Paula's Choice • Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15 & Antioxidants • Sunscreen

rated 3.5(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MagnoliaState on 1/16/2014 9:20:00 AM more reviews by MagnoliaState

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Please note the SPF rating of this product has increased from SPF 15 to SPF 30. Yay!!!

This is for DRY skin ONLY. Acne prone and oily skin ladies - find something else. It is VERY moisturizing.

Pros: (1) VERY moisturizing. (2) Mineral formula. (3) Non-irritating. (4) Does well under makeup. (5) Also has anti-oxidants

Cons: (1) Sometimes too shiny to wear without makeup or powder. (2) Price

Neutral: (1) Slight white cast - I've tried a LOT of sunscreens and have yet to find a 30+ mineral sunscreen witout some white cast to it SPF. (2) Takes a while to soak in. Again, I think this is true for ANY moisturizing sunscreen.

The best way I have found to apply this is to lightly dot and PAT product all over face. NOT blending in entirely - just patting it around. Wait ~30 seconds for the skin heat it up a bit. THEN blend in entirely. I find it soaks in better and leaves MUCH less while cast. Wait again before makeup.

I've used this for years. I want to use a physical sunscreen because no stinging at all - easy for around eyes where I especially want my sunscreen.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lady5andy on 11/7/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by Lady5andy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Paula's choice skin recovery daily moisturising lotion - I don't really like this product but I don't hate it either. I just feel it's kind of greasy without being really moisturizing, and leaving a really white cast on top of the skin.

You really have to rub it in well and it's not for too busy people runing late lol.

It was not moisturising enough for my skin and I also felt like I had something sitting on the top of my skin for a while.

I'll not repurchase. There's many other product from Paula's choice that I like, but not really this one. I love that there's antioxydant in it tho.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katwalker on 10/27/2013 5:17:00 PM more reviews by katwalker

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I feel like this is very elegant, high-quality sunscreen. It's fairly moisturizing without being greasy and leaves a matte finish. It's loaded with antioxidants. It does leave a faint white cast (one has to rub it in well) but that's unavoidable with mineral sunscreens unless tint is added. I cannot use this sunscreen, though I do not hold it against it in the rating as I believe this to be a personal issue: I have recently found titanium dioxide, and to a lesser extent, zinc oxide, highly drying to my skin, sucking out the moisture as the day goes on. Most people don't experience this, though, so I feel like this is worth a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laski on 10/19/2013 10:10:00 AM more reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I found this to be very heavy on the skin. Granted, it is supposed to be for very dry skin, but also for normal skin. It just felt like putting on a winter coat during early autumn. I also felt like it didnĀ“t soak in very well, like it remained on top of my skin like a blanket. Even though I have fairly dry skin in terms of "needing lots of moisture and also a bit of oil", this would just suit me during the coldest of winterdays. So - just not the right product for me, I suppose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laz on 9/16/2013 4:17:00 AM more reviews by laz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Dear SkinCareAficiando reviewer below:

I'm not sure you understand cosmetic science well enough to claim that 3.85% Ti02 and 3.12% Zno cannot provide sufficient broad-spectrum protection.

It's not just about active ingredients: consider the base formula, how it's formulated, what grade of minerals are used etc.

This product was recently retested and actually provides SPF 30 and passes the FDA's new broad-spectrum test (CW of 370nm and above).

It's a great product: gentle, protective, and not too whitening.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aessop on 4/16/2013 7:32:00 AM more reviews by aessop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If this is meant to be the richest cream in her line for very dry skins...then Lord help us. I don't like it all that much. Kept my face hydrated and glowy for 2 hours or so. And then my face looked dull and my cheeks felt slightly dry. And this is me with combination skin. Come to think of it, most of the moisturisers from PC have not been all that misturising. Except for no irritation, I didnt see any changes. And don't get me started on the sunscreen issue. I still can't get over the fact that PC uses the lowest SPF 15 in its products but Paula waxes lyrical about the importance of sunscreen. I'd respect PC more if she'd improved the SPF to a 30. I wanted to love PC but these products just don't cut it with me anymore. I have tried nearly everything in her line and unfortunately they were just mediocore. This is possibly the end of the road for me with PC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emily0212 on 4/9/2013 9:20:00 AM more reviews by emily0212

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So I went on a Paula's Choice sample buying spree and I'm slowly making my way through the haul. These are just first impressions, will update my reviews (and my lippies) as time goes on.

Whoever said Paula's Choice didn't have emollient options for dryer skins is WRONG. Holy emollient. This is crazy thick and moisturizing. I wish I had it in January. Now it's April and it's too much for me. Will have to remember to repurchase this winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BitJustGingerly on 3/10/2013 8:08:00 PM more reviews by BitJustGingerly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am desperate for a good daily face moisturizer for my dry skin that has non-chemical sunscreen in it, and I think I have found it! It does not feel heavy at all, and does not leave my face shiny. I will get a little whiteness if I don't blend it thoroughly, and in areas hard to blend like the eyebrows and hairline. It can be used around the eyes too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SkinCareAficionado on 2/11/2013 11:18:00 AM more reviews by SkinCareAficionado

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

3.85% titanium dioxide and 3% zinc oxide is not enough to even give a bare minimum of protection against UVA rays, certainly not even SPF 15, I have no idea how the product has this rating.

Total waste of time if you are using it as a form of daily sun protection, you'd need about 15-20% of zinc for it to do what it claims.

Paula may have knowledge of most other skin care ingredients but clearly sun protection is one of the major exceptions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KP1234 on 2/7/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by KP1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

(Me: Combo skin with very oily T-zone. NC 42 skin tone. )

This is a really good product; it has lots of beneficial ingredients and protects your skin from the sun. But in the end, it wasn't right for me.
Pros:
+ Satin Sheen finish but not greasy
+ Soothing for dry skin; very moisturizing
+ Absorbs nicely into skin; no white chalky finish

Cons:
- Not easily bendable
- Makes my skin very oily in a few hours

Overall, I would not repurchase this because it makes my skin look very greasy after a few hours. This product is made specifically for Dry skin. I have oily-combo skin but wanted to try it out anyways.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Sunscreen products