Mario Badescu • Flower & Tonic Mask • Masks

rated 2.8(62 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Tiamik72 on 6/16/2014 6:11:00 PM more reviews by Tiamik72

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This mask was very nice quality. Nice thick mask. Smelled pretty good. Felt like a mask you would receive in a spa. Felt a minor irritation but didn't sting. Was a little hard to remove.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilShowas123 on 6/14/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Simple formula. Strong smell of gardenia but works like a regular drying clay mask.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emarieet on 3/3/2014 3:12:00 PM more reviews by emarieet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have cystic acne and pimples with combination skin. When I read the reviews of this makeup on the Mario Badescu website I thought it would be promising and although it is not a miracle worker, I was happy with the results. I also use from Mario Badescu: Whitening Mask, Cucumber Lotion, Special Healing Powder and the drying lotion and my acne has gotten A LOT better to the point where I don't have to wear makeup anymore. When I run out, I don't think I will buy it again because I want to try the Healing and Soothing mask since I have heard good things about it.
The scent is great and it leaves my skin feeling very refreshed. I do believe it has played a role in clearing up my acne, I always use one of the two masks when I have a lot of breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nicolebby on 8/2/2013 11:50:00 PM more reviews by Nicolebby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am kind of up in the air about this one...

Admittedly, I should have read the reviews before running out and buying it, but I do not dislike it as much as many others. Yes, it leaves a film, but that's nothing that warm water and a wash cloth cannot get rid of (except around my eyebrows... that takes a bit of scrubbing). And yes, it has a smell, but if I'm being honest, I find it kind of soothing. Also, yes, it is tightening, but I kind of like the feeling in a mask. It makes my skin soft once I have washed it off completely. So $18 USD for a two ounce jar is actually rather affordable.

Now here is where I have a dilemma. I could have gone on using this and been basically happy, had I not tried LUSH's Love Lettuce Face Mask. Compared to this LUSH mask, Mario Badescu's does not hold a candle. You leave it on only half as long (LUSH for ten minutes, Mario Badescu for twenty), has more benefits for my skin (soothing, reduces redness, smells nicer), acts as both a mask AND an exfoliator, and is cheaper (LUSH fresh face masks cost only $6.95 USD). So before using this product, I would have said yes to repurchasing, but now that I have tried LUSH and fallen in love, I cannot see myself ever coming back to this. I will finish off this jar in between LUSH trips, and that will be the end of it.

EDIT: I have completely stopped using this mask even though I have more than half the jar left. I just cannot stand how much work it is to get this mask off my face. And I think the deciding factor is that when I use the LUSH masks, I wake up with soft skin, redness significantly reduced and have noticed a large decrease in pimples. So I have taken this down to one lippie because I just don't use it and have found something MUCH better with a lot less hassle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Dowagr on 6/17/2013 11:31:00 AM more reviews by Dowagr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I strongly urge all users to do a patch test before applying this mask!! I did not, despite reading all the terrible reviews about this mask. Very stupid of me, cos I got the exact same symptoms as someone else (http://www.essentialdayspa.com/forum/viewthread.php?tid=21904)

The moment i put it on, i felt stinging and burning sensation. I had to wash it off in under 20min (which was the recommended time to leave on). It was hard to wash off, as it left a waxy/ashy film on my face. Immediately, I saw itchy bumps all over, especially on the parts where I applied it.

The next day, the bumps were really obvious, and i had to stay at home over the weekend cos I was too embarrassed to head out. It was so bad as my skin felt very hot to the touch, blistering and scaly. I was very very upset over this; my skin is not the very sensitive kind, and I don't normally get allergic reactions.

I did a lot of googling about my symptoms and realized I had got Irritant Contact Dermatitis. I kept it under control by taking antihistamines and keeping my face clean.. avoiding all harsh chemicals/products for a couple of days. All I used was Cetaphil and Kiehl's midnight recovery concentrate (both are life-saver, will write a review about it soon). The scaly parts are slowly flaking off and healing. the bumps are still there but no longer itchy. I am hoping for the best, so let's wait a few more days. If any of you are affected by this product, take my advice with a pinch of salt/caution. If it is really bad, do seek professional help.

Good for those who found this product useful. As for those who are keen, I cannot stress how important it is to test it out/request a sample. I would never wish for anyone else to have the same problem as I had. Thank you for reading.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 geideja on 8/18/2012 4:08:00 PM more reviews by geideja

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I applied Mario Badescu's skin consulting and they gave me a bunch of recommendation for my skincare. Flower & Tonic mask is one of them and I was skeptical about it. Didn't want to buy a $18 jar so I got a sample.

I tried this two times and hated the result. Sure, it smells good, easy to apply on my face and easy to wipe it off after fifteen minutes. It feels clean after washing it off then next day... My skin feels so rough and itchy. There was tiny bumps on my chin area - yes, clogged pores! At first, I thought it was something else then I tried second time - same result. Rough, itchy and clogged pores!!! Ugh, never again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ltgee on 7/20/2012 12:04:00 AM more reviews by ltgee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

received a generous sample of this from their company. i agree that it does leave a waxy film on your skin. i can see how many would freak out over this. i have combo skin prone to acne so this freaked me out a little (thank goodness i read the mua reviews first!). i patted my skin dry and it felt very balanced though! no tightness or dryness. maybe thats the purpose of the waxy film? my face just feels moisturized! i wouldnt buy this though-there are much better masks out there for less. the smell was pleasant and it dried very quickly. when taking it off, definitely use your clarisonic or a face cloth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xobeachchicxo on 4/4/2012 12:54:00 AM more reviews by xobeachchicxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of this product from a local boutique that sells the entire Mario Badescu line. I am pretty pleased with the results and am not entirely sure why everyone is complaining. This mask left my skin feeling baby soft, SILKY smooth, very clean and had a slight tightening effect. Unfortunately, the product did little to close or tighten my pores.

I didn't really notice an "oily" or "waxy" film like other users. My skin merely felt moisturized for a frew minutes, then that feeling dissipated and gave way to a slight tight and dry feeling, I think the reviewers who complained of the "film" failed to let the mask dry entirely, I would give this mask 30 minutes on the skin before removing. It also helps to remove this mask with a washcloth dampened with very warm water. Using your hands and water to remove this mask is difficult and will leave residue.

While I am pleased overall by the product, I think I would like to try samples of other Mario Badescu masks before committing to a full-size tub of this. I do think the Flower and Tonic mask is a good maintenance product for de-congesting the pores and pampering myself, but it does NOT perform miracles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HotWolfie on 3/30/2012 1:27:00 PM more reviews by HotWolfie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite mask so far. I like the smell, texture, and the soft feeling of my skin after use. After I rinsed the mask from my face my skin looked fresh and clean (similar to after I exfoliate). I only do a mask about once a week, but so far this is my favorite one! I highly recommend this if you have dry, dull skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 3/24/2012 10:44:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm digging it. And that "weird film" people are complaining about? It feels like my face is just plain moisturized once I remove this. I'm noticing that my facial congestion is greatly reduced, my pores look much better and my skin looks great overall after using this. To each his own. Try it for yourself and see if it suits your individual skin needs. It does mine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Masks products