NARS Lip Lacquer in Zou Zou

4.5

19 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/6/2009 8:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this color! In the jar, I was skeptical; when I put it on, it was as if my lips had found their soul mate. I seriously LOVE this color. I am pale, I think with cool undertones, borderline neutral? blonde hair, and blue eyes. The color is a purple/pink, but not scary at all. It applies so nicely. It is long lasting and except for the fact that no one has naturally purple/pink lips, it looks totally natural, like you don't have any product on. My only complaint would be that in comes in a jar, so you need a brush to apply it, but I don't care, I'm in love!



on 9/28/2008 11:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

What's wrong with me ? Why didn't I buy this earlier ? What an amazing fall color this is. In the jar it looks like a deep purple shimmer, kind of scary, for some, I suppose. However, it's not anywhere near as freaky on the lips as it is in the jar, what a stunning berry stain. I have really red pigmented lips and this appilied lightly is a MLBB berry stain, heavier application is even better, a shimmery berry purple gloss. The perfect fall berry gloss IMO.


on 8/6/2008 7:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Applied with a light hand, Zou Zou is a gorgeous boysenberry - a mix of red, black, and purple. I am shocked I can get by with it, which makes me think that if I can (fair, slightly yellow skin) others with warmer skin can too. Applied with a heavier hand, Zou Zou is more of a solid purple--still gorgeous and completely wearable, but I personally am not adventurous enough to wear it.


on 2/12/2008 4:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

What can I say? I love this product! The colour is absolutely gorgeous and volatile in the sense that it can either be a deep, dramatic shade or something lighter and less bright depending on the way that you apply it. It looks great with understated eye make-up on the days when you have to wake up early and don't have a lot of time on your hands, or when you have an elegant event to attend in the evening.
The only downside I find is that the pot is rather small, and the price is rather high! However, I am definitely going to buy another Zou Zou Lip Lacquer when mine runs out, because I don't run into stunning colours like this too often.

EDIT: Dries out rather quickly. Not so sure about the rebuying now...


on 9/25/2007 1:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Last Friday I decided to restock at the NARS counter and felt I should give their lacquers a try. I've never really been a fan as they seemed to appear as "super sticky goopy hot mess in a tub". That’s before I met Zou Zou. A gorgeous concoction of reds, burgundy’s and purples to create a perfect Vamp color. It was Friday night. My friend and I are restless and decided to check out a new lounge. Decked in my finest...with a smoky green eye to make things interesting...I applied a sultry layer of Zou Zou on my lips as I walked through the door (mostly for dramatic effect and because I was rushing to get in the car) There he was, sitting across from the bar...nursing a Corona. He seemed bored. It was my cue. He had my full attention. We made eye contact. I smiled...it was mischievous. I signaled for the barkeep and sent the gorgeous piece of man candy a drink of his choice. Long story short he comes over to thank me for my kind gesture. We talk…and he says "You have the most beautiful lips." Fun times had by all...

Got Zou Zou?

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2007 12:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I first put this color on, I was very disappointed because it was ultra sticky and they color was not out of this world. But in all honesty I put it on over another lip color I was wearing so I am sure that didn't help the color or texture. So the following day with clean lips I put this on with a lip brush and WOW!! I LOVE this color. IMO, this looks more satin than shiny/glossy and after it wears off it leaves this pretty berry stain on my lips. It is not as sticky as I thought it was and the wear is quite long even through all the drinking and eating. This color goes very well with my light-medium complexion and since I wear no eye make-up at all this brightens up my whole face. Will definitely buy again.


on 11/23/2005 2:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this colour! It is the perfect berry-plum shade on my pigmented lips. For reference I am a light to medium brown skinned girl with dark brown hair and eyes. I applied this with a lip brush and the texture is really nice not tacky and not too sticky at all. The colour can probably be sheered down for those who are a bit afraid of darker colours. The staying power is okay. After being disappointed colour wise with Eros I'm glad I found and love Zou Zou and Betwitched.


on 11/1/2005 7:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Although Zou Zou is beautiful, I have to blot it down for it to work for me. I am just way too pale to wear this applied heavily. It is a dark plum with shimmer. I imagine it would look lovely on someone with a darker skintone. I do get a little use out of it though. I wouldn't rebuy though.


on 10/11/2005 10:56:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Zou Zou was a surprise to me...the color and texture at first appeared to be everything I didn't like in a lip product. But the deep plum shade and the sensuous texture turned out to be so versatile in application. Different results with finger or brush, all great!


on 9/2/2005 2:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

One of my best friends (who is a makeup artist) insisted on trying Zou Zou on me, even though I thought it would be much too dark on my fair skin. I was very wrong--this lacquer is great!! It can be anywhere from a pretty plum-y stain to a deeper purple-brownish pout. Great consistency, stays on and no offensive scent/taste. I really think this could, in some way, look wonderful on anyone! Highly recommend!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top