Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15 & Antioxidants


43 reviews

44% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals


Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 3.85%, Zinc Oxide 3%. Other Ingredients: Water, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickener), Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil (non-fragrant emollient plant oil), Isononyl Isononanoate (skin conditioning agent), Propylene Glycol (slip agent), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol (thickening agents), Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane (silicone slip agents), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sterols, Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidants), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Unbiquinone (coenzyme Q10/antioxidant), Ceramide-2, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredients), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredient), Tribehenin (skin conditioning agent), Alumina, Aluminum Stearate (thickening/opacifying agents), VP/Eicosene Copolymer (film-forming agent), Polysorbate-20 (emulsifier), PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol (skin conditioning agent), Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Xanthan Gum (thickeners), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Sorbitan Stearate (emulsifier), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Hexylene Glycol (solvent), PEG-4 Laurate (emulsifier), Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate (preservatives).

on 6/14/2015 6:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have the SPF 30 version but I love it. A few years ago I had to switch to mineral-only sunblocks because the chemical sunscreens would break me out, but in general the mineral only ones were also a little drying on my skin. I have dry skin as it is so I didn't need any help looking like a strip of parchment paper.

This is a new favorite because it's very moisturizing but lightweight - I can wear it all over my face/neck in the summertime and it doesn't feel too heavy, and it wears really well under makeup. I don't have to wear another moisturizer to counteract the minerals drying out my skin. It has a light, fresh scent to it, sort of like cucumbers, but it doesn't linger. My only complaint is that you only get 2oz for $26, so I'm going to have to see how long it lasts before I purchase more.. so it's definitely a face-only sunscreen - I'll stick with Coppertone for the rest of me, lol

on 4/27/2015 6:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've been using Paula's Choice products for about 2 months and have seen a very significant difference in my skin. The major difference is the way my skin glows and the way makeup enhances that instead of covering and/or making me look worse because of the bad texture of my skin. I have extremely dry AND dehydrated skin. I apply this everyday after cleansing and toning and prior to any makeup. I find this to be really soothing and smoothing to my dry skin. Great SPF. You get a lot product, the packaging is effective and the price is reasonable.

on 2/24/2015 5:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a good sunscreen/moisturiser for dry skin - it's very hydrating and works well under makeup (if you're not wearing makeup, you might find it a bit too shiny). I have very sensitive skin and have never experienced irritation from this product.

Despite having dry skin, I am fairly acne prone. While this moisturiser has never caused breakouts on my face, when I first started using it I began to break out on my neck, which normally never happens. I soon realised that this was probably because I wasn't cleansing my neck as thoroughly as my face in the evening. After making sure I properly cleansed all areas where this was applied, I had no further breakouts.

on 7/31/2014 5:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a decent 2 in 1 moisturizing sunscreen. It has a lot of good ingredients for the skin as well as broad spectrum protection. Depending on how well you rub this in and if you layer moisturizers this does have a slight white tint that can flake but compared to other sunscreens with mineral sunscreens this is not as bad. This can look greasy on the face too. In my opinion it's best for dry skin. If you have oily/acne prone skin or combination skin with the majority of oily areas avoid it as it will exaberate the oiliness. If you wear makeup try applying this first then apply your makeup after waiting a few minutes.

on 6/22/2014 7:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

NB: I am reviewing the latest SPF 30 version of this moisturizer.

I've been using this moisturizer since April so I could test it out in various weather conditions from rain to hot sunny days. It has proved to be a nice moisturizer+SPF for my dryish skin. My makeup goes on smoothly on top of it and lasts all day. It also imparts a kind of blurring effect into my face so that I need less foundation on top. it is summer now and I enjoy it all the same. I use it interchangeably with Paula's Choice Barely There Tint SPF 30 to ensure sun protection during the day.

I would recommend it to ladies with normal to dry skin (although not extremely dry I guess) as a nice 2-in-1 product to cater for sun protection and moisturizing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 5/5/2014 9:32:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This did absolutely nothing for me, it is too light and didn't hydrate my dry skin at all. Will not be repurchasing.

on 4/29/2014 6:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE IT ! Not going back to any other moisturizer! Great for dry skin!

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

*****EDIT:***** My skin has become more combo - oily t-zone. I've switched to PC Hydralight and PC Resist Superlight - the Resist Superlight (it's tinted) being my FAVE! Both of these are matte (which looks better under makeup) and little to no whitecast. Easier to apply - not all of the patting and waiting - super dry skin it may soak in faster than it was for me. Hydrating enough and I can add moisturizer to dry places. I would reccomend either of those over this Skin Recovery unless you really like a very dewy finish. I am changing my vote to "no" repurchase and from 4 stars down to 3.


Please note the SPF rating of this product has increased from SPF 15 to SPF 30. Yay!!!

This is for DRY skin ONLY. Acne prone and oily skin ladies - find something else. It is VERY moisturizing.

Pros: (1) VERY moisturizing. (2) Mineral formula. (3) Non-irritating. (4) Does well under makeup. (5) Also has anti-oxidants

Cons: (1) Shiny. (2) Price

Neutral: (1) Slight white cast - I've tried a LOT of sunscreens and have yet to find a 30+ mineral sunscreen witout some white cast to it SPF. (2) Takes a while to soak in. Again, I think this is true for ANY moisturizing sunscreen.

The best way I have found to apply this is to lightly dot and PAT product all over face. NOT blending in entirely - just patting it around. Wait ~30 seconds for the skin heat it up a bit. THEN blend in entirely. I find it soaks in better and leaves MUCH less while cast. Wait again before makeup.

I've used this for years. I want to use a physical sunscreen because no stinging at all - easy for around eyes where I especially want my sunscreen.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 11/7/2013 10:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Paula's choice skin recovery daily moisturising lotion - I don't really like this product but I don't hate it either. I just feel it's kind of greasy without being really moisturizing, and leaving a really white cast on top of the skin.

You really have to rub it in well and it's not for too busy people runing late lol.

It was not moisturising enough for my skin and I also felt like I had something sitting on the top of my skin for a while.

I'll not repurchase. There's many other product from Paula's choice that I like, but not really this one. I love that there's antioxydant in it tho.

on 10/27/2013 5:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I feel like this is very elegant, high-quality sunscreen. It's fairly moisturizing without being greasy and leaves a matte finish. It's loaded with antioxidants. It does leave a faint white cast (one has to rub it in well) but that's unavoidable with mineral sunscreens unless tint is added. I cannot use this sunscreen, though I do not hold it against it in the rating as I believe this to be a personal issue: I have recently found titanium dioxide, and to a lesser extent, zinc oxide, highly drying to my skin, sucking out the moisture as the day goes on. Most people don't experience this, though, so I feel like this is worth a try.

Back to Top