3M - Nexcare Acne Patch

4.4

72 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

hydrocolloid and ethylene oxide


on 4/18/2015 3:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I use these whenever I have a blemish, especially if it has popped. Overnight, this absorbs all the yuckiness from the blemish and speeds up the healing process enormously. The blemish does not have a "crust" on it in the morning -- it is greatly flattened and diminished, and much easier to apply concealer on top.

I tried using the CVS version that comes in larger sheets and must be cut, but they did not compare to the effectiveness of the Nexcare at all, for acne, in my experience.

These are available on Amazon, but I usually buy them in bulk from eBay sellers. It's much cheaper that way, but you must wait longer for shipping because they are coming directly from Asia.

These are HG items for several years now!! I'm never without Nexcare patches!



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I buy a box of these patches after I tried out a single strip and found out that it works like miracle.

Like what other reviewers have commented, the acne/pimple has to be "opened", ic, inflamed with yellowish pus and bleeding a bit which is quite painful and feel uncomfortable. I have learnt my lesson that I cannot immediately apply the patch on my skin after I washed my face as it will not stick properly and end up waste a patch and re-stick it will not be adhesive anymore. After one application (about 4 hours), I find that my acne/pimple has shrunk into smaller size, I peel it off and wash my face again and I cannot even locate my acne/pimple on my jaw area! The redness and inflammation has reduced much that I can hardly feel the pain! I am so surprised! I decide to apply a second patch overnight (and it sticks strongly without fall off) and the white discharge of pus on the patch almost fills up the whole patch and now my acne/pimple is left with only a brown, dried up spot - which means it will not further infected and grows pus again and the spot might eventually fade and disappear.

The instruction on the box stated that the patches are packed in sterilised method to keep it clean and hygiene, but once you open it, you might want to close/seal it properly to prevent dusts or dirty hands to contact with the patches directly. I have tried many times before, on an opened acne/pimple, to squeeze out the pus and blood and thereafter to apply medical cream or OXY 5/10. But it does not cure or reduce the pain and size of it, but instead, on the next day, it keeps inflamed and the redness on my face is so obvious! The cycle of keep squeezing and re-infection makes it leaving a permanent scar/spot on my face and it is very hard to fade. So now, be clever and apply this patch on it, it saves me from endless squeezing and touching it which could induce a severe swollen wound.

A box of patches could last me for quite sometimes as I still use OXY 5/10 on my face for those tiny annoying acnes/pimples which does not open up. I saw from local drugstores that they have a normal patches, for night use, thinner patches available for the customers' preferences.


on 1/27/2015 4:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product is amazing, and it really works! Before I bought these, I did a bit of research on it. These patches are like tiny "hydrocolloid' bandages that work by pulling out the blood and pus from your zit. I find that these work only on pimples that have already popped. What I usually do is use a pricking tool to poke a very tiny hole or scrape the skin on top of the pimple, just enough to let out the pus then I put this on top. After a few hours you'll see the pus and blood draining away, and the acne patch turning white. Sometimes I have to use two patches to completely drain the stubborn zits. After this, they will become flat. I find that this speeds up the healing process. If you haven't tried this, go out and buy it! You need this product in your life if you're prone to acne. Oh and by the way, I'm in the Philippines and I got these at Mercury Drug. Not all branches sell them though. I got these from the Makati/Glorietta branch for around Php 150 or $3.30. Hope this helps some! :)


on 1/15/2015 9:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I went back and forth with these when I first tried them. At first I didn't have a lot of luck and then later I got the hang of it. Sometimes they don't stick and sometimes they stick super strongly. I've felt they were essential at times and other times hardly use them, usually because I'm using some other kind of acne treatment that makes the skin more sensitive to something sticky like this that can pull on the sensitve surface and it just doesn't work together. I found this is useless on cysts or closed postules as others have said. It doesn't get *rid* of pimples. You really have to use these on popped pimples, and while it's "not good to pop", these help absorb the puss and exudate while keeping it protected, and hopefully stop it from getting (re)infected. I also couldn't just lightly pop and then rely on this to pull the rest of the puss out as some people are saying. I felt I had to get out as much as possible and then this would usually help with the clear plasma like ooze that comes out afterwards. The problem is, when you cover and area the chance of it getting infected from the remaining bacteria can be hightened because of lack of air and the ability to dry out. Exposing the area also can highten the chance of external infection, so it's pretty tough to decide to use a covering or not. That said, I did find this pulled out some of that puss and helped to flatten the area. It can hurt to pull this off of a sore spot after it's been on all night, and I often find the healing process after to take longer after using these for some reason, like it over dried the area and the cells took longer to regenerate.

I repurchased quite a few times and got the thin ones as well, because occasionally you just need them, but the hope is to not get these major pimples in the first place. So I recently started some pills from the dermatologist as well as gentler cleansers and La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo and I haven't had the need for these as much as I used to. I still have them on hand just in case, but I'm starting to shy away from them and trying to pop less.


on 12/24/2014 11:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Other

Tried it today on two massive pimples that had popped... AMAZING!! I left it on all day and when I took it off to shower and cleanse my face I saw all the gunk it had sucked out of the pimple. It's not swollen anymore and you can only see the teensiest of redness on my skin! I will forever repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2014 11:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought it. It's really comfortable. Is it reusable if it didnt turn white?


on 11/21/2014 10:35:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Did nothing for me. Didn't always stick on the face well.


on 11/8/2014 7:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If you're reading these reviews because you're considering this product.. Stop considering. Go to eBay/Amazon. Buy some. Now.

This stuff is a lifesaver for those with active acne. Acne that comes to head and requires extraction. These patches extract pimples, so they are not a treatment as such. They definitely don't prevent acne in anyway, they are purely for when you have a pimple that has come to a head and requires extraction. These things are amazing because you don't need to risk breaking blood vessels, bleeding and scarring to extract a pimple. You do need to put a small hole in the head to allow for extraction, but this can be done with a small sterilised needle or gently piercing with clean nails.

But once you have opened the head and apply one of these patches, they completely reduce the size over night, in some cases if it's not too large, it will be completely flat. No bleeding, no scabs. So amazing.

Again, not for treating or preventing acne, but essential if you have active acne coming to a head. ESSENTIAL!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2014 11:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

If you're reading reviews on this product, most likely you should just go ahead and order it because you probably could use it. If you get whiteheads, this is an absolute must have in my book. Flat out this is the best and most amazing facial product I've tried in years. I order these (usually two at a time) from Amazon for US$7.99 per box. They come in a blue box (where it's blue instead of yellow like the box with the female face in the images for this product) that says "3M Nexcare acne absorbing covers" and "works like a sponge to absorb pus and oil." And boy, does it ever. You get 12 big patches and 24 smaller patches. You can cut the bigger patches into smaller sections and it doesn't affect the patch's ability to work.

If I need to use one (or several), I first wash my face. Then, using a clean extractor, I pop any and all whiteheads that are big enough to be noticed. If you have a lot of pus and possibly blood coming out, you can lightly dab that away before applying the patch. You don't want to use your fingers and push the pus out- this amazing patch will pull that out for you while you sleep or go about your business. I don't know that a patch has ever fallen off while I was sleeping, but I have occasionally worried about that since some seem to be equally sticky on both sides. And you don't need to wear these only at night or use them only on facial acne- wear 'em any time and anywhere you need them. As this cover sits on your skin, you can see the icky pus and excess oil appear in spots on the cover. In the morning, I'm left with a pimple that is smaller, less pronounced and, best of all, not oozing. I'm left with something that doesn't have nasty rough skin edges and balls of dried liquid that are easily dislodged to make way for fresh pimple weeping and for my foundation to get caught in. Allegedly you can apply makeup over this patch, but it's so thick that I'm not sure that would work well.

I do occasionally get cystic acne that hangs around for three or four weeks, if not longer. At that point, I already know it'll leave a scar when it finally leaves. I have used the extractor to prick a small hole by at least one of these cysts (caution-this is very painful and you're possibly just damaging your skin without getting to the root of the problem if you try this!) and then put an acne patch over it for several hours. While it didn't make the cyst magically disappear, it did look a little flatter and less red. Hey, I'll take what I can get in situations like that.

In my experience, this doesn't work unless there's an open "wound" where pus can exit acne. If you have pimples without a poppable head or you don't want to pop anything, these probably aren't for you. If you're a face picker, these may help heal what you've picked open. Bottom line- if you get whiteheads and they pop, do yourself a huge favor and buy at least one box of these. They are magic.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I love this product. I bought one pack after reading the reviews on here and tried them out and loved them. They're fairly good for angry, disgusting puss-filled spots the day before a big event. I've now bought another pack and will be buying another (different types) because they work wonders when on overnight.

EDIT: This has been a common rebuy for me when I feel like it, I love how you can see the impurities that have been drawn out as it shows to me that it's done something and my acne is a lot better after using these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
140 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
Back to Top