Ole Henriksen • Enlighten Me Pigment Serum • Treatments

rated 3.9(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Jinsoh on 9/11/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by Jinsoh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am on my second bottle of the Enlighten Me Serum. I use a pea size amount in the morning for my forehead and chin areas, where I have most of my acne scarring, and then I use a dime size amount at night for my entire face. That said, a little goes a long way with this product because it is so viscous and spreads out quickly. I have noticed a difference in my acne scarring, but nothing with my sun spots, which may be something others may want to consider. For me, the change in my acne scars was gradual so that it wasn't until my first bottle was almost empty that I realized that my scars had lightened. And despite the tackiness on the skin until the serum is absorbed, as other reviewers have mentioned, I do love this serum. The orange scent of the product is nice and most importantly, it is working to lighten my dark spots. I would recommend this product and seeing as I am already on my second bottle, would definitely repurchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 therubyprincess on 5/15/2013 8:01:00 AM more reviews by therubyprincess

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

On week six of using this at night after cleansing. Love it. Love that it includes SAP (great for acne fighting) and lactic acid (my fave AHA) and does not clog me at all. I find my skin just looks healthier and clearer when using this. Note: don't overdo the amount when using - half a pump does your whole face and neck. Will update when bottle is empty. Oh and really quickly - I am slightly annoyed with OH as I have emailed to get the percentages of the actives on this product and have not received a reply.

EDIT: 6/10/13 - per CS at OH percentages on actives is proprietary information so they are unable to give that data to consumers.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 9/27/2012 1:22:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this for a week and my acne marks are starting to fade very slightly. This makes my skin smooth, soft and glowing. Its a little bit sticky when you apply it but after a few minutes it goes away and my foundation goes on beautifully. Fyi; Im combo, very clog and acne prone and this has not caused any reactions or breakouts.
Will continue to use this and see if my skin improves and will update in a few weeks...........................
Oct 28 UPDATE; So I have been using this at night mostly, and sometimes in the AM before my foundation to heal up blemishes. Im still happy with this product and feel it is helping the overall look of my skin.............will update again in a month or so.........
UPDATE Nov 26: still loving this, no new breakouts and its continuing to make my complexion more even and glow.
FEB 19-2013 - Still using this and loving it

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lareinarumbera on 3/9/2012 10:05:00 AM more reviews by lareinarumbera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this serum for hyperpigmentation. I am very prone to sunspots and scarring, and recently had a bout of horrible skin caused by allergies, which left me with brown spots where the irritation was. I tried 8% glycolic acid (Reversa 8% Glycolic Cream) to lighten the spots (made the allergies/irritation worse and my skin looked horrible), Clinique's Even Better serum (made my skin look brighter but did nothing for my spots) and La Roche Posay's Derm AHA serum (was milder than the Reversa but also did nothing other than make me slightly itchy) - nothing worked on the spots and in a lot of the cases it just created more irritation.


When I went to Sephora (just for fun, I said, I'm on a no-buy presently - but of course I ended up with a boatload of stuff) my mom decided to be generous and gift me with the Ole Henriksen serum and a bottle of the Josie Maran Argan Oil. Used in conjunction (argan + serum at night, argan + sunscreen in the morning) it has faded the look of my scars greatly. It smells kind of funny - like citrus redoxon tablets (those vitamin B & C fizzy tabs). The serum is gentle and did not irritate my sensitive skin and actually helped clear up a few new spots (it's not really acne - it's more like an inflammatory spot caused by scratching the allergic parts). I am happy and if in the long run this does not cause any irritation, will continue to use the combination to keep my skin looking even and clear.


One caveat: this is really sticky for the first few minutes after you put it on. I had a lot of random bits (little pieces of lint from towel-drying my face and wiping down with a cotton pad etc.) stuck to my face until it sank in, so make sure your hands & face are as free as possible of lint before you apply.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jlonghorn2002 on 2/10/2012 9:47:00 PM more reviews by jlonghorn2002

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am on my second bottle of Ole Henrikson Enlighten Me. I rarely spend this much on one product, much less do it twice. I started noticing two dark spots on the left side of my face a couple of years ago. I came home from vacation and despite wearing a cap and spf 50 religiously, my two dark spots darkened. I also noticed tiny, faint spots on my hands. I was freaked out. I applied one squirt of this serum every night, then applied the leftovers I had on my fingertip to my hands. The faint spots on my hands disappeared. The two spots on my face have faded significantly. As I start my second bottle, I am optimistic that they will fade further. The smell of the serum was great, citrus-y. It is slightly sticky so I made sure I applied it right before falling asleep - with no chances of anything else but sleep occurring next.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dededa80 on 1/5/2012 4:07:00 PM more reviews by dededa80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am 31 years old, I always had oily and combination skin with occassional acne. However, since I stop taking my birth control, my skin went crazy on my the last two months. I broke out like teenager and since I have sensitive skin too, I can't use a lot of the products. I was in Sephora one day and just really needed something to help minimze the scars, and my mom loved the truth serum, so I decided to give this serum a try. I absolutely love it. It has been a month now, and I use it twice a day, morning and night. My acne scars are dimished, and there's a faint or hint of a slight pinkness, and majority of it is gone. i am so thankful that this product worked for me, and it didn't break me out at all. I use it after I clean my face, then a moisturizer, and some eye cream and I am good to go. The only thing I don't like is that the pump actually pumps out a lot more, so don't push it down all the way, if not you'll be left with too much serum. I highly recommend this product and I would buy it again.

--------------------------------

Update: I recently switched to Truth Serum by Ole Henricks, and I like that one even better. After using the truth serum for three weeks, my skin is brighter, smoother and my acne scar are almost gone. I absolutely love it, I think the Truth Serum is better than this product.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 10/14/2010 1:01:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is just so-so. I used it for a month and it didn't do much. My face felt softer in the mornings, but that was it. I didn't think I gave it enough time so I've been using it every night for 3 months. I wash my face, put this serum on, then a light moisturizer. Still it did nothing. My brown spots are still there, it didn't lightening any of them a bit. I do have sensitive, oily skin and this didn't bother my skin. Waste of time and money. Wouldn't purchase again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lleux on 8/10/2010 2:09:00 PM more reviews by lleux

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have sensitive/combination skin, so I needed a serum to help lighten old acne scars and even out my complexion from redness due to blemishes past. The serum's scent is pretty similar to lemons, which isn't unpleasant. It doesn't cause any sort of irritation in the form of blemishes to my skin. It sometimes burns a little, but it's not unbearable. After my first use, I noticed improvement in the redness of my skin. I have been using it frequently for the past two weeks and my skin looks far better than it did to begin with. I've been told it isn't a long term solution, but I'm just using it to accentuate the healing process and it is working.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Princesschic on 6/28/2009 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Princesschic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this to sort out a couple old acne scars and uneven pigmentation on cheeks. A little goes a long way so it lasts for ever. I use it twice a day and it's only been a few weeks and my scars are much lighter and smaller. the pigmentation on m cheeks is a tiny bit lighter but still there so hopefully in a few more weeks i will see better results. I was told to get the best out of this product I should exfoliate daily and use some sort of a weekly peel. I haven't had any negative reactions to it like break outs or irritation. However, it is a bit oily/watery so use it sparingly and rub in well..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eurodivas on 10/7/2008 10:46:00 AM more reviews by eurodivas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I do not recall having every purchased such a bad product in a long time. I cannot think of any good points for this product with the exception of the nice color. Where do I start? This should be a pigment reduction serum but actually it smells more like a beverage syrup. Extremely sticky and the smell is overpowering. Bad effect for me was that I go break outs. I tried this product a few times over a period of about two months and every single time my skin broke out. Also, It provided no moisturizing effect. Normally I like products from Ole but they really need to think of reformulating this particular one.

I do have very sensitive skin which is prone to breakouts so this is definitely not for me.

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Ole Henriksen products

More Treatments products