Shi Kai • Borage Dry Skin Therapy Eye Cream • Treatments (Eye)

rated 3.5(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 EllaKwint on 2/10/2014 9:45:00 AM more reviews by EllaKwint

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so grateful to know I'm not the only one experiencing milia with this product! In 25 yrs of using every eye cream under the sun with virtually no problems whatsoever, I had no idea what these hard little white bumps were on my lids and under eyes. I have exceptionally thin under eye skin, so these kernels were especially troubling.

After I finally had a name for it, I hopped on MU and discovered that this affordable cream I'd faithfully been applying for 9 months--one that earned the Cosmetic Cop's coveted "Best" rating--was a big milia offender. Besides growing even more skeptical of Paula Begoun, I'm now left with a nasty, lingering consequence of not doing more thorough research.

Even if you're not guilty of over applying it, the mild moisture this provides is not worth it. Plus, the crepey under-brow area I was most concerned with hydrating has not improved one bit; in fact, it's worse. I will say it works decently under my Too Faced concealer, but that's the only positive thing I could note.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AllemandeLeft on 6/14/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by AllemandeLeft

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I thought this would be great and I was wrong. The box says that borage oil is proven to repair and rebuild skin, but it did not happen that way for me. My lower eyelids have extremely thin fair skin that is almost transparent. I used the Shi Kai eye cream a few times and found it was not moisturizing enough for my lower eyelids. But when I used it last night before I went to sleep, I woke up in the morning and was horrified to find a small purplish blotch on my left lower lid, almost like a bruise. At first I though a piece of purple lint was on my eye, and I tried to sweep it off my face but no such luck. My lower eyelid skin looked thinner than before, and throughout the day today I am noticing my lower eyelid skin flaking off and exfoliating. That's not good, and I've had a headache all day. Probably an allergic reaction to one of the ingredients. It's back to Clinique All About Eyes, which I love and have used for years without any problem. I highly recommend Clinique. I just hope the discoloration goes away and the flaking stops. I just checked in the mirror and the skin still has a purplish blotch on one eye and it looks like I was punched in the eye. Also, the skin is pulling and very tight. I would not recommend this Shi Kai borage eye therapy for anyone, unless you have extremely thick skin already that has to be thinned out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 prettycunning on 2/14/2013 6:48:00 PM more reviews by prettycunning

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Unfortunately, like some other reviewers here, this has caused milia under the eyes for me. Big disappointment! I think it may even have caused my under-eyes to become dryer with repeated use... not something I ever would have wanted. It's a shame because on application it seems to provide immediate relief to the feeling of dryness, but it definitely seems to have made things worse over time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 2/11/2013 8:09:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I used this eye cream for about 2 weeks and had to stop using it asap as it gave me a huge case of millia. I liked that it's super moisturizing, contains antioxidants, worked well under my make-up, and is decently priced (I paid $15). Sadly the millia development is a deal breaker and I ended up using the rest has a hand cream as the tube packaging is purse friendly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rusana on 1/26/2012 2:47:00 PM more reviews by rusana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The best cream I've used so far. Did not make me look 20 yrs younger, not a miracle, but I do not think they even exist. It has very good moisturizing properties, "plumps up" my undereye skin a little bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 1/14/2012 12:53:00 PM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is dry and sensitive. This night/day eye cream comes in a tube (sanitary & keeps antioxidants stable) but isn't quite moisturizing enough for my skin. It has beneficial ingredients and I'd use it if I could.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KittyKidee on 9/10/2011 2:53:00 PM more reviews by KittyKidee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

To the reviewer below.. THANK YOU! i love seeing a fellow skin condition sufferer who is well informed (not that i like seeing someone else suffer) it really pains me when i see reviews or videos of people with skin conditions, specifically eczema, and they have no clue what their doing and are using something horrible for their skin or they don't understand why their BP or SA acne cream is upsetting thier skin and think they just must be "allergic". I understand lack of education, especially when they are new to it or just diagnosed, but sometimes it really irks me when someone with absolutely no knowledge gives advice to a poor sufferer. i really hope i don't sound like a b!tch i just hate seeing people suffer as i have and still often do. Anyways, enough ranting. i have only been using this a few days. After much research over the years i have just heard of this and gave it a shot. I don't have as much time for this review as i would like, due to my rant, but that's fine because the lady below really spells it out. I am loving this stuff so far. i use it with my raw unrefined shea butter and dermalogica skin hydrating booster and a few other things depending on my skin, time of day, pre or post shower, etc. So far so good. I'll update as things (hopefully) progress.

((P.S. i apologize for any typos and errors- was rushing and didn't really have time to edit!))

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gingerrama on 8/3/2011 5:38:00 PM more reviews by gingerrama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

UPDATE: gah. Spoke too soon: once into an eczematic phase, irritation. Not just eye area: I tested the stuff out elsewhere around my person. Given OK-ness with all the other ingredients (alone or in other products), it's either citric acid (known irritant on me in higher doses anyway, ex. straight-up lemon juice on face) or diazolidinyl urea (has irritated me before, in hypersensitivity periods, imidazolidinyl urea too).

Over to the old review... on normal skin, or sensitive skin not being freaky, or non-eczematic: thumbs up!

Thoroughly good eye cream, recommended for the sensitive, thin, fragile, and dryish of skin. Contains borage (starflower) oil, which is high in EFA and GLA, and good on eczema and some other irritating skin conditions. Being what led me (eczematic, irritable) to the borage dry skin remedy range in the first place.

Other main active moisturising ingredients: water, jojoba oil, glycerin, shea butter, cyclomethicone. Cruelty-free, fragrance-free.

It's a deceptively lightweight lotion-cream. Fluid, without being runny and watery. Easy to apply: the squeezy plastic tube being nice and practical (no great shakes on pretty packaging, but probably also part of the branding: this is functional stuff). Squeeze a dab out on to a finger-tip, rub that finger-tip against another one from the other hand, dab around eyes plus a little bit on eyelids, pat and press in. Sinks in well and fast. Retains moisture very well: this is noticeable when using the stuff overnight.

Application: I've been using this morning and evening for a few months now. Applied to damp skin, on top of a dab of rosehip oil. Morning: followed by sunscreen. If skin is very desiccated, or in dry weather: followed by a layer of something stronger: shea butter, lip balm (Badger unscented is good for this: mainly olive & castor oils, beeswax), a heavier cream. Other things would do much the same job--butters, waxes, petroleum jelly, etc.

Now, I should explain that I'm not asking much of an eye cream, or indeed any other cream that I use / repurpose around the eyes. Just to hydrate and moisturise, keep moisture there, stay where it's put, not interfere with sunscreen or makeup, and not irritate. If it must insist on running into eyes--there's no need, but migration does often happen overnight--I don't mind so long as I don't notice.

I've also used a number of other products in that same borage range, and tried them out on various parts of anatomy. The hand cream works around the eyes too, as a richer cream, usually overnight as it's not great under makeup (used it last winter, feels much the same as my beloved old Allergenics emollient balm). The unscented original-formula lotion is tolerable around the eyes, though never really quite sinks in: no great shakes. The 24 Hour Face Cream was not good around the eyes: odd combination of feeling greasy then feeling too dry. Weird, as its ingredients are very like those in the eye cream version--minus the liquorice and cucumber extracts, plus some avocado oil--so there I was thinking that it would be a real deal, twice the size of tube for a similar price…

Comparable eye creams: the texture is very like Avène's soothing eye cream; the Boots, Superdrug, and Simple basic eye creams; Derma E pycnogenol one, Trilogy, Dr.Hauschka, Clarins Baume and Baume Spécial, and a bunch of others. The effect is more moisturising: overnight, as good as much heavier creams (Clarins total eye contour thingie, Börlind LL Regeneration, etc.).

Cost: peanuts. USD 10.00-15.00 for 0.5 oz / 15 ml. Available in some US drugstores and supermarkets, otherwise online. Canada: not seen in shops here, I've bought it online; check Google for current best prices inc. shipping.

INGREDIENTS: Water, Borage (Borago Officinalis) Seed Oil, Jojoba (Simmondsia Chinensis) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii) Fruit, Tocopherol Acetate, Cucumber (Cucumis Sativus) Extract, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cyclomethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Citric Acid, Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate (licorice root extract), Diazolidinyl Urea, Ethylhexylglycerin

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlashman on 7/7/2011 12:18:00 PM more reviews by jlashman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am really enjoying this eye cream so far. I love pure and simple products, with no fragrance, no harsh ingredients because they don't irritate my sensitive eyes/skin. This seems to be very hydrating and believe me, I have tried them all. This is incredibly inexpensive compared to the kinds of eye creams I normally buy and I find it to work just as well, if not better than most. I love the little tube packaging as well. For the price and the fact that this is natural and hydrating, I think this will be a repurchase for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NarnianLady on 6/26/2011 7:32:00 AM more reviews by NarnianLady

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm rating this highly because this product has great value for sensitive skin-ned girls like me. Works well as an overall face moisturizer. Truly a fragrance and irritant free product. Would like to see more antioxidants, but that might pose a risk of irritation for someone with a very sensitive skin. I loved this in the winter and slathered it on my facial skin at night ... when all else failed. A bit heavy in the summer, but would repurchase again in the cold season. Worth every cent / penny!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shi Kai products

More Treatments (Eye) products