LORAC • Croc Case • Palettes

rated 3.3(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 silverbrook on 1/16/2010 10:36:00 PM more reviews by silverbrook

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted so badly to like this. The packaging is really awesome, and the colors look great in the palette. Normally, LORAC colors are very pigmented. Unfortunately the lighter eyeshadow shades all wash out on my skin no matter what I do. They're basically useless except to add a teeny bit of shimmer. The pink does not show up at all. The darker colors are good, and quite pigmented. I'm pleased with the blushes, and have not tried the lip glosses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dpav on 11/13/2009 10:34:00 AM more reviews by dpav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm always using d/s e/s because I usually don't need a dramatic look. Plus, I never finishes up an eye shadow, so I guess it's a waste to get those high-end brand-name e/s. I tried this palettes b/c I believed it's a good value.


Pros:


* There are 16 e/s color to try, the blush is beautiful (my favorite in this collection), the Lip gloss are pretty decent too.

* the croc case is very very nicely made. I have used it to travel as it's a "hard" case, so my brushes won't be smashed by other stuff in the luggage.


Cons:


* disappointed on the quality of the e/s (pigmentation is low, it's chalky etc). the e/s is not any better than my d/s brands; I think I should learn the lesson that Palettes usually are in lower quality esp. if it's such a good deal.

* the flip open of the package is very annoying. Plus, one of the e/s drops out from the package and it creates a MESS on my carpel!!!

* Plus, there is no name under the e/s or blushes. So, I really like the blush, but I'm not sure how to locate the full size product w/o the name



All in all, I think Lorac comes out with a holiday Palette every holiday season. If you just really want to try out the colors, I think you can get the palette, but otherwise, it's not that worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 quityerbishin on 2/19/2009 8:57:00 PM more reviews by quityerbishin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this palette never having really owned any Lorac and truly did so against the reviews here going on the 'try it for yourself it may work for one even if not for another' theory.

I have to say I was MORE than pleasantly surprised. The packaging is absolutely gorgeous. It came in a moc croc box and then the palette itself is encased in a zippered Croc case as well.

Now, set aside the general beauty of it's packaging and open it to see the stunning array of neutrals and some deep crease shades and a couple of brighter shades.

I agree with many of the reviewers that most of the shades are very sheer, but it is obviously clear they are meant to be as such. And they are still very much smooth to blend, long wearing.

The blushes I had feared would be too warm for me, as I am a cool toned brunette but even that was not accurate in terms of shades shown on the Sephora site.

The glosses are adorable... that is all I can say of those.

I imagine if you have a penchant for much higher end brands such as Chanel and the like it may seem lower quality when in reality for a mid range girl like myself these absolutely more than met my expectations.

Definitely worth the 44$ it sells for right now.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 monstercat on 1/18/2009 3:26:00 PM more reviews by monstercat

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this collection. No, not all of the colors will work well on me but there have been some surprises. I would never have bought that lavender/pink shade but it is subtle and lovely on especially when combined with the taupey shade next to it in the box. All of the dark colors are great and highly pigmented but soft. I find that Lorac eye shadows blend effortlessly for me and most of these shades can be worked together. The blushes are a little light for me but are fine for daytime and are lovely colors. Since I prefer neutral gloss lipstick I love these also. Overall I think this is a great deal. My only negative comment is that there seems to be no way to find out the names of the products if you want to purchase single colors later.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FastKitty99 on 1/17/2009 2:25:00 PM more reviews by FastKitty99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I thought that this was an awesome deal for 16 e/s, 3 blushes, a highlighter, and 3 lipglosses. I purchased a LORAC palette in the past and was VERY impressed with the quality of the e/s, so I expected something similar. There are 2-3 e/s in this set that are very pretty and pigmented, but the majority of the colors are washed out and not too exciting. They are not the usual silky, highly pigmented colors LORAC has been known for. The blushes aren't the best for my cool coloring as they are on the warm side. I also find the packaging very annoying. The case opens like a book and you have to "flip the page" of e/s to get to the blushes and glosses underneath on the next page. This was a total disappointment. I would maybe recommend this to a novice (teenager?) who has few eyeshadows and blushes because it does give you a lot for the money. However, if you are an e/s collector and already own lots of colors, this probably won't impress you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* psmitty on 1/7/2009 4:32:00 AM more reviews by psmitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with LelloGollilla- a disappointment. This massive palette was on sale at Sephora before the holidays for about $49 CDN, a great deal for the quantity. After all, who wouldn't want 3 lip glosses, 4 cheek shades and 16 eyeshadows for the price? Sadly, the quality of the eyeshadows is poor. They don't "stick", have much colour payoff or lasting power. They fade within an hour and the glitter ends up all over my cheeks. I also had creasing issues on non-strenuous office days with the ones that actually show up. I've heard so many great things about LORAC eyeshadow, so maybe they used a different formula? The cheek shades are also not very universal; peachy-pink, a weird dark coral, a ruddy brownish shade, and a highlighter. None of them really work with my skin and the glosses are all too light for my pigmented lips. No easy feat- I have pale yellow skin and dark features (making me look dead or sick if I don't put blush on), and almost every blush shade out there usually works. I wish I bought the Croc Palette instead. You'd think with so many shade options, they'd choose a wider range or more universal ones. For such a good company, I'm surprised by this. I've never tried a worse eyeshadow, even in my teen days. Although it's more pricey, I highly recommend buying a Stila empty palette and filling it with your own shades- the quality is amazing and they last forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PinkPuffin on 1/2/2009 8:28:00 PM more reviews by PinkPuffin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am shocked by these reviews. I bought this case from sephora and love it. yes the colors are a lil sheer. but itsmeant to be that way . thats its charm. And the darker colors have a good pigment. Whats meant to be sheer is sheer and whats meant to have a POP has a pop. The lip glosses are sheer but again thats the charm to enhance to make a natural look . honestly the blushes are to die for . I jus love them. they are peachy and give you a very natural i have a light inside glow. I think this is especially good for this time of the year. It gives you a glow but not over done. Its winter we shouldnt be looking like we jus got off a plane from san. tropez or worse look like a certain group of ppl that work for charlie in his chocolate factory. And the middle gloss is the perfect pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NotABeautyJustRaving on 12/18/2008 4:49:00 PM more reviews by NotABeautyJustRaving

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a really cute palette. It is way larger than I expected, which is good and bad. The eyeshadow colors are soft, well pigmented and well matched. There are endless possibilities as far as color combos go. The blushes are nice, fresh colors that really brighten up a face. My only disappointment are in the lipglosses. They look really pretty in the tube, but are so sheer they really deposit no color on my lips. I got it on sale on sephora.com. I think they could have given us an e/s brush, being they made the case so large.

All in all, I am happy with it. I think I will use it a lot. I just said no to repurchase because it is more of a novelty than a staple in my makeup collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 8ball on 12/4/2008 10:34:00 AM more reviews by 8ball

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this collection. It's a great value for the $$. I bought five eye palettes this holiday season (2008) and returned all but this. The eye colors have great pigmentation, are very usable colors, and they give you a lot. The blushes are a little bright for me, but I think NARS lovers will like them. I don't wear l/g, but there are 3 for l/g lovers. But the selection and quality of the e/s are enough to make me happy I own this palette. The package is sturdy and provides good protection for the product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ruecke on 11/15/2008 6:23:00 PM more reviews by ruecke

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, so despite the poor reviews on this, I decided to get this during the Sephora F&F event, just because I've collected most of the LORAC palettes over the past year, and loved them. I ordered this because I wanted to see for myself if it was really such different quality than the others.


Unfortunately, it is. And it will be going back to Sephora.


As others have mentioned, the eyeshadows are not nearly as smooth as in LORAC's other palettes. I use a Laura Mercier angled eye brush for my other LORAC shades, and found I needed to use a smaller, denser (i.e. MAC 239) for these. When swatched on my arm, these really lacked the shimmery depth and complexity of the other palette shades. The best I can describe them is that, although they may appear shimmery in the palette, they actually apply fairly matte with glitter added in. It's the kind of glitter present in the LORAC Maui Wowie palette shades--which I might be able to take in 4 shadows, but not in 16. (BTW, I have swatched each of the Maui Wowie shades twice, and am not yet sure I'll be keeping it. If anyone wants it, make me an offer, because I'm considering swapping it away....) On the Sephora site, I believe, there's a reviewer that said that there was a "stain" left behind on her arm after she swatched them. And I agree. In general, the two columns on the left aren't very pigmented. The two columns on the right ARE, but just apply as sort of muddy dark matte stains. With a little glitter. Very disappointing.

I actually really liked the taupey purple shade in the lowest level; it looked lovely on, but it just wasn't worth keeping the whole palette for a single look. The matte charcoal was also a lovely liner shade that stayed all day, but again...if I know that I have dupes of most of the other shades that I prefer, it's not worth keeping it for 2-3 shades I don't have. I'll simply look for an individual pot that's a dupe for that purple taupe. And even though I liked the look I got with the purply taupey and charcoal shades, my lids just lacked the shimmery depth seen with other LORAC shadows....

As for the blushes, they were really lovely. They are also less pigmented than most of the LORAC palette blushes, which I actually preferred. I'm not one who loves to "use a light hand" with my blush, so I liked that these blushes are more forgiving. If only the shadows were better....

As for the glosses, I liked the texture, but they did end up either looking fairly clear (after a short period of time on), or else I have other shades that are similar.

So, I will say that (with the exception of two of the left-most shades, which are similar to the white and pink shades in Maui Wowie) none of these shades are the same as any in of the other LORAC palettes I own. (Which include: Best Dressed, the Platinum one, Caribbean Crush, Pink Python, Snake Charmer, Miss Davenporte, and Maui Wowie. And I once owned Croc, but returned it.) So, if you own any of these other palettes, you will not get identical shades in the Croc Case. But, unfortunately, neither will you get the quality that you love and want.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LORAC products

More Palettes products