Gigi • All Purpose Honee non-microwave wax • Hair Removal

rated 3.9(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 diepset1 on 8/12/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by diepset1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This wax smells nice, looks nice, but it's not nice enough for me. My skin is not particularly sensitive to waxes, but the problem I have with this one is that it's extremely sticky. I've been working with wax for a long time and I like chocolate wax the best. The honey one doesn't have anti-inflammatory properties, but it is definitely all-purpose and still gets the job done. If you have sensitive skin that just gets red easily, then I recommend trying a different wax.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 3/16/2014 11:10:00 PM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After several months of experimenting with and perfecting my waxing technique with store bought cold wax strips (Sally Hansen) I figured it was time for me to graduate. I also realized I could save a lot of money waxing if I could master this 'pro' waxing. After much consideration and research I purchased the Gigi warmer, muslin strips, a variety pack of wax applicators, baby oil, witch hazel with alcohol, cotton pads and this honee wax.
I tentatively waxed my own eyebrows. I have pretty good technique so no mistakes yet! I'm impressed with my results, to toot my own horn. I can't wait to wax my legs, too. I will end up saving so much money, and this is so much better than shaving to me.
I wouldn't recommend this for someone who doesn't have the finesse or know-how to wax. I would recommend having each body party you want to wax yourself professionally waxed first so you can remember the techniques they've used and apply them yourself.
I have the Gigi wax warmer to go with this. Yes, it takes like 40 mins to heat up- but all pro wax warmers take a long time from what I understand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittanysc1 on 10/7/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by brittanysc1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this stuff. I started out with some Sally Hansen wax and quickly realized that just wasn't going to work. Picked this up at Sally's and used the strips that had come with the Sally Hansen, then later bought some of theirs. I warm it up (I use a candle warmer but you should use the real warmer for safety blah blah blah) spread it on, use the strip, and out comes the hair. Easy as pie. Yes, it can be messy if you aren't careful, and you shouldn't get it on your floors and counters because it will be difficult to remove. On your body, however, a little oil (I use vegetable because it's cheap and I have it) instantly makes it unsticky and it just washes away. Though user error can be a factor as to why wax doesn't work, if you follow the directions it should work perfectly! Over time, it has hurt less and less, and I will never go back to just shaving!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 7/2/2013 5:50:00 AM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've used pre-waxed strips in the past and they were not so effective. I even went to the salon to get waxed once last year, and it was very effective but so expensive I never went back. so I was delighted to see a promo for a Gigi wax kit at Sally's, which included the All Purpose Honee Wax, as well as the warmer, large muslin strips, and (useless) instructional DVD, all for $30. this wax has a really nice smell of honey, and takes 15-20 minutes for a full jar to melt to the proper consistency. however, the reason why I gave the product a rating of 4 lippies is because although it does a pretty good job of removing the hair for the most part, it does cause some of the fine hairs to break rather than being pulled out by the root. fortunately, the coarse hairs were pulled out just fine, unless they were embedded, so I needed tweezers for that. I used this for my legs and underarms and used way too much wax on my first use, 75% of the jar! I believe that when used in normal amounts, the jar should last for 4 uses if used for a full leg wax. one jar costs about $15, so even with the cost of strips and applicators, it's a heck of a lot cheaper than going to the salon. I plan to try other Gigi waxes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cakefaceangie on 6/21/2013 11:39:00 AM more reviews by cakefaceangie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Sally was having a sale to buy the warmer, the strips, the DVD, and this wax all for 29.99. I purchased it because I figured it would be easier and less messy than me cooking sugar all the time. Tried it last night and needless, to say that I loved these products. I am very happy that I took advantage of this sale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hello_jamie on 5/8/2013 5:21:00 PM more reviews by hello_jamie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Update: I have been at home waxing for about 8 years now and this stuff is still the golden standard. I officially will never try another wax because this one is just so good.

I wax my legs every month, along with upper lip, underarm, and whatever else I feel like doing. I've even got brave enough to Brazilian wax myself, although I highly recommend just doing progressively more thorough bikini waxes before you attempt to "go to Brazil". One jar of this stuff last for months, and Sally's is always having sales on Gigi waxes.

Every time I try a different brand I have to come crawling back to this stuff and beg forgiveness for cheating. I tried the espresso wax by this brand once and hated it. The all purpose honee is freaking awesome though.

PROS: Smells neutral, is easy to work with, does not rip off skin, gets all the hairs, just works beautifully.

CONS: It is more expensive than some other brands, but with wax, you get what you pay for. And it is still loads cheaper than going to a salon for a waxing. One jar of this allows me to wax my entire legs 4-6 times.

My tips for home waxing:
-Practice makes perfect! Laugh off mistakes! My first time home waxing was pretty hilarious in retrospect, but now I can do it with my eyes closed.
-Don't wax when your kids, husband, milkman can bother you. You don't want to be rushed or have toddlers banging on your door. Waxing takes concentration!
-Bring some kind of oil in bathroom with you so after the waxing is all done, you can easily get off any sticky wax residue. I swear by coconut oil but any kind of oil would probably work.
-wax sitting on top of an old towel. I am careful but sometimes drops fall. I store my wax warmer on top of my folded up "waxing" towel so I can just pull them out of the cupboard together come waxing time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Marisela99 on 4/23/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by Marisela99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this was really guna work.. For the pain not even all the hairs come out.. Im suree i grew it long enough too. It sucks

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mzmaheen on 2/17/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by mzmaheen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I use to use Suddenly Smooth Deluxe creame wax and it sucks, because it broke a lot of the hair. I recently made the switch to GIGI all purpose honee, and I noticed very minimum breakage..I thought it was my technique but when i waxed my sister, she couldnt get over the results, her legs were smooth and she just loved even the littlest hair came out..

This wax is amazinggggg!

I just bought the DARK HONEE to try out, because i have coarse leg hair, and thought i might try that out too....Will update the results soon. I think this wax is a great buy, and if you're talking about it being sticky...then you're an idiot..its a wax..and the stickier it is, the better it is at sticking to your hair.. :)

If it got everywhere, then its your techqniue not the wax..and you can buy a wax remover...and it comes off SOOO EASILY from my legs, when i use olive oil and slather it on and use a strip to remove any residue and that moisturizes my legs too...

Definitely recommend it to others and repurchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lylasmum on 2/2/2013 2:34:00 PM more reviews by lylasmum

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this wax (14 oz. can) along with the warmer, muslin strips, and how-to video at a promo price of just under $40 at Sally's. I have dark hair and I'm a total newbie at waxing. I think GiGi All Purpose Honee Wax is an excellent product (if you have the right tools) and I highly recommend it. I found it very effective for hair removal. The wax warmer is an indispensable tool to achieve the perfect wax consistency. Yes, the wax does get gooey and sticky BUT that is why it is effective at hair removal and, hello, YOU CAN'T EXPECT TO WASH OFF ANY WAX RESIDUE WITH JUST SOAP & WATER! I think the key to my success as a first-time waxer was PREPARATION. I watched the how-to video first (sure it's dated but I found it informative) . Also, before I started waxing, I had all my tools within reach: baby powder, lots of applicator sticks, a pair of scissors to cut the muslin into whatever size I needed, GooGone and paper towel to clean up any accidental drips, and I had some azulene oil leftover from my Parissa kit. The azulene oil was very effective in removing any wax residue from my skin plus it has soothing properties to help minimize any redness. I worked on my legs and brows first. I was so pleased with the result that I decided to try waxing my upper lip and my underarms the following night. Again, I was so pleased with the result! I also ended up using only (maybe) 1/10 of the product so I know this tin will last me a long time, perhaps close to a year. I gave it only a 4 for packaging because although I like the tin, I didn't like how there was wax stuck to the bottom of the lid making it hard to remove. It should probably come with a plastic sheet on top to keep the wax from sticking to the lid during shipment. Other than that, I think this product is just awesome. This very happy newbie will definitely re-purchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pomeh on 12/13/2012 8:22:00 PM more reviews by Pomeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, its messy. You just have to bring your mentality that it's going to be everywhere and you have to prepare for that. For a first time wax I was able to get most of the area I wanted. The only problem was it cooled way quicker than I expected and I ended up with too much wax in one area (damn you winters...) so I had to stop the process.

Although it was my first time I learned a lot and everything I did wrong I know how to fix to make the waxing a smoother (pun intended) experience.
I found that olive oil takes care of the sticky wax residue best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gigi products

More Hair Removal products