Christian Dior • 029 Moonlight Eyeshadow Quint Holiday 2008 • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(7 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 10/28/2012 8:32:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Moonlight is a gorgeous LE palette. The four lighter shades are anchored by the rich, silvery purple in the center. Anything would look gorgeous with this shade in the crease. There are two light, taupey purply silvers (I can't really think how to describe these ATM), an iridescent pink that's unique but not really my thing, and a silver to round it all out. Yes, it's all very shimmer, so be warned. Perfect shades for a winter evening.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tenderheart003 on 12/2/2008 9:32:00 PM more reviews by tenderheart003

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a gorgeous quint. This is my first CD palette and I am very pleased. The packaging is so pretty and luxe looking. As it should be for the price. On my NC30ish olive skin the four light shades can pull a bit too frosty except for the lavender shade if I try to wear them without deeper shades. I love the taupe but have to wear a deeper shade in my crease like golightly or I look washed out. The gunmetal shade is amazing besides the fact that it has crazy fallout which I have only ever seen the likes of from UD shadows. These shades last well with primer and I love this palette for an evening eye. I agree that the palette has an ethereal quality to it and it has fueled lemmings for many other CD quints.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pretty_please on 11/30/2008 9:24:00 AM more reviews by pretty_please

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

You have to be able to apperciate that frosty ethereal look to get this. Besides the middle shade, which is a shimmery gray all the other colors are pale and frosty with varying undertones. Now the colors themselves are gorgeous and so smooth and finely milled so they get a 5 for quality for sure. I'm really pale and I tend to like neutrals, nothing or dark dramatic eyeshadow because thats what makes my blue eyes pop and works with my pale, cool tones skin...this are more pastels which I don't think do much for me, unless I am using the shimmery gray as a lid color...then there is enough contrast so my face doesnt look like one big pale hole...This is my irst dior quint! And I have to say I love the quality, I always shyed away from Dior eyeshadow because like 6 years ago I tried one of those little duos they used to have and I dint like it, I dont knwo if I got an off color or an old dup but they shadow was chalky and not good...this quit totally changed my mine. As much as I know I'm totally in trouble now loving something thats 55 bucks a pop I do love the quality so much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mojie on 11/19/2008 2:51:00 PM more reviews by Mojie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this quint after being bowled over by Dior's Incognito quint. The colors in this quint are cool-toned and seemed like they would be flattering on my fair, neutral-cool toned skin (MAC NW20). The color combination looked perfect, plus I got this as a set that included a free small tube of Diorshow mascara, so it seemed like a no-brainer.



Unfortunately, as gorgeous as these shades are in the quint (they're about a shade lighter than they appear on Sephora), there's almost no difference between the four lighter shades (lavender, opalescent pink, white pearl and silvery taupe) on my lids. They all come off as a sort of semi-iridescent, shimmery, indefinable ethereal color. It's pretty, but it seems like a shame to have 4 colors (at this price, especially) that all look the same on my lids. The only color that shows up like it does in the pan is the gunmetal grey center color, which makes a lovely, gentle smokey shade that works well as a liner (not a dramatic liner, but a gentle one) or in a soft, subtle smokey eye.



The texture's also not up to par with the Incognito quint. While these are still smooth, they don't go on as velvety as the Incognito shades to, probably because of the higher level of shimmer in this quint. I'm finding that I end up with more shimmer than base color on my lids with all but the gunmetal shade in Moonlight.



Like Incognito, this is probably a palette best suited to someone with fair skin. The shades are very light and don't pack enough punch to really show up on someone with skin that's more than fair-medium. They barely show up on me and I'm definitely not dark skinned by any means.



In spite of my issues, I'll be keeping my Moonlight quint. It was expensive, especially for the effect I get, but I do like the angelic sort of ethereal look it gives. It's very understated, but I usually go for makeup that's not too bold, so while I wish it was a bit more pigmented and smoother, it's workable for me.



PROS: (1) make a pretty ethereal sparkle on the lids; (2) gunmetal grey shade makes a good, subtle liner or smokey eye.



CONS: (1) poor pigmentation; (2) lots of shimmer, but not much color; (3) all the lighter colors look basically the same on my eyes; (4) expensive; (5) not as velvety smooth as other Dior shadows I've tried.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* musicalhouses on 11/18/2008 2:50:00 AM more reviews by musicalhouses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Product: Shimmery, iridescent quint with 5 cool-toned colours - a shimmery white/silver highlight, a light lavender color (similar to MAC's digit in color but with the Dior-Quint e/s finish) a light beige color, a taupe color, and a black with glitter. All 5 colors have the 'iridescent' finish of the Dior quints, and the black in the center has larger chunks of glitter as well.


My experience: I hate to bring down ratings for this, but I am in two minds about this. when I first got it, I found it meh. It had a rather odd sheeny frosty finish that i didnt like and i thought it was too sheer. And while I'm not paper-pale, I'm certainly not dark! My AAB neutral-to-cooltoned, NC/NW20 skin usually has most e/s show up on my lids! Then after I tried it again I realised it wasn't as unforgivably sheer as I thought previously. And I thought, hey I like the purple, the beige, and I'd actually use all the colors. I like using the white to highlight, then either the purple or the beige colors for lid, and the taupe or the black - or both - to contour, so this wasn't too bad for me. It's something I would use up, and is good for everyday wear - one can easily use the lavender or beige color in the quad as an allover wash if you're light, or the taupe if you're slightly darker skinned. I might also add here that the black is actually rather matte, although it appears to have glitter bits in the pan, because the glitter bits don't really show up on my NC/NW20 skin. And also, the taupe is rather sheer, so it's a lighter type of taupe, not the dark, Satin Taupe kind of taupe. Its the kind of color I could use as a lid color as well. Also the e/s last all day on me, no creasing, even without a base, just on bare skin. So quality-wise, I can't really fault the quint, even though it IS sheerish. However, there are things that bug me about this quint, and make me feel it's not worth it's $54 price tag. For one, the quints are 'iridescent' - in other words, they have this really weird sheeny, frosty finish that I feel is too obvious because it's just so sheeny, and not in a nice way. This boggles me, and the only other brand of e/s I know that has this sheeny hyper-pearlized finish are Too-Faced single and duo e/s. And I didn't like the Too-Faced version, and I had 1 person comment on the sheen when I wore the quint out, so I took that as a sign that the finish was too obvious. If you like mattes this isn't for you, since the sheen isn't the subtle pearlized glow, but a rather obvious type of frost. Also, I feel that none of the colors are particularly unique - the beige is the highlight of the quad, as it has sliiiiight pink reflects, and I would totally buy it if it were a single e/s. However, the white, lavendar, and black are totally dupable (except for the frosty sheeny finish) and the taupe is nice, but there are much nicer and more complex taupes out there. Also because the taupe, as I've mentioned before, is pretty light and sheer, you are essentially getting 4 light colors and 1 dark color, which might bother some people, although I personally find it OK since I tend to use lighter colors much more quickly than darker ones. I could, however, imagine a darker skinned girl not liking this because the pale shadows show up as frost on her, or simply show up pasty, and I can imagine that for warm-toned people, this would be a greyish, ashy mess. But that's me. I'd still recommend this quint if 1. you don't mind sheer shadows or you're fair (probably NC/NW20 and under) 2. you don't mind the weird frosty finish the quints have, 3. want shadows that stay on forever, and 4. you're cooltoned - I feel this is important, because all the colors - except the white and black are cooltoned. Definitely not for warmtoned girls! However, if 1. you want pigmented quads, 2. you prefer matte shadows and hate frosts, and 3. you're dark/warmtoned, please stay away from this quint. It's nice, and pretty, and sure the Dior packaging suckers you in (it did me at least), but it's by no means anything particularly unique, and it's by no means a must-have. Pretty, but also a pretty penny, and not that special.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rp1017 on 10/26/2008 10:41:00 AM more reviews by rp1017

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a gorgeous palette which is extremely cool toned however will definitely work for you if your eyes are warm (brown.) For reference I am a NW10, blonde highlighted-hair and brown eyes ...... I normally stick with colors in the brown family but this palette makes my brown eyes come alive ....... I used the silver on my lid --- this eyeshadow is very pigmented, so be careful as you can certainly o.d. on the color,the lavender in the crease, and smudge the gunmetal to use as an eyeliner and I get a very pretty look ...... I want to say like a lighter smokey eye (for those who love smokey eyes, but due to their coloring can look off due to its itensity, I would suggest the Moonlight quint as this can certainly be used for a lighter smokey eye because of the gunmetal shade but the lighter colors balance off the intensity.) I wore this quint yesterday for the first time, and received many compliments on my eyecolor (my eyes are boring brown, but yet this quint makes my eyes look more golden --- my own mother commented "I never knew you had golden eyes"..... it definitely brings out the gold in my eyes. The only issue I have with this quint is that it is hard to find .... most stores only received one or two quints for their store!!!!!!!!!!!!! I purchased mine online from Sephora however this quint is listed under another name (Silver Smoke) plus for the same price Sephora adds in a free mini-mascara.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jadoresdior on 10/12/2008 7:38:00 PM more reviews by jadoresdior

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Christmas season isn't here yet, but this palette is already sold out at a lot of places. Luckily, my friend and I got this palette just in time before our local department store ran out. It is amazingly beautiful! All the colors are so soft, silky, and blendable. The colors are light lavender, opalescent pink, shimmering gunmetal grey, white pearl, and silvery taupe. If you get the chance to haul it, I suggest you do before it runs out forever. It is, after all, a limited edition item. ^_^

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Christian Dior products

More Eye Shadow products