Serge Lutens • Tubéreuse Criminelle • Fragrances

rated 3.6(119 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 pawnshop on 2/22/2014 6:34:00 PM more reviews by pawnshop

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Green    

There must be a university, somewhere, where the course Tubereuse Criminelle is being held.
The discussions, the arguments pro and con, the life experiences ~ all leading to 'The' verdict.
As a student of fragrances, albeit a non professional one, I can scream YES, this is The One ...
The initial 'blast' is akin to entering a wind tunnel ~ and then the cloud that envelopes you to the point of stupor.
To wear this scent one must be able to say ~ I just don't give a damn. And then, I really don't give a damn.
There exists no middle ground, no neutral territory.
Some luxuries are simply a necessity ,,,



3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OneOriginalGal on 10/16/2013 4:50:00 PM more reviews by OneOriginalGal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Bought this fragrance on a literal whim after having read copious controversial reviews. That's right. I bought it based solely on description and the fact that it is supposed to be a scent that is either genius or simply strange depending on one's own body chemistry and personal preferences. Something in my gut told me that I would love this scent. And. I DO! All the things you've read really don't need repeating... menthol start that evolves into classic tuberose. On me this fragrance does everything that I had hoped Fracas would do, but doesn't, at least on my skin. Whereas my skin makes Fracas turn somewhat biting and harsh as it wears, T.C. turns creamy with just the softest nip of wintergreen. And it does so quickly. I had been fully prepared to suffer through the antiseptic ointment phase but amazingly, what seems to take time for others, happened almost instantaneously for me. I think this is now my signature evening scent. I am hopelessly in love with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tecumsum on 9/9/2013 4:36:00 PM more reviews by tecumsum

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been reading about this lengendary fragrance for quite some time and having never tried it, based on the reviews, I made a blind purchase of a bell jar from a friend who was visiting Paris. Now I know what all the fuss is about. This is so beautiful, especially once you get past the initial bombastic menthol smell. When the menthol calms down, the floral creation shows up and I must say, that were this not so darned expensive, I would wear it every day. It leaves me breathless and not in a negative way. I have taken to wearing a dab on myself before bedtime so that I can go to sleep happily breathing in the scent. This smells so lush and expensive. It really blossoms in the heat of summer, and at night, it is just too damned sexy. When I wear it, you just cannot tell me that I am not a seductive goddess! Christopher Sheldrake has certainly mastered this one. Only drawback for me is that I have to put it on 30 minutes before I enter the general public. That is when the menthol has dissipated and the goddess makes her appearance. Worth E V E R Y S I N G L E C E N T!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fiammetta on 7/27/2013 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Fiammetta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

No doubt about it, this is a mega tuberose. Yes, of course, there is that hard hit of camphor cool in the first few minutes, but as it settles down you are left with that beautiful, silky tuberose. It is not as attention-getting as my other love, Carnal Flower, but there are days that its sharper edges and the play of wintergreen are just right for me.

Medium sillage, about 8 hours of wear on me. It is such a different approach to a floral, though, any budding perfumista should be acquainted with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lacrima99 on 6/1/2013 9:30:00 PM more reviews by lacrima99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Godzilla Giant Poison Tuberose of Dooooooooooom with a few gallons of methyl salicylate in the topnotes. Love it. Avoid while pregnant or breastfeeding, consult medical practitioner before use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BelleDeCrecy on 2/15/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by BelleDeCrecy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't match the eloquence of many previous posters here. With the exception of Antica Farmacista's Casablanca le Parfum I'm not too much of a soloflore lover. But...as TC and Carnal Flower are well known as "sexual napalm", I couldn't resist ordering a decant of both. Suffice it to say that my hubby pronounced both fragrances as " too smelly, and not subtle enough." Note: He's normally not to picky about my fragrances. Oh well, back to Cartier's Heure Mysterieuse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 YoHarajuku on 1/16/2013 2:15:00 PM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Bleugh...metallic medicine smell. Instand heachache. Not for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 supermarky on 11/14/2012 9:54:00 AM more reviews by supermarky

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I nevu tawt I'd wuv a tubewose!!

This perfume is a wild one.

First you get what I'd describe as Drano under the thumb of tuberose. This odd refreshing + narcotic combo lasts some time.

Next, after the wintergreen/drano thing burns off, I find myself smelling like some ultrariche milled soap tubereuse. I love soapy fragrances and you cant' do better than that here.

Finally the soap component is off and away and you've got this transparent rather light tuberose that is just clear as a bell.

What fun! Usually I am not up for wearing anything targeted specifically to either gender, but I very much enjoy not being a girl whilst doing this supposedly parfum de femme. It really doesn't strike me as "womanly" and certainly not, as can be the case with T-flower, "matronly"

I love a good linear fragrance that delivers, but here I get 3 in one. Unbeatable. But wait there's one snag. The longevity is not exactly "party hardy" it gets very delicate on me after a not very long while. So...I think I'll just start spraying it less on my skin more on my shirt.

About the drano lol I've smelled wintergreen in high concentrations in other perfumes and been immediately put off. Now I wonder if I ought not to revisit some of them. After all, Drano is a pretty great smelling product. I've always felt people should get over the lemon oil = Pledge problem (although I concede that like most hard core perfumisto/as, I'm not prone to great excitement over wearing citruses...)

SL bottles. It's a drag when you have them lined up in proud formation and they go keeling over like dominos, ain't it? Some vexations are worth putting up with . . . though....

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sonamora on 6/24/2012 4:07:00 AM more reviews by sonamora

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Upon application of this fragrance, I learnt that tuberose is not my smell, at all. It had enormous staying power, which is good and bad. Bad because I wanted to be rid of the aroma, but good, because if you like tuberose, you may love Tubereuse Criminelle.

It had easily identifiable layers, and softened after about an hour - much like the opening of petals to reveal the gift of the flower.

I've read that some people get a camphor/methol hit on application, but I didn't (thank god), perhaps because of my skin's chemistry with this perfume.

I'd say worth a try if you love tuberose, but steer clear if not. Spray in-house or purchase a tester first. I think it runs the risk of the user morphing into a wealthy lady from a country estate, spraying her life away for a church service in the summer of 1876.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheresaDiMoan on 6/17/2012 1:55:00 AM more reviews by TheresaDiMoan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

The opening of this one is original and distinct: like grape jelly and eucalyptus. Medicinal notes that contrast the sticky sweetness of tuberose. But as it dries down, it loses that potency, and becomes more like all the other SL white florals (i.e.: Fleurs d'Oranger, Sarrasins...). Which is why I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products