SAMY • Zero Calories Fat Hair Thickening Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 2.5(19 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 AmyScarlettxo on 8/3/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by AmyScarlettxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Just felt sticky and made my hair tangle and also very frizzy

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 zoeD25 on 8/2/2014 4:49:00 AM more reviews by zoeD25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Cheap and cheerful but I wouldn't repurchase. It cleans my hair but it's just a very basic shampoo- nothing to shout about unfortunately

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 torlumieremarie on 12/30/2013 9:45:00 AM more reviews by torlumieremarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shampoo! I have very thick, heavy hair and it works a treat to lift it. I've also found that my hair is much more balanced since I started using it, probably because it's sulphate-free - it used to get oily quickly at the scalp and dry out at the ends, but it feels smoother and stronger and I can skip a wash without needing to break out the dry shampoo. My usual conditioner is a pound shop argan-keratin one that I really like, but I'll consider getting Samy's matching conditioner when I run out.

Other reviewers have said they don't like the smell, but I don't think it's that noticeable? It's a clean minty melon smell that doesn't cling to your hair. I don't think I've had the residue issue, but I'll test that out with a clarifying shampoo.

Prior to this my HG shampoo was BIG by Lush - I think I'm going to stick to this one since it's massively cheaper (£3 a bottle at Superdrug!) and doesn't contain sulphates.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cat1710 on 11/20/2012 1:59:00 PM more reviews by cat1710

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly I would say this shampoo doesn't give me hair a huge amount of volume as my hair is very fine and straight ! On the other hand it makes my hair really soft and stops my hair looking greasy (which it does very quickly), also I don't think it smells bad like other reviewers have said ! Overall I really like this shampoo but not for the reasons I should.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gunzarelli on 10/27/2012 1:51:00 PM more reviews by gunzarelli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

One of the worst results I've had from drugstore shampoo. Smelled okay (a little sweet), lathered well for a sulfate-free shampoo, made my hair feel smooth when I was in the shower, but as soon as it dried? Filmy, waxy, limp and greasy hair. My entire scalp flaked up (we're talking full-on snowglobe dandruff action!!). Volumizing? No. Greasy, flaky scalp, and frizzy, static-y ends. I'm pretty sure it has contributed to the hairline/jawline breakout that popped up the day after using this as well. Don't waste your money. Even though it was only $10CDN, I'm actually going to try and return it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautyskindeep on 3/9/2012 10:20:00 AM more reviews by beautyskindeep

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I used this Shampoo/Conditioner for the first time today and I really like the way my hair looks after. I was hesitant to try it because of the bad reviews but I got it on sale so I figured what the heck. I have just below shoulder length hair with layers and I was hoping to get some more body. Some of the other products I've been using lately have weighed my hair down and you can't even tell I have layers anymore. I blow dryed and flat ironed after using this and I was using impressed with the volume I got after one use, plus it left my hair soft and shiny. I don't notice a filmy residue as some have mentioned, however I do have a couple complaints: First, the smell could be a lot better for sure! It's not repulsive or anything to me but just not great! And second, it didn't lather up that good which isn't a huge deal since the results after styling were good. Overall, I would recommend giving this product a try
I definitely think it depends on your hair if you will like it. Everybody is different, I like it after the first use, let's see if I continue to feel that way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 strawberrydelight on 9/6/2011 1:41:00 PM more reviews by strawberrydelight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo & conditioner a while back, with high expectations. I tried it for around one or two months only to find that it was completely useless.
It has a sickly scent to it, smells overly perfumed.
It made my hair feel so greasy that I felt like I hadn't washed it in days. I naturally do have oily hair/skin but this just made my existing problem 10x worse.
As for volumising, yeah, failed on that point too.
Will NOT be purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mo5050 on 7/24/2011 4:53:00 PM more reviews by mo5050

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was pleasantly surprised when I bought this. I've always been cautious with volumising shampoos and conditioners because all the ones I've tried have left my hair feeling dry and matted. My hair is pretty long so the ends especially need a good bout of moisture, and having knotted bush hair is a big no no, regardless of how volumised it may be.
When I shampoo my hair with this it produces a really good lather and has a very faint, yet pleasant scent. It actually leaves my hair feeling a lot softer than any of my other shampoos and I haven't noticed any residue. Combined with the conditioner, my hair is left feeling very soft and nourished. If I blow dry my hair it does give it an extra boost, but I usually skip this step. Instead I've noticed that despite how soft it makes my hair feel, this shampoo/conditioner doesn't weigh my hair down in the slightest.
I've given this a 3 out of 5 because it doesn't entirely do what it says on the tin. Okay volume, but really nothing special. It works for me though in terms of making my hair feel lovely and I will definitely repurchase :) The one negative I have about this is the packaging, Whilst I love the red tube shaped bottle, the round flicky lid feels a bit cheap - as if it could snap right off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jezah on 10/13/2010 6:05:00 PM more reviews by Jezah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Hm, this product is very up in the air for me. Due to a recent illness I lost alot of hair and needed a product to plump up what was left of my already thin limp blonde hair. I bought this and was at first REALLY impressed with the results. I still am, as for as making my hair look and feel thicker. The major issues are as follows. It makes your hair feel...dirty. I used this about 4 times now and the last time I used it in the shower, as I was rinsing I felt like I hadnt even shampooed my hair. It felt greasy and clumpy still. Not the mention, the smell is less than appealing. Its a bit perfumey in a old lady way.

The other con is the thickening only lasts one day, and once you sleep on it it goes away and leaves your hair looking flat and greasy. I dont know about this, and I think I would buy again but with the understanding that its only to be used once a week and only with a clarifying shampoo the next day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rohmeeja on 9/10/2010 12:30:00 AM more reviews by rohmeeja

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think this does volumize my hair fairly well, the main problem i have is that it leaves a sticky/greasy film on certain parts of my scalp. maybe i am not rinsing well enough but i've never had this problem with other shampoos, so i think its the shampoo. its kind of gross feeling. it also doesn't lather. i'm not sure whether that's a good thing or bad thing but i like lather. probably won't buy again, due to sticky residue film.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More SAMY products

More Shampoo products