NYX • Taupe • Blush

rated 4.2(216 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ughlexuh on 4/16/2014 1:50:00 AM more reviews by ughlexuh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I loove this color for contouring. I am an nw20, and little goes a long way on my skin tone. I can see how it is easy for some to go muddy with this product. However, I use a powder on my cheeks first, THEN use bronzer and blush. I find doing that prevents muddyness.
Great for the price as well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ekatt on 4/6/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by ekatt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love the color of this product for contouring. It is a really cool, gray brown that really creates the shadow effect. It's a pretty color for contouring, especially for pale skin who don't want orange tones.

However, I agree with another reviewer about how it's WAY too easy to make this blush muddy on the skin if you're pale. I'm an NC20.I have the sleek contour kit, and while its more "orange and red" in tones, its much easier to blend, and doesnt look as muddy. After I put on my NC20 foundation, I have a pale canvas to work on. This shows up really muddy. And I used my MAC 188 brush, for reference. I think you have to be really careful with this product if you're pale like me, which is not ideal if you want to contour and run out of the house.

The color is nice, but honestly, I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GreatReviews on 4/5/2014 12:25:00 PM more reviews by GreatReviews

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product is the perfect taupe colour to contour with! I'm an NC30 and this shows up on my skin perfectly fine. It has more of a natural satin finish(no shimmer)than a pure matte, which I prefer. When I swatched this for the first time, there was little to no pigmentation and I was very disappointed. However, strangely enough, it shows up on my face brilliantly welll with a dense contouring brush. I also bought Haywire off the recommendation of one of the reviews for fear that Taupe would show up reddish on my yellow skin but it absolutely didn't! I love this so so much it is a definite staple in my makeup routine now!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bhindhazeleyez on 4/3/2014 9:53:00 PM more reviews by bhindhazeleyez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

As a pale girl, I feel that this is the best contour color I have found. I am very fair with pink undertones. For such a long time, I used bronzer to contour, but it often looked muddy or orange on my complexion. This creates the perfect natural shadow contour that bronzer just couldn't accomplish for me. This shade also makes a great eyeshadow contour/crease shade :) Plus, you can't beat the price of NYX products. Love it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lauraasti on 3/29/2014 1:39:00 AM more reviews by Lauraasti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

SO glad I found this product! Like many, I use it to contour my pale face. Previous products I used left my skin looking ruddy and didn't match very well. The biggest adjustment I had to make with this was learning not to put too much on. I was so used to putting on bronzers that were way too dark and having to blend like a madwoman to get it looking perfect. This creates such a natural shadow on the face, I didn't even realize until I piled too much on. Now that I've got it down, I couldn't be happier. Blends very well into my foundation and gives my chubby cheeks some definition! I can't stress how natural this looks on my skin, I must still be in shock from not looking like I smudged dirt on my face anymore. And it looks great in every kind of lighting, which I appreciate. One thing I have noticed is that it can tend to look red from time to time, but I can't remember if it happened to me when I put way too much on, or after I blended the crap out of it more than really necessary. Regardless, sometimes it will look kind of red, but I usually just wipe it off or lightly go over it with my BB cream to tone it down and/or start again. The price is wonderful as well, I'm so glad such a great product is so affordable. I did have to order it online however, which is a bit of a bummer, but that might just be because it's not available in stores in my specific area (I managed to get free shipping anyway). You also get a lot of the product--I've had this for weeks and still haven't really messed up the pattern that all NYX products seem to come in. I even find myself using it before I go run a simple errand, rather than just a special occasion, I just really love seeing it on my face. I'll keep buying this until they don't make it anymore!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Saaraxo on 3/23/2014 7:08:00 AM more reviews by Saaraxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good blush for contour if you have fair/medium skin. This is more a bronzer than a blush. Taupe doesn't has shimmer wich is perfect for define your cheekbones and your face structure. The pigmentation is awesome and you only need a tiny bit of product. The shade is a medium brown . If you have yellow undertones wich is my case you need to be careful because it can look muddy and not cute at all. I prefer using this one in fall/winter because it looks more natural and creates a good shades in your face. I put 4 lippies because it's not my favorite and for yellow undertones I can see what people don't like it so much.
I would buy it again? no, I prefer others but if you have fair skin and pink undertones you will like

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 3/18/2014 3:14:00 AM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Agreed this is a pale girls dream for contouring! I ordered this because I figured why not give it a try because using bronzer no matter how light a hand I used I just wasn't satisfied. On my skin because I'm so fair to me I just wasn't getting the results I wanted. So, when this came I was very happy because this colour works to give you that true shadow. It has a lavender base which is why it can pull red if you put too much on. I just barely touch my contour brush to the product and I get a nice amount. I have to use the smallest amount to begin with because if I over contour my face will look too thin.

So, for me less is more in getting my cheekbones the way I want them. For me I have high cheekbones so I just want some definition and this does that for me. Very universally flattering on most pale tones. I did my friends makeup and she's fair like me but different colourings and undertones and it worked fantastic on her skin as well. As others said if you are not on the pale end of the spectrum I could definitely see this turning muddy. A soft hand though is really all you need. When I swatched it I was impressed at how soft and buttery this feels!

I like using my RT Contour Brush then I blend or buff it out with the RT buffing brush. I use the small brush that comes with the core collection to contour my nose. I then use the buffing brush again. This shade Taupe is making my life so much easier with contouring because being so fair it is very hard to find the right color. If it get's muddy you are using waaay too much! A light hand is all you need to contour with this. So less is more with this shade I have found. I was even mixing shades or blending and blending with bronzer. So this shade is really just fantastic and I wouldn't hesitate to repurchase. Recommended!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3110hello on 3/11/2014 12:10:00 PM more reviews by 3110hello

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

NYX taupe blush is a nice contour powder for fair to medium skin tones. I first heard of it on Makeup Geek and that is where I eventually ordered it from. I think NYX products are good for their price and so was interested to see how is stacked up to other contours and bronzers.

This blush is good to use in the hollow of your cheeks, along the jawbone and to narrow the nose. I mostly find myself using it to narrow my nose. The color is quite light so the effect isn't garish at all.

I especially recommend this to the beginner - someone who is learning to contour. Since it is very affordable and effective it would be great for experimentation!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brelig on 3/11/2014 10:40:00 AM more reviews by brelig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As someone with very fair neutral cool leaning skin, this is the perfect contouring product. It is not a very pigmented blush, but because I am very fair, this provides just the right amount of color, and I can build this up for more dramatic effect if I so wish. The color is an almost red leaning grayish taupe, with no hint of orange. Perfect for me in the long winter months, although I tend towards a slightly warmer contour in the summer. I will often use this as an eye shadow as well, it makes a very natural crease color.

The consistency is fine enough. It's not as smooth or buttery as it could be, but it is not chalky or powdery either. It blends out nicely, which is the most important thing when contouring. It could stand to last a bit longer on my oily skin, but since my face eats most products I apply to it, I can't really fault the product.

If you have a medium skin tone or anything deeper, I can imagine this wouldn't show up at all. If you have a very warm skin tone, I can imagine this looking ruddy or even dirty on you.

I haven't found any other product to match this in both quality and price point, so I will continue to purchase this again and again. It's a staple in my daily routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Momma2myQTZ on 3/6/2014 9:25:00 AM more reviews by Momma2myQTZ

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is the most perfect contouring shade for neutral/cool skin tones in the fair to light range. I wear MAC NW20, MUFE HD 117 for reference. I've repurchased this at least 3 times and will continue to do so. The product blends nicely and is just a touch on the sheer side, making it even more ideal for contouring. I use this with an oval shaped Ecotools brush and the pairing is perfection.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Blush products