Hawaiian Tropic • Protective Tanning Lotion-SPF 8 • Skincare - Body

rated 4.5(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.93%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Redbone21 on 8/26/2012 12:58:00 PM more reviews by Redbone21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite sunscreens. This gives me a nice little tan without burning. I tan before I burn any way but I can still burn. I'm not in the sun that much any way but when I am this has been good. I like the coconut smell too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnythingVanilla on 7/21/2011 11:35:00 AM more reviews by AnythingVanilla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this SPF lotion! The smell is amazing! It's a tropical coconut scent. I use this as an everyday lotion. It smooths my skin, smells delish and protects my skin while running errands. I also use it by the pool. I just reapply every 30 minutes. No burn and I am fair. I wonder if they sell this at Sam's Club?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fae_nymph on 5/28/2011 8:46:00 PM more reviews by fae_nymph

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I tan indoors and buy very expense lotions, but when tanning outside the sun can be dangerous and I never know how intense it's going to be - so I use this when outdoors and I love it. I get a tan without getting burned. I never liked regular SPF sunscreen (30+) because I would *never* tan in the summer. This allows protection from burn, while still allowing color to develop. Perfect outdoor lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetcherrie14 on 6/9/2008 10:17:00 AM more reviews by sweetcherrie14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is the only sunscreen I can use...It seems even when I use SPF 30 or whatever have you, I still get burned...But i put this stuff on, never get burned, and always come out with an amazing time...I'm extremely fair skinned as well...so that's saying something...
The trick is in the re-applying...Slather this stuff on after swimming or after being in the sun after every 40 minutes, and you're guaranteed to come out looking golden with no burns...
I used this stuff when I went to Aruba where the sun has no mercy and I was fine...
And the smell of course - is heavenly... : )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nosh on 5/11/2008 10:17:00 PM more reviews by Nosh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Does exactly what it's supposed to...minimal sun protection so if you're out for a while you can get some color without being totally "naked." I have to admit it makes absolutely no sense to me that anyone can put on one coat of SPF 8, go out all day, get sunburnt, and say their sunscreen "doesn't work." What do you expect from SPF 8? Sure it says it's a tanning lotion, but it's not going to magically make you skip the burning part and get a tan if you have the skin type that burns first.

I'm extremely pale and I use this when I'm going to the pool for just an hour or two without really getting in the water much. I always end up with a teensy bit of color, and I don't think I've ever burned wearing it - but I also have never used this when I'm out for more than maybe 2 hours MAX. Doesn't make me break out, smells nice...the best sunscreen IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OmToast on 5/6/2008 8:38:00 AM more reviews by OmToast

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Sunscreen is yet another one of those things in life which requires both common sense and a reasonably unbiased self-assessment -- of one's skin and tendency to burn. This specific sunscreen is no different. Yes, it may say it's protective (and indeed it is), but it also says that it's SPF factor is only 8. So if you're the type who burns a bit with an SPF 20, there's no reason to believe that an 8 is going to protect you to the extent you need protected. That aside, I am remarkably product-fickle; I like to try new things. But I always, always, always come back to Hawaiian Tropic's suncare products. So frequently have I returned to them, in fact, that I've entirely ceased even looking elsewhere (save for my face, for which I use other stuff). I begin the season with their SPF 15, and once I establish a little base, I move on to the 8. The lotion is fairly thick, but absorbs quickly and leaves me soft and completely un-greasy. The smell is summer-in-a-bottle, and my skin always feels very well-moisturized, even after showering for the day. I have sensitive skin and this neither makes me itchy (as so many other products do) nor breaks me out. In a pinch, I've even used this on my face to no ill-effect. Fantastic product, but please know your own skin before attempting a low SPF!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MomColors on 4/21/2008 10:50:00 AM more reviews by MomColors

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I switch off between this one and the SPF 15. Hawaiing Tropic is my favorite over Coppertone and others. It protects my medium-fair skin from burning and isn't greasy in the least. The fragrance is pleasant. If I am going somewhere with lots of bugs then I pick an unscented lotion for the day. I Hawaiin Tropic on my kids and it doesn't wash off in the ocean. One of my favorites for the beach.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparker1977 on 6/26/2007 7:02:00 PM more reviews by sparker1977

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff works great and as the name implies keeps you from getting burnt while letting you get a bit of a tan. I used this for a week in Mexico and I did not burn at all. It also smells good and isn't greasy.
Keep in mind this isn't sunscreen, so I think you should have a base tan to use it...unlike the last reviewer. Also I didn't use this on my face because I like to use something stronger for that. Overall great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* happygirl1 on 5/1/2006 12:22:00 AM more reviews by happygirl1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate to have to bring down the perfect score of this product, but I am sitting here typing this, BURNT TO A CRISP! I went to a baseball game today, and I was so excited to use this product in hopes of skipping my first-of-the-season burn, and moving straight to the golden tan. First off, this stuff smells great in the bottle, but it did NOT seem to work with my body at all - as I smelled like plastic right after application - ick! Thankfully, it softened up a bit so I couldn't smell it as much while at the game. During, I felt like I was getting burned, because my skin began to feel itchy. But I thought, no way, the reviews here and the bottle itself say that it will not allow me to burn. I'm not that pale to begin with, though I am fair-skinned, with yellow undertones. After the game, we went to a restaurant to get a bite to eat. That's when I noticed how RED my shoulders and back were. Now, it's 9:25pm (over 6 hours since the game has been over - and I've been out of the sun), and I am so red, itchy, and painful, that I am about to slather aloe vera gel all over and continue on with an uncomfortable night's sleep. I am so thankful that I did not use this on my face! I used my tinted moisturizer with SPF20, and I am only slightly burned. Whew! Suffice to say, I will not be using or repurchasing this product again. I might as well just used regular lotion instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondeambitioned on 7/9/2005 4:36:00 PM more reviews by blondeambitioned

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff! Nothing smells more like summer than Hawaiian Tropic lotions.. the cocoa-butter/Hawaiian floral scent is just intoxicating. This lotion is waterproof without being too thick or sticky, lasts all day and gives me a wonderful tan without any sunburn - what more can you ask for? The SPF 8 is a great level for someone who wants to get a dark tan without getting burned. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hawaiian Tropic products

More Skincare - Body products