MAC Adoring Carmine: Neutral Lips Bag

3.9

11 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I picked this up at my local CCO this weekend, and I'm quite pleased with this set. Included are - Real Treasure (Lustre) lipstick, Soft Spot (Glaze) lipstick, and My Dear mini Lipglass.

I really like Real Treasure in particular, as this gives me the closest I've come to a "MLBB" lip color. In the tube, it appears brown-ish/bronze-y color, but when applied, it's quite sheer and (on my lips) has a slight pink-ish tint - or maybe it's just sheer enough to allow my natural lip color to show through?? This lipstick is definitely a keeper.

Soft Spot is difficult to describe, I find it to be a unique color. It's gold/pink/silver all at the same time. It's very sheer, and just gives a slight hint of color, but it's especially pretty when you're outside in the sunlight. Great color to wear when you're not going for a "made up" look, but something more natural/minimal. This is more like what I'd hoped Phlox lipstick would be.

My Dear mini Lipglass is pretty useless for me, as I'm not really into frosty super-pale pinks.

Overall, I really like this set and I'm considering buying another while it's available just so I can have a back-up of Real Treasure.



on 2/6/2009 7:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this set on clearance for $16.50 after the holidays. I love all 3 of the lippies. They are sheer and just bring enough attention to my lips without seeming garish. No use for the little red bag though.


on 1/14/2009 7:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this on sale, so th price was good and that is the only reason I rated it as high. The packaging was lovely, however I hoped for more neutral (nudes) and less sheer.
While I am neutral girl, it isn't all I hoped. I am so-so about it, not bad, not great.


on 12/31/2008 10:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My very first MAC lippies, and I was semi impressed. The staying power is not that great, but the colors are BEAUTIFUL!!! I like the dazzleglass, but to me it is very sticky! The packaging was cute, but unnecessary if that is what was included in with the price. Overall positive MAC experience, but I wouldn't buy again


on 12/14/2008 8:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am crazy for just about everything MAC, but I would urge you to pass on this product because like the review above me states, this is not a nude lip look, but a super-sheer natural look. The Lipglass is the nicest product in the set and it is mini-sized, so not much to cheer about there. The two lipsticks have such a minimal color payoff that I was quite disappointed. To be fair, though...MAC did advertise this set as "Neutral lips" and that is pretty accurate. I think I read more into it and assumed there would be colors similiar Half N Half or Lust. The Lustre finish in particular is lacking in any color impact.


on 11/15/2008 2:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I don't use natural/nude lip sticks or glosses often. I like a little bit of color.

I decided to give this a whirl because it is LE and I purchased the smokey eyes set. I am searching for a good nude, but I don't think I found it in this set.

This gives very little color pay off. I have to layer this to get a good result:
-I apply Real Treasure, lustre formula, to lips first (from tube)
-I apply Soft Spot, glaze formula, starting in the center to the top and bottom 2/3 of my lips.
-I apply My Dear Lipglass in the center of my lips for a pop.

I need to apply it in this manner or I don't get the volume or definition that I desire.

I do like MAC lipglass and lipstick formulas, but I think I would skip this and use something else. For the price it seemed like a good deal, but I have to use all 3 at once. It doesn't pan out. The My Dear will go first because it's about a 1/3 of the size of a normal lipglass. I will use C-Thru in place of My Dear.

If you are teetering on purchasing this product or not, I would pass and get something that you really like. The bag on this is pretty gimmicky and I won't really use it for anything.

It is okay and pretty, but a lot of work for something you can get with applying one lipstick instead of 2 and a gloss.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2008 12:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't often wear lipsticks as I like a natural lip look. So many "neutral" lipsticks make me look dead. But, I love all this red packaging MAC is coming out with for the holidays so I decided to give this a try.

I'm so glad I did! The lipglass, My Dear, is SO pretty. It looks good alone, or layered on top of either lipstick. Both lipsticks, Soft Spot and Real Treasure, give me such a pretty almost sheer wash of color. Perfect!

The price is great too, just $34.50 for 2 full size lipsticks, a mini lipglass, and a cute little bag. Not sure what to use the bag for, but I like it. If I ran out (and it wasn't LE), I'd definately re-buy.


on 11/5/2008 5:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This set should be called Adoring Carmine: "Natural" Lips... because that is what I get out of these lippies, my natural-looking lips with a hint of shine. There is a difference- or at least there should be- between a "neutral" lip and a "natural" lip. With a neutral lip, I was hoping to get a lipstick and gloss that provided a light-tan, almost flesh-colored, lipcolor payoff- more like a NUDE lip, KWIM? You know... not pink, not red, not plum... just nice and neutral! But I didn't get that with the Soft Spot glaze lipstick and the My Dear Lipglass. All I got was my lips with a sheen to 'em. No color payoff whatsoever- NADA! Very disappointing. If I knew this set was going to be like this, I wouldn't have paid $34.50 for Chapstick in fancy packaging. As for the Real Treasure lipstick, I can't comment on how good it is becuz I can't use it. (It's a Lustre and I can't use Lustre formula lipsticks.) My final comment on this is: If you want a neutral lip, just stick with MAC C-Thru or Mouthwatering Lipglasses, MAC Hue, Cherish, Myth, or some of their other neutral Lustre Lipsticks, and save your money. The little red bag this set comes in ain't all that, so it's cheaper to just buy a Lipglass and a neutral lipstick and get the neutral lip look on your own. I don't think the lipstick & Lipglass that come in this kit are worth the $$.


on 11/5/2008 3:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

*PICS*
I love this set! I somehow ended up with 2 sets, but it's so worth it. The kit comes with 2 full sized lipsticks (Real Treasure & Soft Spot), a mini lipglass (My Dear), and a cute draw-string bag. Both lipsticks are quite sheer, but enough color to give lips an "oomph". My Dear lipglass looks fabulous over Soft Spot lipstick. Set retails for $34.50 and comes in a nice shiny red box (perfect for holiday gift-giving).






3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/30/2008 10:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is by far the best purchase I made from the Adoring Carmine collection. The lippies are beautiful. They are sheer and fabulous so don't expect a huge color payoff but if you're a "natural look" type of girl, this set is a must have.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top