Unlisted Brand • sesame oil • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.6(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MysticalRukia on 5/31/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by MysticalRukia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Other, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Ok.. I can not get enough of this amazing oil! I use it to wash and moisturize my extremely acne prone skin.

Prior to using this stuff I had horrible and painful acne. I used just about every drugstore brand of cleansers and acne treatments and even used Michael Todd true organic products and nothing at all helped my skin! After getting my acne somewhat under control through a change of lifestyle, and herbs, I began checking out different oils. (I must admit putting oil on my already oily skin kinda scared me.)

I tried cocoanut oil, castor oil, jojoba oil, emu oil, etc. Every single one of them broke me out! But after doing more research I ran across sesame seed oil. After reading so many positive reviews I gave in, went to Kroger and bought their unrefined sesame seed oil.. All I can say is.. Wow! That night I had an extremely painful zit that I couldn't help but pop because the pain was driving me nuts. After cleansing I put some of this on my face and the next day, instead of scabbing over or reforming into another pimple.. It was completely flat and gone! All that was left was a red spot. All of my active pimples appeared to be a bit smaller as well.

After a while I completely threw out my cleansers and only washed my face with this using a wash cloth, and my skin got SO much better, and happier. Because I have a hormonal issue, it hasn't magically cured my acne. But it does really help with active acne as well as lightening the hyper pigmentation over time, and serves as a great serum after using a derma roller! (for my hyper pigmentation and dented scarring.) Also, It has a light smell that doesn't bother me a bit.

Lastly, it's a great natural sunscreen. Although it does have a low SPF so I wouldn't rely on this for a long day in the sun! Nevertheless, I would highly recommend giving this a try! It's definitely my HG skincare product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LeleA on 2/22/2014 1:08:00 PM more reviews by LeleA

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay...guys it seems you are into skin and hair care as much as I am. I appreciate all of the comments regarding the sesame oil for the hair. I currently use organic coconut oil to prevent my scalp from getting dry, however I never thought of mixing the sesame oil with my coconut before getting it shampooed. I will definitely try it. I read that the beauty of the hair in India is attributed to oiling it first before washing.

As far as skin goes I use Black soap to wash then 100% raw white Shae Butter as a moisturizer every night on my face and when I wake up it is absorbed. I NEVER go to sleep with ANY make-up on my face, even though I use it moderately. I actually use the Shae butter as a moisturizer for my skin. I have found nothing that works better than this. Hope my review gives some insight in our quest for beautiful hair and skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RebDesnoyers on 2/2/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by RebDesnoyers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This oil is amazing! Mix this oil with castor oil and almond oil, apply to dry hair, leave it on overnight, wash it off in the morning and enjoy your silky, smooth hair! Sesame oil is known to improve hair growth and it seriously helped my heat damaged hair! Try it out for yourself and you'll know what I am talking about. The only downside is the smell, I think that it smell absolutely awful and I had to shampoo third times to get it off completely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 6/2/2013 4:27:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought a bottle of this to use on my face. I had read up on sesame oil and found it was supposed to be good for skin. Yes it did moisturize but I still was getting acne and my skin would be dry after the oil was absorbed. I wasn't too happy with the outcome and it's now just sitting on a shelf in my bathroom.

Basically I'm acne prone and this didn't help.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skyybound1243 on 1/5/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by skyybound1243

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

All I can say is WOW. I'v yet to try this again as a facial moisturizer (I tried it for the first time last night) but it has worked wonders. I couldn't believe that I was actually putting an oil on my acne-prone combination skin (which can really look greasy and shiny sometimes). This has moisturized my face like no other product and is dirt cheap! It did not break me out either which was a huge relief. Harsh prescription medications (I'm currently using epiduo) are the only things that can keep my acne at bay, unfortunately I have ridiculously sensitive skin at the same time so my skin gets super red and burns like shit! I woke up this morning with baby soft completely calmed skin, it did not enlarge my pores like I worried it would and my face is the farthest thing from greasy, it actually seemed to take away the oiliness! The redness is completely gone as well! I will definitely be using this again as my moisterizer :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mahars on 8/21/2012 4:56:00 PM more reviews by Mahars

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I've found that this is the best oil for salt and sugar scrubs. I hate oil based scrubs that leave me greasy after I get out of the shower, but for some reason sesame oil doesn't have the effect and seems to soak into my skin better. I've tried olive, coconut, jojoba, and grape seed oil, and sesame works the best so far. The scent is faint, but not the most pleasant, so I mix in a few drops of essential oil, mix it with salt or sugar, and scrub away. I love that this is such a cheap and effective home recipe, and I can't believe that I used to drop tons of cash for oil-based scrubs like the Fresh scrub when I can make this myself for a fraction of the price. Also, to the poster who said this oil smelled up her bathroom, could it be that you used toasted sesame oil? Unlike raw oil, toasted sesame oil is extremely strong smelling and not generally suitable for skincare uses.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 7/28/2012 7:58:00 PM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Sesame oil is *amazing* for filling out fine lines and smoothing wrinkles. A masque of raw turmeric and sesame oil, massaged into the skin and left to dry, works wonders for the skin. Wipe off after drying and apply yogurt to absorb the turmeric stains.
The smell can be bothersome but I don't mind it much. I usually mix it with rose water or some essential oil.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DuchessofGrapes on 5/1/2012 5:24:00 AM more reviews by DuchessofGrapes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oh sesame oil how I love you! I have used it on my hair, but I prefer coconut and castor oils for my hair. But sesame oil on my body? LUSCIOUS! Sesame oil has many benefits. The usual ones like the omegas, amino acids, and the antioxidant benefits. But there are also some unusual ones. Sesame oil is an anti-inflammatory, antibacterial, antifungal, and antiviral. It's also been used for centuries as a natural sunscreen. It's blocks out about 30% of the sun's rays (so an SPF is still needed, but every little bit helps!) so it's great as a basic moisturizer. And since it's so lightweight, it never feels greasy. There are also studies of how it helps joints and blocked arteries (although I like hyalouranic acid supplements better for the joints). It's also a cell growth regulator and can help fade dark spots and scars. It's such a great oil! These are my personal recipes (which I use) that include sesame oil:
Day Moisturizer:
1 tsp Aloe Vera Gel
1 tsp Sesame Oil
1 tsp Distilled Water
1 pinch L-ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
5 drops Chamomile Essential Oil
5 drops Licorice Extract
5 drops Raspberry Extract
Mix the water and l-ascorbic acid then mix in the other ingredients. Keep in a dropper bottle and use after toning. Make weekly to gain the full benefits of the vitamin c and keep in the fridge. Great for daily use!
Body Moisturizer:
2 tbsp Aloe Vera Gel
1 tbsp Sesame Oil
1 tbsp Distilled Water
1 tsp L-ascorbic Acid
10 drops Licorice Extract
10 drops Raspberry Extract
Mix the l-ascorbic acid and water, then add the other ingredients. Once again, make fresh every week to keep the vitamin c fresh and potent! Keep in the fridge.
Makes my skin soft, glowing, and completely redness free. It's a great oil. It does go bad, but I use mine up so fast that it doesn't even get close the expiration date. I will definitely keep buying it!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allthecolours on 2/6/2012 9:14:00 AM more reviews by allthecolours

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love sesame oil, I use it for everything! I use it on my hair once a week as a deep conditioner along with coconut oil - it leaves my hair wonderfully soft and silky smooth. I also use sesame oil every night as a pre-cleanser and face moisturizer. I've been using this regime for years and it never breaks my skin out unlike all the other oils I've tried. I massage it into damp skin, wipe of with a cotton pad and follow up with my Burt's Bee's cleanser. Pat my face until it's just a little damp, then pat the sesame oil onto my skin. It leaves my skin smooth, clear, hydrated. I just love it. A bottle lasts me at least half a year, and considering it costs under 2 I save a lot of money on skincare!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prairiegirl80 on 2/5/2012 3:58:00 PM more reviews by prairiegirl80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE!! I use it as a makeup remover and a facial moisturizer in the summer (I live in Winnipeg, so I need something a little more rich during the winter months). I have the most sensitive skin EVER. Most products give me a rash, but this stuff is heavenly. I love that it is all natural too :) I use Aura Cacia organic sesame oil (I order it from Well.ca since it can be difficult to find in stores sometimes).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Lotions/ Creams products