Yves Saint Laurent • Rouge Volupte - Peach Passion #13 • Lipstick

rated 4.1(51 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 liorak on 5/17/2014 4:07:00 PM more reviews by liorak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I would like to start by saying the reason I got this was because my friend had a limited edition shade that was 26 Tender peach (I think). I had just got back from my trip to Cuba and had nice glowing skin. I tried her lipstick and it was sooooo amazing. I looked for it online on Sephora and Nordstrom but couldnít fine it. Then she told me it was limited edition! I was soooo upset. She told me there was a similar one in the regular line, so I got this one (peach passion.) My friend actually got it for me as a birthday gift since I had told her the previous week that I was going to get it. First thing first, automatically I compared it to the limited edition shade that I had wanted. That one is a true peach! Right in-between pink and orange. I would say Peach Passion is a more bright light pink than peach. It still does have a bit or orange. But it is a lot brighter than I expected. I am not a fan of bold (unless itís a red) and bright lips. Tender peach is a lot more neutral. So for that reason I gave it 3 stars. I like mixing it with nude beige when I am a bit tanner. But on its own I just donít love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carlablack on 3/13/2014 5:06:00 AM more reviews by carlablack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This became my HG spring/summer lipstick. It has flaws, but still HG for me.

Color:
LOVE IT! It's perfect for me; just what i've been looking for. It's not natural but it's just too damn PRETTY. It goes amazing with the color of my skin, As soon as i put this on my face looks more awake and cheerful and that makes me feel happy :) This is one of the rare lipstick colors i received a compliment on. I checked the lowest ratings on this product and noticed that most of them complain about the color not working out for them so make sure you test this color ON YOUR FINGERTIPS (for hygene reasons) to see how it works for your skin. This is a risky color, if it works it works wonders, if it doesn't work it will probably make you look like a clown :)

Durability:
This is very creamy but it lasted longer than I expected. After you apply it dries into a very thin film on your lips. It endured drinking for like 3 hours. I don't know about eating though as i always wipe my lipstick before eating.

Packaging:
SO DAMN FABULOUS <3 it feels like a million dollars in my hands. Material is heavy and luxurious. I could repurchase this solely for packaging to be honest :)

Formula:
This is where things get complicated. If i'm paying a small fortune on a lipstick i would expect it to be perfect. At least something that could be wearable without using any additional products. This one fails to do that. It needs something under or over it to look nice. Formula on its own is way too creamy it just slides off the lips, settling into the lines and dry spots. Opaque colors like this needs some stickiness to them to help it stay in place. They tried to make a sheer formula with full color payoff but i think it failed. To make this lipstick work you should either 1)Use primer under it or 2)Use a sticky lip gloss or balm under it and blot or 3)Use lipgloss over it.

Bottom line:
Beautiful color that may not work for everyone. Amazing packaging design. Very good color payoff but formula is too thin it slides off easily and settles into dry spots. Needs a lipgloss/balm/primer to stay in place. Good staying power. I will buy this again but i expect the formula to improve for this price.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AleRF on 2/24/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by AleRF

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I wish this was brighter ... i mean for darker complexions im sure it is bright enough. My shade is a bd 03/ bd 04 in the ysl touche eclat and an nc 25 in mac but not with such strong yellow undertones, my skin is beige and i would say neutral but thats just not it either, products that have the golden beige shades suit me best, like the bd in ysl. Now the color of the lipstick is a pinky orange somewhat coralish color on me, not bright at all, somewhat like a dusky peach color. It surly is my skin-tone that makes it look like that but i really craved the color from the tube ... Bright coral peach. Its just not that for me. I dont hate it tho, still like it but not as much as i hoped i will. Packaging is lovely of course and the texture is like for most rouge volupte lipsticks, creamy, highly pigmented and velvety looking, the color doesnt last much on the lips tho, maybe a few hours but they do leave a pleasant stain even after the color wears out. They all smell great and although they are 34$ i feel like they are worth it, they will last you a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PeonyRed on 1/31/2014 1:46:00 AM more reviews by PeonyRed

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Ah YSL, your packaging is just opulent and way too pretty to resist. Really, every time I whip this out, I feel like a millionaire's daughter. The packaging is also very practical, as the color of the lipstick is visible on the middle of the tube. Unlike MAC lipsticks, which make you rummage around, find the tiny black thing, and turn the lipstick around to squint at the itty bitty label for a name, YSL is substantial in size, flashing gold, and sturdy. But packaging is not the highest priority, or at least it shouldn't be...

This lipstick is very creamy. It feels heavenly when swiped on the lips and the color is highly pigmented. What this also means, is that I get lost in time a bit, swipe too much (the fruity smell doesn't help my case), and I put far too much product on. One thing with this product is that you really don't need as much as you think/wish. I take three short swipes in total and then blot gently with my finger to even out the color and take away any excess.
A creamy lipstick would logically be quite moisturizing, right? No. This is not moisturizing. There is no extra moisture being given here, nor is it locking in whatever little moisture my dry lips might have had. It is a little powdery, in fact. The consistency is creamy at first, but this dries down quickly, and if I don't blot, the excess settles into my lips' fine lines and makes it look...not cute. It also becomes quite uncomfortable and if you suffer from very chapped lips, I really wouldn't recommend this lipstick.
The lasting power is too be expected. It is creamy in consistency, and despite drying later on, if I eat or drink, or just talk, this comes off in 2 hours the most. It's not that bad, though, since I love reapplying this (too much, as we've established). Thank god it's highly pigmented, otherwise I'd go through a tube in one month.
The price is..a lot. I think I payed over $35, which is ridiculous for a lipstick. However, it's just so luxurious looking, shiny, and the colors are very nice. I think it's worth it to get one of these - peach passion is very stunning - and leave it at that. Definitely a luxury item, but fun to have. Just don't go crazy and buy things you really can't afford! There's always drugstore, or hell, MAC is cheaper in comparison. One YSL, or two MAC?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 12/12/2013 12:02:00 AM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

One of my first luxury lipstick purchases, and still one of my all time favorites.YSL's Rouge Volupte formula is thinner in texture than a lot of other lipsticks, but still highly pigmented. It has a bit of a slippery feel to it, but I don't have any issues with bleeding, or with it getting stuck to my teeth. Peach Passion is a BRIGHT coral, much more on the pink side than the orange or red side. It looks great with my fair, warm toned skin, and pretty much lives in my purse during the spring and summer time.

YSL's packaging, of course, is gorgeous. This lipstick bullet is quite heavy, and quite intricate. The color is indicated by the strip around the middle of the tube, under the YSL logo. It also has YSL's signature fruity scent.

I love the formula, color, packaging, pretty much everything about this lipstick. It looks great when applied with a lip brush, or straight from the tube. Wear time is acceptable, but not great. After about 3 hours, a touch up is needed. But for a lipstick that is so comfortable to wear (it feels like NOTHING on the lips), I consider this a fair trade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emilijajan on 12/1/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by emilijajan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The color is just stunning! For me, a blonde with fair-medium skin, it looks AMAZING. The texture is wonderful, so creamy, but you have to make sure your lips don't have any dry patches otherwise it won't look all that great. The only downside is that I find that it does not stay on too long, but I don't mind reapplying it once in a while. Will be trying out other colors from this line definitely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jewelmeow on 7/21/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by jewelmeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

one of my proudest possessions in my high-end lipstick collection (which isn't big but i've gotten to try a few brands). this is THE perfect coral color for summer - i wore this on vacation and i LOVE it because it's so pigmented and the staying power is incredible!

i wore this on the plane for 4 hours and did not need to reapply nor put lip balm on - which i am very impressed with for a lipstick. i wouldn't necessarily say it's moisturizing but it definitely does not dry your lips out! the texture is so creamy it goes on so beautifully. i definitely recommend this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FusiaFever on 6/27/2013 10:28:00 AM more reviews by FusiaFever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is literally my first high end lip stick. And I really outdid myself on this purchase! I love the texture of this lipstick! It is simply incredible! It glides on smoothly and is creamy. It is also really opaque and true to color. I agree with another reviewer- I don't really think that I have tried a lipstick until I tried this.

I love the satin finish. The look is really classic. It looks exactly like the photo on my lips. I never thought that I would be able to pull off a peach color until this shade. And the lipstick is super moisturizing, like a lip butter but with longer staying power.

I wear this lipstick with smokey, dramatic eyes. It is a great alternative to the nude lipstick.

The packaging is the most gorgeous thing ever. It is seriously like artwork, as I love staring at it. I love the looks I get pulling this lipstick out of my bag. It makes every other lipstick look cheap in comparison.

I would repurchase this lipstick, though not for a while. I try not to use it too often, as I paid $36 for it. And I would probably get it in another color, #1. Oh, and it smells divine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kwill89 on 4/14/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by kwill89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this lipstick in Holt Renfrew last month, it's the perfect peach-coloured lipstick. I have NC15, pale skin with warm undertones. This colour is STUNNING, I am so excited to wear this in the summer! It's very silky smooth and has a matte finish, just gorgeous! My only issue is that it's not long lasting at all. I have to reapply it often and it's quite drying, more so I find then Mac lipsticks. I feel like we're paying $50 here in Canada for the packaging, which is just beautiful...But the lipstick could be better. I will repurchase though for the beautiful colour!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiqueGlitter on 9/19/2012 8:42:00 PM more reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

The only reason why I rated this 5 lipsticks is purely because of the texture. Its texture is so unbelievably incredible that it's difficult to explain. It's extremely creamy and smooth without being too soft, and it's the most opaque lipstick I've ever experienced. It's so opaque that I could just dab it and it would come out true to its color. Let me put it this way: It's as if I've never even used a lipstick until I tried this--yes, it's THAT amazing.
Aside from its texture, the wear is incredible. The finish of #13 Peach Passion is satin, I would say, which is the finish that I prefer. It lasts all day long without fading or dryness. It's also fairly moisturizing--for a lipstick anyway. I would advise not to wear a lip balm underneath, because it's simply going to wipe off the lip balm. So just wear lip balm or Vaseline before you go to bed and your lips should be moisturized by the time it's morning.
But I doubt I'll ever wear this lipstick again due to its color. What I thought would be a flattering warm peachy pink turned out to be too light and too bright, which is the problem with all the other peachy pinks that I've tried. It simply washes out my NC35 skintone. It's too bad, because I was really hoping that Peach Passion would be my HG lipstick!

(Edit: I found a way to make this work for my skintone! I just have to blot it a bit and wear it with dramatic eyes, that's all!)

But it'd be unfair if I lowered the rating for something that's not YSL's fault.
I CAN, however, blame them for its price. It retails for $34. Yikes.
Although the mere fact that this is a luxury brand accounts for its price, I suspect that it could be because of its packaging as well.
The tube that Rouge Volupte comes in is GORGEOUS. It has an extravagant, billion-dollar-looking design that makes my MAC lipsticks look like they came from the dollar store! It looks fantabulous sitting next to all my other fancy products on my vanity (I have an unofficial collection of fancy-schmancy-looking perfumes and makeup that I deliberately place on top of my vanity. No matter that I don't use them--the point is that they look good lol).
Would I repurchase? Yes!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Lipstick products