3M - Nexcare Acne Patch

4.3

71 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

hydrocolloid and ethylene oxide


on 1/27/2015 4:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product is amazing, and it really works! Before I bought these, I did a bit of research on it. These patches are like tiny "hydrocolloid' bandages that work by pulling out the blood and pus from your zit. I find that these work only on pimples that have already popped. What I usually do is use a pricking tool to poke a very tiny hole or scrape the skin on top of the pimple, just enough to let out the pus then I put this on top. After a few hours you'll see the pus and blood draining away, and the acne patch turning white. Sometimes I have to use two patches to completely drain the stubborn zits. After this, they will become flat. I find that this speeds up the healing process. If you haven't tried this, go out and buy it! You need this product in your life if you're prone to acne. Oh and by the way, I'm in the Philippines and I got these at Mercury Drug. Not all branches sell them though. I got these from the Makati/Glorietta branch for around Php 150 or $3.30. Hope this helps some! :)



on 1/15/2015 9:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I went back and forth with these when I first tried them. At first I didn't have a lot of luck and then later I got the hang of it. Sometimes they don't stick and sometimes they stick super strongly. I've felt they were essential at times and other times hardly use them, usually because I'm using some other kind of acne treatment that makes the skin more sensitive to something sticky like this that can pull on the sensitve surface and it just doesn't work together. I found this is useless on cysts or closed postules as others have said. It doesn't get *rid* of pimples. You really have to use these on popped pimples, and while it's "not good to pop", these help absorb the puss and exudate while keeping it protected, and hopefully stop it from getting (re)infected. I also couldn't just lightly pop and then rely on this to pull the rest of the puss out as some people are saying. I felt I had to get out as much as possible and then this would usually help with the clear plasma like ooze that comes out afterwards. The problem is, when you cover and area the chance of it getting infected from the remaining bacteria can be hightened because of lack of air and the ability to dry out. Exposing the area also can highten the chance of external infection, so it's pretty tough to decide to use a covering or not. That said, I did find this pulled out some of that puss and helped to flatten the area. It can hurt to pull this off of a sore spot after it's been on all night, and I often find the healing process after to take longer after using these for some reason, like it over dried the area and the cells took longer to regenerate.

I repurchased quite a few times and got the thin ones as well, because occasionally you just need them, but the hope is to not get these major pimples in the first place. So I recently started some pills from the dermatologist as well as gentler cleansers and La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo and I haven't had the need for these as much as I used to. I still have them on hand just in case, but I'm starting to shy away from them and trying to pop less.


on 12/24/2014 11:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Other

Tried it today on two massive pimples that had popped... AMAZING!! I left it on all day and when I took it off to shower and cleanse my face I saw all the gunk it had sucked out of the pimple. It's not swollen anymore and you can only see the teensiest of redness on my skin! I will forever repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2014 11:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought it. It's really comfortable. Is it reusable if it didnt turn white?


on 11/21/2014 10:35:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Did nothing for me. Didn't always stick on the face well.


on 11/8/2014 7:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If you're reading these reviews because you're considering this product.. Stop considering. Go to eBay/Amazon. Buy some. Now.

This stuff is a lifesaver for those with active acne. Acne that comes to head and requires extraction. These patches extract pimples, so they are not a treatment as such. They definitely don't prevent acne in anyway, they are purely for when you have a pimple that has come to a head and requires extraction. These things are amazing because you don't need to risk breaking blood vessels, bleeding and scarring to extract a pimple. You do need to put a small hole in the head to allow for extraction, but this can be done with a small sterilised needle or gently piercing with clean nails.

But once you have opened the head and apply one of these patches, they completely reduce the size over night, in some cases if it's not too large, it will be completely flat. No bleeding, no scabs. So amazing.

Again, not for treating or preventing acne, but essential if you have active acne coming to a head. ESSENTIAL!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2014 11:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

If you're reading reviews on this product, most likely you should just go ahead and order it because you probably could use it. If you get whiteheads, this is an absolute must have in my book. Flat out this is the best and most amazing facial product I've tried in years. I order these (usually two at a time) from Amazon for US$7.99 per box. They come in a blue box (where it's blue instead of yellow like the box with the female face in the images for this product) that says "3M Nexcare acne absorbing covers" and "works like a sponge to absorb pus and oil." And boy, does it ever. You get 12 big patches and 24 smaller patches. You can cut the bigger patches into smaller sections and it doesn't affect the patch's ability to work.

If I need to use one (or several), I first wash my face. Then, using a clean extractor, I pop any and all whiteheads that are big enough to be noticed. If you have a lot of pus and possibly blood coming out, you can lightly dab that away before applying the patch. You don't want to use your fingers and push the pus out- this amazing patch will pull that out for you while you sleep or go about your business. I don't know that a patch has ever fallen off while I was sleeping, but I have occasionally worried about that since some seem to be equally sticky on both sides. And you don't need to wear these only at night or use them only on facial acne- wear 'em any time and anywhere you need them. As this cover sits on your skin, you can see the icky pus and excess oil appear in spots on the cover. In the morning, I'm left with a pimple that is smaller, less pronounced and, best of all, not oozing. I'm left with something that doesn't have nasty rough skin edges and balls of dried liquid that are easily dislodged to make way for fresh pimple weeping and for my foundation to get caught in. Allegedly you can apply makeup over this patch, but it's so thick that I'm not sure that would work well.

I do occasionally get cystic acne that hangs around for three or four weeks, if not longer. At that point, I already know it'll leave a scar when it finally leaves. I have used the extractor to prick a small hole by at least one of these cysts (caution-this is very painful and you're possibly just damaging your skin without getting to the root of the problem if you try this!) and then put an acne patch over it for several hours. While it didn't make the cyst magically disappear, it did look a little flatter and less red. Hey, I'll take what I can get in situations like that.

In my experience, this doesn't work unless there's an open "wound" where pus can exit acne. If you have pimples without a poppable head or you don't want to pop anything, these probably aren't for you. If you're a face picker, these may help heal what you've picked open. Bottom line- if you get whiteheads and they pop, do yourself a huge favor and buy at least one box of these. They are magic.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I love this product. I bought one pack after reading the reviews on here and tried them out and loved them. They're fairly good for angry, disgusting puss-filled spots the day before a big event. I've now bought another pack and will be buying another (different types) because they work wonders when on overnight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/6/2014 2:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am so happy I discovered this product. It is honestly a lifesaver. These patches do an amazing job of absorbing the pus and oil from a popped pimple (I am an incessant pimple picker). I put a patch over a problem spot overnight and when I wake up the next morning, the area is significantly flatter and less inflamed, which makes the task of covering it up with concealer SO much easier until it heals completely. As others have mentioned, they will not do much in decreasing the size of cystic bumps that lack any sort of head or opening, and won't prevent acne from forming. Nonetheless, this product is incredible at doing what it's supposed to, and I highly recommend.


on 8/21/2014 4:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Like most acne prone people I've tried a bunch of products and treatments to help.

I came off the pill a few months ago and my skin went crazy, massive cysts and white heads, I didn't even want to leave the house. My skin had not been so bad since i was younger and had active acne.

Nothing in my current range of products made a difference so I desperately searched the internet for things that would help, amongst others, bp, mario badescu glycolic gel and these.

I ordered off ebay from America, so they took a little while to come. By this point my skin had calmed down a touch, with the cysts and white heads still there but less of them popping up.

I used to be a massive picker, leaving open wounds on my face, I've improved a lot, still picking, but stopping way before I used to, which is when these patches work best.

Anyway, I think these patches are one of the, if not the best treatment I've ever used. I love that they are not harsh or medicated. As most people have said, they work the best on popped whiteheads, even if you only pop a tiny bit to open it up. Redness and bumpyness decreases drastically the next morning (I wear them to sleep only)

I did put them on my cysts, as I thought whats the worst that could happen, and I found more often then not, they were a bit flatter, so I still put them on. I have found that sometimes I put on whiteheads when they haven't popped and it draws out all the rubbish, and sometimes not, but as one reviewer said, they do not break the skin, so I guess that's why.

The adhesion for me has been fine, strong enough to stay on all night, and no residue or circles in the morning.

Overall, I love these, and would recommend to anyone. Slightly pricey, and annoying that they aren't sold in the uk. But I continually order so I never run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
523 Reviews
Lemon Juice
394 Reviews
Nerium AD
66 Reviews

Top Rated Treatments (Face)

Back to Top