Chanel • Red Shine Glossimer • Lip Gloss

rated 3.7(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanstuff on 4/10/2010 6:07:00 PM more reviews by shanstuff

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this Glossimer--as a matter of fact, it's one of my favorites. It has a LOT of pigment and some silver shimmer, so on its own, it adds a pop of sheer color and a luminous quality to the lips without being "too much." It almost looks like a sheer red lipstick...not opaque at all, but with a lot of color payoff! I find it has decent staying power, though not as much as the more opaque Glossimers such as Magnifique and Venus. However, where it really stands out is on top of lipstick. It's truly stunning on top of NARS's Flamenco (a sheer, warm red) and Rouge Coco Cambon (a deep, corally red-pink). On top of those, it adds a depth and shine that is truly remarkable. I absolutely LOVE it worn over these lipsticks! Unbelievable! Will repurchase primarily for this purpose, although I also love it for lighter makeup days when I want just a little pop of color on my lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 twitches on 2/12/2009 5:35:00 PM more reviews by twitches

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This color is truly beautiful - a deliciously bright, pinky red - but unfortunately it not only does not last but also bleeds outside the lip line, even with liner. Also, I found that, unlike other glossimers, this one will also fade my Double Rouge (longwearing) Intensite lipstick if I put it over Ruby Lite, which is why I bought it. So, definitely do not purchase this to use over a longwearing lipstick! Overall a pretty pretty color that to me is just not worth the price due to lack of staying power and bleeding.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LukkiChrm on 1/15/2009 9:57:00 AM more reviews by LukkiChrm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Red Shine was part of Chanel's 2008 Holiday collection, which is fitting since I would describe this color as the perfect bright Christmas red with some obvious silver shimmer to it. The color is not sheer--I use one coat to achieve my desired color. The glitter is definitely obvious and you can feel it when you apply, but it definitely does not look tacky. I think that this color would look amazing on most ladies (both cool and warm toned), and I can see this being my staple for Christmas parties. This is a definate repurchase for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gem727 on 1/5/2009 8:34:00 PM more reviews by Gem727

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

As another reviewer stated, it looks great on fair skin with dark hair! The staying power isn't all that great, but it's a really gorgeous color. Intimidating in the tube, however it gives just enough color without it being "too much."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 seroled on 1/1/2009 1:23:00 PM more reviews by seroled

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I had a $25 Lord & Taylor coupon burning a hole in my pocket. Been hearing about the glossimers for a while now but refused to spend $25 on 1. Went to the counter and tried on a few--wasn't impressed. The lady pulled this one out and I looked her like she had 2 heads. She talked me into trying it. I loved it. Paid $1.07 for it. can't beat that.
Great red. Not too bright. Has a little bit of shimmer, but just enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliastyle on 12/7/2008 3:50:00 PM more reviews by maliastyle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not for me. I tend to stay away from red glosses in general, as they tend to travel off my lips and bleed over my lip line. Still, this cherry red was so alluring I wanted to give it a shot. It's gorgeous, yes, but alas, the thick formula migrates, and it turns to near fuschia on me as it fades. No repurchase. I still love Glossimers - just not this shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 baycyd on 11/22/2008 11:14:00 PM more reviews by baycyd

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The other reviewers are right.. this is a gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous color and texture. However, even though I lined my entire lip with Chanel Rouge lipliner, Red Shine faded into almost nothing in 30 minutes.. w/o eating or drinking anything. Perhaps it needs to be worn over lipstick? Anyway, definitely not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kittycatpainter on 11/4/2008 7:26:00 PM more reviews by kittycatpainter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm a huge fan of glossimers already, and Red Shine is another winner in the line. It's a bright, maraschino cherry pinky-red...not a true red, but a vivid and gorgeous bright red perfect for the holiday season...if you have fair skin and dark hair like me this will really look amazing on you....it has some subtle shimmer but it's hardly noticeable on...it just gives a very high-shine and pigmented gloss.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fashiongal on 10/27/2008 4:41:00 PM more reviews by fashiongal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Yay Chanel! Thanks for giving us a gorgeous pinky/red and very pigmented gloss for Holiday 2008! Chanel has come out with so many glosses that are fine if you want a more natural look or something to wear over lipsticks that it's nice to see something with some pigmentation. Red Shine is a very nicely pigmented red (has some pink in it, it's not a warm red, but a cooler red) with complex shimmers. Beautiful for the holidays or anytime you want a shiny, red gloss. Caution for some - since there is some coolness to this, it may go fuchsia-like on some, so don't be expecting a true red. But it's lovely nonetheless. Now Chanel, please come out with a warm shimmery red for spring :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupismagic on 10/17/2008 10:20:00 PM more reviews by makeupismagic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

In the last year I slowly lost interest in glossimers, *gasp* OMG right ?
Anyway, while out shopping today I passed the Chanel counter and noticed the Holiday Collection had just been put out. I originally wanted one of the Rouge Allures but here in Canada we don't get the Holiday RA colors this year, boo. I was, however, very pleased to see that we got both of the glossimers, which are stunning IMO. I swatched Red Shine on the back of my hand and knew it was love at first swatch, I was in gloss bliss ! It's the most gorgeous pigmented red with tons of shimmer. It's a really wearable red, even for those of us that cannot wear bright or loud reds. It has the typical feel of a glossimer, very gel like but not sticky and it has great staying power. I'm super happy about the Holiday Glossimers, I'm 100% back in love with my wonderful Chanel Glossimers.

EDIT: I REMEMBER WHY I LOST INTEREST IN GLOSSIMERS NOW, THEY ONLY LAST ABOUT HALF AN HOUR ON AND THEN DISAPPEAR. I WON'T BUY ANOTHER ONE.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Chanel products

More Lip Gloss products