MAC • Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft and Gentle • Highlighters

rated 4.1(404 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Kitty7592 on 12/20/2014 6:58:00 AM more reviews by Kitty7592

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this on my skin tone, it gives me a beautiful subtle glow and I've had mine for over a year and am only now about to touch pan, I have a very fair complexion so it does wonders for me, it is expensive but I use this everyday and it's lasted me ages :) it's perfect for summer and winter if used appropriately. I would defiantly recommend it's gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RS13 on 12/19/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by RS13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good highlight. I'm a NC 43 in Mac and it works great as a highlighter. I use it above my brow, on my cheek bones and my cuspids bow. It's a bit pricey it's about 32 dollars but it will last you a very long time!! So it's totally worth it. You barely use a lot so it's guaranteed to last a long. Will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 susieax on 11/2/2014 2:57:00 PM more reviews by susieax

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

My all time favourite highlighter (although Mary Lou comes a close second)! I wear this highlighter every day! It even looks fab when I've had a spray tan as naturally I'm quite fair. It blends in brilliantly and has a beautiful sheen to it, which makes my sometimes dry cheeks look brighter and healthy. I can't wait to wear this along with Illamasqua Sophie blush in the winter for a fresh, rosy glow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 11/1/2014 5:19:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I never thought to pick this up until an SA talked me into trying it after seeing me eyeing Lightscapade. I figured it would be too gold or too warm for me since I am cool toned. Usually anything gold or bronze on me looks odd. I wanted Lightscapade because it is a cool toned beige with multidimensional shimmer and looks like it would be very soft. It was, I looked and fell in love.
Although it seemed very light and hard to see. The SA got me to try Soft and Gentle and I was stunned at how good it looked. Nothing too much or gold. Just a nice peachy warm shimmer. If you go heavy handed it can be very warm. MAC describes this as a gilded peachy bronze. I don’t think this is very “bronze” but it is gorgeous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sahbear95 on 10/16/2014 7:12:00 AM more reviews by sahbear95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Recently purchased Mac Soft and Gentle, and it is one of the few Mac products that I am willing to spend the money on, as in Australia it is heavily overpriced.

Regardless, it is a stunning product with the most perfect sheen on the cheeks, that I use as a highlight for my cheeks, bridge of my nose, cupids bow and forehead. Cannot recommend this enough and received so many compliments. Even with slightly oily skin this product does not accentuate this issue like other highlighters have in the past, love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hlrk on 10/8/2014 11:07:00 PM more reviews by hlrk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wanted a pretty neutral highlight/illuminiser etc for my face to add a nice shine and youthful finish.

Out of the Mineralize Skinfinish range this was the most subtle.
In the baked pan it appears a champagne pink with slight gold veins running through it.
When swatched it appears a champagne colour on the skin. It boarders on a little bit too pink for my yellow/golden tones, however i slightly add to my cheeks as well for a bit of extra shine on blushes. Makes your face pop with how reflective it is.
Not entirely happy with the quality of the finish, it is not finely milled. Some flecks on the face can be seen, have to almost beauty blend it in a bit more to make the large bits of powder blend more. This would be amazing if it was more finely milled.
I apply with a fan brush, i need to swipe it decently into the pan each time before i apply for a good application of product. However, i do not see myself running out for like 10 years. so much product in the pan - justifies the price more.
This lasts on my face for a whole day, easily!!
The pan it is in is very hard to open. Clam looking pan with a magnetic open/close system. Can be very hard to open. Otherwise packing is great and modern. Circular see through section on top to see the colour of the product.
Smell is fairly neutral, nothing special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gholt91 on 9/29/2014 9:45:00 AM more reviews by Gholt91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is a very pretty hilighter with a LOT of pay off! Because the pigment is very light I do find it can sometimes look a bit to sheeny? It's perfect for brow bone & cuspids bow! It lasts a long time I've had mine since January, pretty much use it everyday & still have no wholes in the compact yet! I use a RT setting brush to apply!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amtn on 9/6/2014 6:19:00 AM more reviews by amtn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

NC20. More yellow pigments in my skin. Dehydrated skin with oily t-zone. Dry patches around my nose.

I have been looking for a highlighter to give me an effortlessly glowing from within look. You knoe when you're staring at somebody and you say... Damn how, how is she radiating like that?! We'll yeah I was after a product like that. I was tossing up between TheBalm Mary Loumanizer and Soft and Gentle... In the end I chose S&G because it's was easier to find. (Ended up buying TheBalm after being disappointed with Soft and Gentle!)

S&G is one of those highlighters that is definitely detectable on the skin. Therefore it was not the effortless look I was hoping to achieve. You would look at me and without a doubt know I had highlighter on. I would describe this as... A neutral champagne with flecks of gold particles. The gold flecks are nice for night time, maybe, but definitely obvious during the day. It can make me look... Like a glitterball and sometimes sweaty (especially in photos). As a result of the flecks, I find that it can accentuate pores I didn't even know was there - sitting ontop and drawing unwanted attention. I have tried applying with a highlighter brush. A blush brush. Contour - all by Real Techniques. The best brush is a flat foundation or a blending eyeshadow or fingers and blending.

I also have Bobbi Brown's Shimmerbrick in Pink Quartz which was the only highlighter I had before purchasing S&G. It is Soft and Gentle's dupe! But without the glitter/flecks. I get an ethereal sheen/glow with Pink Quartz. Due to the strips in Bobbi Brown strips, you have the option of making it more pink or bronze. I have had it for 5 years and still haven't hit pan. Worth the $72AUD I bought it for.

When it comes down to it, I regret buying S&G but will try using it as an eyeshadow and highlighter occasionally. Hence the no repurchase.

I ended up buying TheBalm's famous Mary Loumanizer in the end... Holy smokes. My cheeks are glowing this beautiful, words cannot describe, sheen. It is more golden in colour in comparison to Soft & Gentle, which looks warmer swatched beside.

Buy The Balm or Bobbi Brown alternatives!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sierrab2010 on 9/1/2014 1:54:00 AM more reviews by sierrab2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I found this at my pitiful local outlet mall yesterday (I'm close to an hour away from any Ulta or Sephora store) and was so happy I wanted to do backflips! (Unfortunately, I cannot, in fact, do a backflip). Apparently, online it's $32 and I got mine for $21 - score! Anyway, the color is beautiful. I use it as a highlighter on my cheeks and my nose. It has a lot of shimmer, but I don't mind because I obviously wanted the dewy, wet look anyway. Color payoff is pretty good considering how oily my skin often gets. I did my makeup at 11 AM and it was still going strong by 7:30 PM. The packaging is nice, and you get a lot of product for the price you pay. Definitely would recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CindyC19 on 8/6/2014 4:12:00 AM more reviews by CindyC19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mineralize skinfinish it gives me a nice glow it's several ways I could use this like I use it to highlight my cheekbones and to highlight my nose bridge and for the corners of my eyelids to brighten up my eyes the only thing I dislike about this is it can be to glittery so definitely have to use it very lightly when applying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products