Garden of Wisdom • Neem Oil • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaperAlias on 9/22/2014 6:44:00 PM more reviews by PaperAlias

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hate being the odd one out with this because it seems to work so well for others, but neem seed oil didn't agree with my skin. For reference, I am oily, acne-prone, combo in winter/fall.

I was looking for a more moisturizing alternative to tea tree oil for the cooler months. I purchased the small one ounce bottle for less than $5 on the GoW website. Very reasonably priced. It came in a white plastic bottle with a flip cap. Nice simple packaging.

The oil has similar healing properties to tea tree oil -- antibacterial, antifungal. The smell is as intense as everyone says it is. It's a very pungent, savory smell... it looks and smells like a sauce you'd find in a Thai or Indian dish. I don't think it smells "bad" per se... but it feels like I'm rubbing food on my face. If you're sensitive to strong odors, you'll probably hate this.

The texture is more viscous than tea tree oil. It's brownish in color (looks like a sauce). I started using this as just a spot treatment for existing pimples. It did seem to help them heal faster, and my skin started to recover from the dryness after torturing it with BP for a while. I thought it would work just as well as an all-over anti-acne treatment. So I would then mix a drop or two with some of my regular moisturizer to stifle some of the scent and to make it easier to spread on my skin.

My flakiness did start going away and my skin felt nice and moist without feeling oily. I loved it at first. But over time I began to notice small, flesh-colored white bumps forming all over my cheeks and on my forehead. Clogged pores. :( It seems that for my skin, this works best when applied only to blemishes directly. Otherwise it's just too much.

If you're considering neem oil as an all-over treatment, I recommend doing patch tests first. It's fairly low on the comedogenic scale from what I've read, but as we all know, not all oils work the same way for everyone. I'll keep using up whatever's left on insect bites, body rashes, etc. But I would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kimmeh5 on 9/24/2013 2:38:00 PM more reviews by Kimmeh5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not going to completely write off my GoW neem oil quite yet. I don't break out TOO often, but so far it hasn't really helped nor harmed my skin. A lot of people absolutely hate the smell but I actually kind of... sickeningly enjoy it, haha. It's pretty potent. Not something I would wear or use if I had to go out or during the day. I think it's a viable option for people looking for alternative acne treatments.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Zerpher on 8/25/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Zerpher

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the young lady with the Thai background who was most unhappy about the 'tub of neem' she bought for only $5 and experience a flair of her cystic acne after only two applications.
Cystic acne is an immune skin reaction to a variety of irritants - but is primarily rooted in the internal physiology - beginning with the level and ratio of hormones - estrogen/progesterone - particularly in young ladies. And, some of us are more reactive than others. She reported that she had been clearing up - then applied the neem directly to a few spots on her forehead and butterfly area of her face for two nites and developed white heads and cysts quickly.
This tells me that the pimples were already in the 'making' so to speak. The neem oil prep may have been comedogenic for her - but acne developes over a period of weeks. She 'uncovered' acne in the making.
If she had stuck to it -- may have very well cleared in a week or two time and with continued use may have kept new cysts from forming.
One needs to understand that "nothing' can create an acne cyst overnite. It was already due to surface - beginning in the dermal layer.
If you research the way in which Acutane or Retin A worked - you would understand the acne gets worse before it gets better (this product causing sloughing of the surface cells).

Neem oil is an incredible product and I am so pleased that vendors bring it to the public for their use. Research the active ingredients in the entire neem plant - the leaf, bark, fruit and seed which yields the oil. Each contains very important potent molecules with many healing properties - from a microbialcide to a parasite sterility - and helps the surface skin cells turn over bringing fresh smooth cells forward.
Before settling on or dismissing an approach -- it is helpful to understand the larger complexity of the condition. ie, is to understand the process of acne. From the products of demodex mite and the bacteria which live on the skin routinely that can provoke immune responses to make up and other products that we may apply - can all provoke immune reactions, and in some people it will be more profound than in others.
But, there is an intrinsic host component - meaning that our systems themselves determine how bad the reaction will be. And, the number one issue in 'cystic acne' is hormonal imbalance - specifically high levels of androgenic progesterones - either natural or via OCs.

Someone with cystic acne needs a strategy utilizing a systemic (internal) approach in addition to a topical one. Cystic acne requires hormone manipulation first and foremost that utilizes a low androgenic progesterone component in a birth control pill. Many young ladies will be put on an OC that only makes cystic acne worse. Unfortunately, the best meaning physicians can make this mistake and put young ladies on the wrong OC not appreciating that the progesterone component can be a major culprit.
One's own natural hormones can be a culprit too, the estrogen/progesterone ratio not helping. Estrogen clears skin -- so does Retin A. If a person has cystic acne they need to be at least on Retin A topical - and NOT on an OC that is provoking the acne. There are only a few OCs that contain a more natural progesterin that has adequate progesterone effect without an untoward androgenic effect (part of which causes acne).
Topicals are a very minor component to the cause of cystic acne and its clearing.

So, please, do not dismiss neem as a cause of cystic acne and get a doctor who will review all the OCs and find the very few that would at least not aggravate if not calm production of cystic acne - best

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sassepiano on 6/29/2012 6:42:00 PM more reviews by sassepiano

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got the .5 oz size of Neem Oil from the Eczema Skin Sampler because of my Perioral Dermatitis (PD) patches that I have been getting in the past year or so. I went to a derm about this issue and he gave me Solodyn which did not help. I used to use jojoba oil as a moisturizer and found that it does not help on my PD patches either. In the past couple months, I've tried many things. First, I heard that the California Baby Calendula Cream worked, which did not. Calendula helped with the itching but did not help with reducing the redness in the PD patches. It's been one week since I've used the neem oil on the PD patches and so far so good.

Most people find the smell offensive. I admit, it does smell like burnt peanuts and onions. However, it's not terrible, you get used to it after a a few days. It smells earthy, but it's way better than durian or a moldy gym sock. My PD patches are close to my nose, so I'll definitely smell it. This stuff works so good on my PD patches that I really don't mind the smell. I can't comment on neem oil as far as acne fighting powers, but I can say that this does not break me out. A little goes a long ways (3-4 drops is probably plenty to cover the whole face: it's potent). I think my .5 oz bottle is going to last me until it expires.

The packaging sucks, but get a little amber glass drop bottle and that problem is solved!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimplesgalore on 4/24/2012 7:45:00 PM more reviews by Dimplesgalore

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Holy hell this stuff stinks!!!!! I read the reviews and saw the comments about the smell and thought, I like garlic and I like peanuts. And to be honest the smell of burning rubber doesn't bother me all that much, so I figured for the benefits I could stand the smell. Boy, oh boy, was I wrong!!

At first when I opened the bottle I thought, okay so not great but lets see what it can do before I give up entirely. So I mixed a drop of neem with a few drops of some other oils (hoping to lessen the smell) and applied the mixture to some acne and irritated spots. That lasted about 45 seconds.

In hindsight it probably wasn't the best idea to apply the mixture to my chin, since it's below my nose. I wiped it off and then washed it off to get rid of the smell. Maybe I could stand it if I liked Indian food? Oh well. I guess I can use it as a bug replant or fungicide on things other than myself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lalalea on 4/23/2012 2:21:00 PM more reviews by lalalea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My original intent was to use this oil mixed in with my sunflower oil/manuka tea tree oil OCM. I was very happy with the sunflower/manuka combination because it was the only OCM combo I had found that didn't clog my pores. However, I wanted more antibacterial power and was afraid adding more tea tree would dry out my skin—enter neem oil.

Yes, the smell was bad, but since I was wiping it off of my face anyway it didn't matter. I was thrilled at how amazingly antibacterial neem oil is without being drying at all! It seriously kicks manuka oil's ass. On top of eliminating all redness/inflammation on my face, it totally destroyed this small wart I've had on my jawline for 6 months. I had tried treating that wart with a ton of different topicals with no result, but after 2 weeks of rubbing diluted neem oil on it was almost completely gone!

Unfortunately, after 1.5 weeks I noticed the familiar skin colored bumps, and then eventually blackheads and whiteheads all over my face. The clog situation wasn't as bad as with many other oils I have used (jojoba, olive, grapeseed, tamanu, etc.), but it was definitely noticeable so I decided to stop using it :-( I will save it for use on rashes and other skin conditions that might pop up on my body.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunkissedbeach on 5/9/2011 4:48:00 AM more reviews by sunkissedbeach

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Has not broken me out! I have combination skin (very very very acne prone, but I also suffer from eczema and dry patches), and it's difficult to find a moisturizer that doesn't clog my pores. Most oils give me little bumps. This one hasn't....yet.

I normally use MUAC 15% BHA peel as a toner (I dilude it with water or an alcohol free toner) about 3x per week.
But I put the Neem oil on my skin right after I've washed my face, while it's still wet, so no toner in between. I think it locks the moisture in better this way.
It's not moisturizing enough on it's own, so I apply whatever moisturizer I'm using over this, and then Skin Ceuticals B5 gel.

Of course, you cannot possibly leave the house with Neem oil on your face. Even after it sinks in the smell (burned peanuts, garlic, onions etc....) is still everywhere. Also, the taste is horrible, I accidentally got it in my mouth a few times. It's disgustingly bitter. And it stings a lot when you get it in your eyes. So be careful :p

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Judith on 9/10/2010 7:59:00 AM more reviews by Judith

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Best allround product for my face and I have tried many products (Retin-A 0.05%, Diacneal, Eluage cream, MUAC Glycolic Peel highest strength, MUAC Lactic Acid Peel, highest strength, MUAC Radiance Peel, Rose Hip Seed oil, Red Raspberry Seed oil, Mama Lotion, DMAE serum, MUAC Glyluronic serum, MUAC Bleaching gel, Peter Thomas Roth Unwrinkle pads, Skinmedica Vitamin C, Aspirin Mask, Apple Vingar Cider, Jojoba oil, HA serums etc).

Normally I don't like to put oil on my face because it cloggs my pores (Rose Hip Seed Oil) or dries out my skin (Jojoba and Emu Oil).

This oil is the only one that hasn't caused negative effects on my face. Results right after the first application. My skin got red and warm but that is normal if you use it straight without dilution.
It sooths and moisturizes my sensitive, dryish, acne/cystic-prone skin like nothing else! It refines pores and fine lines and is very calming.
A multipurpose product! Google "neem oil" and you will find all the benefits of it.

I use it every night with a hydrosol (rose or orange) and apply it after treatments or just alone. After 5 weeks of use no cloggs, no breakouts.just fresh smooth skin.

Only negative is that the oil stinks. My husband hates the smell. Normally I would have take a lippie off because of the horrible smell but this stuff works so good that it deserves a 5-lippie rating.

Edit: I don't use it anymore because of the awfull smell but I am still convinced that it can work "miracles" on your skin..

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AmyDbaby on 5/30/2010 11:09:00 PM more reviews by AmyDbaby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

What a strange product! I don't actually mind the smell but it is kinda bad, huh? What is that??? I don't know but this is good stuff! I had had to resort to BP again due to a renewed battle with acne and while I was having very good luck with acne.org's line including the BP lotion I really didn't want to continue using BP for the long term so I decided to give this a try after reading the great reviews. I was a nervous wreck switching over to this and expected all hell to break loose on my face but it worked like a charm. I mean, darn it if this isn't some good stuff! I use it pretty much nightly and it just works. My skin is soft and no acne. Yeah, the smell is kinda yuck but I am a convert. ( I am also currently single and have no one to complain about the stench at this point either so I'll update this review once a new bf has some input. I'm pretty sure that no man will come between me and my neem oil though,lol.)

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jetfan on 5/23/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by jetfan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't be without this "burnt onions on your face" smelling oil. It literally "fixes" my skin. It's soothing, healing, and moisturizing. I use it every night, sometimes alone, sometimes mixed with moisturizer or other oils. If I use a new product that I get a reaction from, clogged pores or a breakout, the Neem gets rid of whatever the issue is faster than anything I've ever used. It's a keeper! But again, as the other reviewers have said, the smell is downright nasty. Oh well, the "smell" of beauty!! :)

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garden of Wisdom products

More Skincare - Face products