Essie • Big Spender • Polishes

rated 3.8(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ekym on 7/27/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by ekym

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

When choosing a new bright pink for myself, I was torn between this and Bachelorette Bash. This is a more mature dark pink, magenta with violet undertones, whereas Bachelorette Bash is a bright, vivid pink very similar to Fiesta (which was the previous bright pink I owed, though I rarely used it for myself, painting my daughters' nails with it instead). I bought both. Big Spender became an instant favorite of mine and my fingers feel naked without it. I love using it as the base color for ombre nails and I use OPI for Sephora in Already Famous (a champagne shimmer) on the tips. Like all Essie polishes, the formula of this is the best. It goes on in thin, even coats, no streaking, and dries quickly. It's long wearing and doesn't chip easily. When I run out of this polish I will buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KellynElise on 7/14/2013 9:21:00 PM more reviews by KellynElise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am obsessed with this gorgeous dark creamy fuchsia. It looks especially nice on toes. Sophisticated and grown-up, but not boring in the least. So, so beautiful. And the formula and wear time of this polish is great, too, as most Essie polishes are. If you have to choose one Essie color, get this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 6/29/2013 11:51:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Very nice and bright summer color. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 princesssjessica on 12/21/2012 9:10:00 PM more reviews by princesssjessica

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this color! It's the perfect plum color for fall/winter. It's actually a bit brighter than a berry or plum which I like because I feel a bit drab with dark nail polish on but this color has been very pleasing to wear. I can't comment on how it chips because I change my nail polish so often but it went on very well especially for an Essie polish. Overall really like it, only knocking it down a lippie for the messiness that comes with removing it, which usually happens with these types of colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBrittanyM on 6/5/2012 1:46:00 PM more reviews by MissBrittanyM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not usually a polish person and when I am, I tend to go with OPI (brush, handle, wear time, etc). But this caught my eye and I snagged it. The color in the bottle is almost exactly what I get with 2 coats... maybe 10% darker once on my hands. I like the creme finish and the wear was better than I expected based on some Essie polishes I had a few years back. I like this shade a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ashnkb8 on 1/6/2012 12:59:00 AM more reviews by Ashnkb8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh idk I wanted to love it as a fun punchy color but didn't . It is darker on hands. It's not ugly just not what I expected.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JennyB1017 on 6/21/2011 2:01:00 AM more reviews by JennyB1017

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this color thinking it would be a pretty summer, berry color. It was much darker than I thought it would be. It is still pretty, but more appropriate for a winter color. I'm disappointed how quickly it chipped. I have noticed that many of my Essie polishes chip quickly though. This saddens me because at the drug stores around town, Essie has many many more colors than any other brand. Overall, pretty winter color but chips easily :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lillybloo on 5/16/2011 9:49:00 AM more reviews by lillybloo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a number of Essie polishes and the quality always seems hit or miss. Sad to say, this one is a *miss*. Looks quite darker on the nail than it looks in the bottle (a common issue with some Essies) and it always chips the next day, if not the same day! The color itself looks like a plummy-fuschia-pink to me, very creamy. I have tried with several different basecoats and topcoats and I just cannot keep it from chipping and peeling. Disappointed. =(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sassysammie89 on 2/9/2011 2:25:00 AM more reviews by sassysammie89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is another great polish on my olive complexion. its a deep fushia color that would look great with an all black outfit

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 planetorbit on 3/15/2010 12:22:00 PM more reviews by planetorbit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

chipped the next day on all fingers

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products