New York Color • Smooth Skin Pressed Powder • Powder

rated 3.6(74 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 karliemoore17 on 11/12/2014 9:18:00 PM more reviews by karliemoore17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I own this in pressed and loose, and I really like them both! I picked this up because I heard that they were discontinuing the loose, so I figured I'd have to switch to this when my loose was gone anyway. I am really happy with this product! It sets my makeup really well, and stays on for hours! I'd say it kept my t zone from looking shiny for about 8 hours, which is darn good for a $3 powder! It also doesn't give you that white cast like the loose powder cancif you apply too much. Really happy with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yankee77 on 10/27/2014 2:24:00 AM more reviews by yankee77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this powder. I started using it when Maybelline messed up their dream matte powder (why must makeup companies keep torturing us?)!

NYC powder covers nicely, holds up well and does a good job and evening out my foundation. The price is awesome and I always buy several in case they pull the plug on this one too! I do wish they included a puff in the compact, but it's no biggie...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 apowerfulbeat on 9/8/2014 1:17:00 PM more reviews by apowerfulbeat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this hoping for a cheap drugstore pressed powder to set my foundation (since I thought Rimmel Stay Matte was clogging my pores) but it just isn't worth the $2 or $3. Just go out and buy the loose version of Smooth Skin, it works so much better. The pressed is very powdery, so your brush picks up a lot of product, and it seems more white than translucent, so it leaves a white cast. The packaging is also very cheap plastic, very flimsy, and I feel like the mirror part of the compact is going to snap off every time I open it. It doesn't do a great job of setting foundation or controlling oil either. Don't bother, just buy the loose version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaethie on 6/1/2014 11:29:00 PM more reviews by kaethie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was using a white finishing powder from Tarte that was $32 and ran out. As a dare by a friend who swears by cheaper make up, I picked up the compact and YAY I looove it and it does the same as the expensive brands. I use my big kabuki brush with it, not a applicator pad. LOOOVE THIS...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 5/17/2014 7:17:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This oxidized on me badly!! I would only repurchase this if I was totally broke for the rest of the month. Elf's pressed powder is much better. This is thin but manages to make me oilier by mid day than other pressed powders. It's chalky, it's just a mess, & the puff that comes w it is worthless. :/ sorry I hate giving bad reviews!! NYC is not as good of a quality as WnW or elf to me for same $$$.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KimD507 on 5/4/2014 5:22:00 PM more reviews by KimD507

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Well it doesnt break me out..which is a HUGGGEEEE plus!
I think it is greta for normal skin
My skin is oily and it is a nice natural looking finishing powder (I bought trans.)
but wish it had more oil control

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Andisophiaquinn on 5/4/2014 4:52:00 PM more reviews by Andisophiaquinn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Dang, this powder is awesome. I saw it at Walmart and it was three bucks, so I thought "eh, why not?" Best powder I've ever used, and for a great price! The packaging is sturdy and doesn't crack or anything, and the product doesn't crumble if dropped or anything. It blands well with my skin and absorbs oil quickly. I've also noticed it gives a very little bit of coverage and smooths out my skin tone and makes everything look even without drying out my skin or being too dark or light. I've also noticed it is a lot less cakey than other pressed powders and won't get packed on the applicator like a lot of pressed stuff does. Highly reccomend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 caitlynsalmonson on 4/27/2014 9:15:00 PM more reviews by caitlynsalmonson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

glad this was only $3.50..it is ok for first application after foundation/concealer, but just doesn't work to reapply.. stuck to oil on my face and made it look extremely powdery and gross. I never have that problem with other powders. Price is ok but not worth it if you reapply powder throughout the day. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blackrose007 on 4/6/2014 12:50:00 PM more reviews by blackrose007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

love this powder i have it in loose version thou the pressed one is so hard to find in my area crazy but its pale enuff for my pale skin smooth it doesnt control oil but blotting papers work well with it will repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 2/10/2014 12:12:00 PM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I had forgotten my powder at home and dropped into Target to grab something to make do for the day. I bought this at $2.99 in Translucent. For the price this is a pretty awesome blotter. I do use the sponge applicator and press it into the shinny areas and it mattes. I have not had any issue with the translucent oxidizing. While won't be an immediate repurchase for me if I find the need if I'm out I will be looking for this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Powder products