Garden of Wisdom • Mandelic Acid Serum • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.2(45 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 apereira9 on 5/25/2014 4:13:00 PM more reviews by apereira9

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love Garden of Wisdom products and really wanted to like this mandelic acid, especially because it's the purest formulation out there that I could find. But this mandelic acid serum was just too watery for me. It was difficult to apply. The container was good for dispensing the product, but it was so watery it would just drip between my fingers before I could apply it to my face. It also didn't seem to work as well as other mandelic acid products I've used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gonelvik on 11/29/2013 5:29:00 PM more reviews by Gonelvik

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It does a good job with unclogging pores and keeping them clear. I've been using 5% at first and then moved on to 10%. I recommend this to everyone I met :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherchesesmots on 10/27/2013 10:40:00 AM more reviews by cherchesesmots

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been fighting blackheads & clogged pores since i was 10 and never really had a chance to say that any product worked for me. Blore pore strip has always been my weekly chore but it never really solved my problem. I am now started with 5% w/o alcohol / seaweed and I'm already seeing my blackheads disappearing and becoming smaller by the day. On alternate days I also apply GoW's AHA/BHA 4% Synergistic Exfo Tonic Gel. About just half a week of using, while I was washing my face, I noticed a whitish plug coming off from the corner of my nose. This particular clogged pore have been the hugest one I know and it never end, like a clogged bottomless pit. But this time the whole plug came loosen and I didn't even squeezed it. Now the empty pore is slowly closing up and I'm such a happy girl who has finally found her right product after godzillion products and years. On a side note, because of this product, I've to make sure that i always apply sunscreen b4 i step out of the house and I don't really like the heavy feeling. Nonetheless, my excitement has turned grateful~ thanks Gow!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lemonfresh on 6/2/2013 4:22:00 PM more reviews by lemonfresh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I tried the 10% without alcohol or seaweed because of the rave review of a MUAer who seemed to have the same skin issues I do, but I guess that ultimately we don't. This didn't do a darned thing for me except to cause breakouts--not the cystic kind, luckily, just small ones that could be dried up easily, and clogged pores. My skin was looking pretty good beforehand, though, so back to the old regimen of moisturizers, exfoliators, and a weekly masque.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Iampo0kie on 4/23/2013 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Iampo0kie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

While this product isnt a miracle worker, I feel like it has really improved the quality of my skin. I use it every other day after I have cleansed.

I am plagued by tons of milia, which are tiny bumps with hardened gunk inside. There is no head so you can not pop them. This sloughs off the skin on top so that the gunk can escape without extractions. It is also good for keeping the skin smooth, shrinking pores, and making the skin less oily. I love how on days I use this, I don't get oily!

My only complaint is I get very dry after using this, and the PRICE. I wish there was a cheaper way to manufacture this.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherinj on 9/30/2012 1:32:00 PM more reviews by cherinj

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Like many of you - I've tried it all. After having been blessed with perfect skin my entire life - at the age of 55 I'm having to deal with issues I've never dealt with before ie: oily tzone, congested pores, blackheads, etc. After alot of research I decided to try GOW's mandelic acid - I'm currently using 5% no alcohol, no seaweed. My skin is pretty tolerant but I've learned from past mistakes that more is not always better so I started with the lowest percentage. For me - this is the magic bullet. I dampen a cotton pad, swipe the serum once over my face concentrating on the tzone - within one week my pores are noticeably clearer, blackheads are almost gone, skin is glowing and overall looks healthier. I did not have the purging that many speak of, perhaps I'm just lucky in that respect, but I found this product to do what it claims. Many of you are quoting a high cost of $40+ however I paid $18.50 for one ounce. I will be re-ording asap. I recently contacted GOW to ask them what adding the seaweed might add - am waiting for a response. Bottom line - if you have congested pores, blackheads, etc - try this - I can recommend it highly enough.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimplesgalore on 8/19/2012 3:19:00 PM more reviews by Dimplesgalore

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Update #2 10/3/12: My skin has improved dramatically since beginning to use GoW products and cutting out all the traditional commercial products that I always knew were irritating my skin. I now have a full sized bottle of the 5% no alcohol no seaweed, and a sample sized bottle of the 10% no/no. This pared with their Beta-Hydroxy 2% gel, and a few other GoW odds and ends. My old hyperpigmentation marks are fading rapidly, if new ones form they are way less noticeable than they would have been, and my skin is smoother, more even toned, and has a better elasticity. At 24 that's not my main concern but it's a nice additional benefit.

Update 9/1/12: After a particularly bad stress related breakout that I, being stressed, picked at and made 100x worse the 5% no alcohol/no seaweed has cleared my face in record time. I still have some hyper-pigmentation marks but many, many others have disappeared completely or almost completely. My skin tone looks like it belongs on the same face, my pores are smaller, blackheads are easily removed, the open pores with gunk in them (not blackheads but not whiteheads...) can be cleaned out easily too. I have never ever had results like this. The only "downside" (not really a downside at all) is that this does make my skin purge a little bit when first using it. However, it's not all at once. More of a slow purge that takes time to get to the surface. I can handle that.

I like it so much I just ordered a 2 oz size of the 5% and a sample of the 10% to see if I can get my more prominent and stubborn hyper-pigmentation marks to hit the road. I'm also thinking the stronger 10% formulation would make a nice active acne spot treatment while using the more mild 5% on the rest of my skin to keep it clear, smooth, toned, to prevent fine lines, and just looking generally happy. I also ordered one of GoWs acid blends and a sample of a new 2% salicylic acid tonic serum (no alcohol). I'm looking forward to adding these into my skincare routine as it seems my skin has no idea how to properly shed skin cells, without a lot of help. Even though my skin is sensitive it responds well to regular exfoliation, even daily exfoliation if mild enough like the 5% Mandelic acid serum. End update.


I received a sample of the 5% no alcohol/no seaweed in my last order and have begun trying it out over the last month. I have acne prone sensitive skin and at first I over did it. My face got worse but I'm pretty sure it was my fault. After letting my skin recover I tried again. This time using it every other day or less. I use it at night before bed and in the morning my skin looks so much better. Any spots I have are smaller, less red, not as tender, just so much better. The rest of my skin has a more even tone, looks hydrated and firm, smoother and generally healthy. This makes extracting the gunk from my pores a breeze and helps to shed the dead skin from healing acne. It also reduces my hyper pigmentation marks, almost overnight. It's amazing stuff. I will say that it can have a mild *tingling* effect when first applied but it settles down shortly after it dries. I like the watery consistency. To give it a thicker appearance would require extra ingredients, and those ingredients would serve no purpose other than to thicken the product. For my skin, less is more. Fewer applications and fewer ingredients keep my skin happy and healthy. The smell... It's not an over the top perfumed concoction. It's no supposed to be. It's a fabulous facial treatment that does its job and happens to smells nice at the same time. I plan on ordering a full sized bottle soon.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Autumn13 on 6/22/2012 10:37:00 AM more reviews by Autumn13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love this product. I've been on the fence for quite a while and when I finally purchased it, I wished that I could turn back time! I had a big zit that showed up near one of my ears and I've been using three different products and while they are s..l..o..w..l..y chipping away at this HUGE thing on my face, Super Mandelic Serum shows up three days ago and this HUGE zit is history!! I have noticed - this is in three day! - that my pores are most definitely clog free. I've not seen this in a long time. Usually at the end of the day, my pores are clog and aching to be cleansed but last night, no clog pores. I have the 10% Yes Alcohol/Yes Seaweed. I did not have any tingling or negative reaction while waiting for the 20 minutes wait time.

I am going to purchase the full size but will be buying the 15%. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this. Ladies, if you're on the fence, try it now - don't walk, run! I have three products that have been shelved and the cost of all three is over $80. This little size .25 oz cost a little over $10. It's pure magic.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondchick12 on 3/1/2012 10:00:00 PM more reviews by blondchick12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I tried 10% with alcohol no seaweed and I really wanted it to work to even out my skintone and for some chemical exfoliation. I have to say this did not clog my pores on my forehead or cheeks but gave me cysts on my chin..within hours of using it. I did not change anything else in my routine so I am confident it was this and tried it on two separate occasions with the same result. Having said that I am still giving it a 3 because I don't think its fair to a potentially good product to give it a 1 because truthfully my skin hates everything right now. I may use up my sample on my cheeks and see if I get any results. '

Edit
I went back to this. I just don't use it on my chin b/c my chin hates everything. Otherwise this really is helping to keep my skin clear and even toned. I just purchased a full size so hope I will continue to like this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cerulfox on 2/20/2012 9:45:00 PM more reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Wow, I've never seen a product work so well so fast! Ordered a sample bottle of this along with some other products from GoW about a month ago, and already one of my persistent acne scars where two cystic pimples formed right beside each other (ow!) have seriously lightened. I'm using the 10% no alcohol / yes seaweed formulation, and don't find it drying but I do follow it up after 20 minutes with my facial oil (rice bran). It's tingly enough so I won't go down to the 5% but think the 15% might be overkill. I use it every 2-3 days, and probably would be fine using it every other day but I'm being careful only to lighten my scars/brighten my tone, and not lighten my skin tone on my face more than my neck. HG for me for sure!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garden of Wisdom products

More Treatments (Face) products