Makati/Glorietta branch for around Php 150 or $3.30. Hope this helps some! :)


on 1/15/2015 9:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I went back and forth with these when I first tried them. At first I didn't have a lot of luck and then later I got the hang of it. Sometimes they don't stick and sometimes they stick super strongly. I've felt they were essential at times and other times hardly use them, usually because I'm using some other kind of acne treatment that makes the skin more sensitive to something sticky like this that can pull on the sensitve surface and it just doesn't work together. I found this is useless on cysts or closed postules as others have said. It doesn't get *rid* of pimples. You really have to use these on popped pimples, and while it's "not good to pop", these help absorb the puss and exudate while keeping it protected, and hopefully stop it from getting (re)infected. I also couldn't just lightly pop and then rely on this to pull the rest of the puss out as some people are saying. I felt I had to get out as much as possible and then this would usually help with the clear plasma like ooze that comes out afterwards. The problem is, when you cover and area the chance of it getting infected from the remaining bacteria can be hightened because of lack of air and the ability to dry out. Exposing the area also can highten the chance of external infection, so it's pretty tough to decide to use a covering or not. That said, I did find this pulled out some of that puss and helped to flatten the area. It can hurt to pull this off of a sore spot after it's been on all night, and I often find the healing process after to take longer after using these for some reason, like it over dried the area and the cells took longer to regenerate.

I repurchased quite a few times and got the thin ones as well, because occasionally you just need them, but the hope is to not get these major pimples in the first place. I haven't had the need for these as much as I used to. I still have them on hand just in case, but I'm starting to shy away from them and trying to pop less.


on 12/24/2014 11:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Other

Tried it today on two massive pimples that had popped... AMAZING!! I left it on all day and when I took it off to shower and cleanse my face I saw all the gunk it had sucked out of the pimple. It's not swollen anymore and you can only see the teensiest of redness on my skin! I will forever repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2014 11:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought it. It's really comfortable. Is it reusable if it didnt turn white?


on 11/21/2014 10:35:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Did nothing for me. Didn't always stick on the face well.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top