MAC • Cremesheen - Modesty • Lipstick

rated 4.5(139 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 TwinkleTwilight on 3/7/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by TwinkleTwilight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My friend got this for my as a secret santa present and I love it and definitely use it often as a lipcolor.

COLOR: First of all the name is pretty good since the colour is understated and not flashy but still noticeable beautiful.

TEXTURE: Feels absolutely great. With some of my lipcolors it'll feel creamy and feel nice but instead patches on my lip that aren't even that dry are accentuated. However with MAC Cremesheen, it feels nice and creamy and looks the same without being overly glossy or looking bad.

SMELL: SMELLS SO GOOD. I'm not quite sure what to pinpoint it as - possible vanilla? But it's sweet and maybe it isn't everyone's cup of tea but I think it's nice which is a bonus.

I'd definitely repurchase this if I finished it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fredrica32 on 2/26/2014 9:16:00 AM more reviews by fredrica32

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have fair skin and full pigmented lips and thought that I could not wear lipstick. Modesty is natural looking and I don't feel like my lips enter the room before I do. I have been looking for this color for years. It would be better if it was a little more moisturizing and maybe a little shiny. Edit: I realize this color is too dark for me. Continuing with the hunt for the perfect color. Beginning to think it doesn't exist.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Allmacedup10 on 2/21/2014 8:16:00 PM more reviews by Allmacedup10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This colour is great for everyday, casual use. It makes my lips look coloured but natural. The only thing I don't like about this lipstick is the texture. The cremesheens tend to look a little cakey throughout the day and not as smooth as the satin or lustre finishes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lumer00 on 12/26/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by lumer00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

On my NW30 skin, this appears more coral nude than nude or nude pink. My lips have a tendency to make colors darker. However, this is my go to lipstick to wear with anything. I've done countless lip combos with this alone, with a liner, with this and a gloss, layered with other lipsticks, the possibilities are endless because it matches with everything. I like the cremesheen finish, not drying at all, comfortable to wear, the only downside is that I have to reapply after a few hours, but that's a given with this finish. I really recommend a lip liner with cremesheens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 11/26/2013 7:57:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just recently picked this up and it was instant love!! I'm a junkie for pale /nude lipsticks, but lately I've been wanting something a shade darker than nude. MAC Modesty fits the bill perfectly. Slightly darker than my natural lip color, it's a perfect neutral lipstick. Creamy texture & great pigmentation! This is one without a doubt, I'll buy over and over!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RosieJ on 10/12/2013 5:00:00 PM more reviews by RosieJ

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think I am one of the few people that can't use MAC Modesty Lipstick by itself. It appears to be a perfect pinky nude in the tube but I'm an NC30 with very pigmented lips and Modesty just doesn't show up on me. Its the exact same color as my lips but NOT in a MLBB sort of way. The only way I can wear this lipstick is if I put Revlon Nude Lustre or MAC Viva Glam V lipgloss on top. That bumps it up a notch where it then looks good on me. I love the cremesheen formula . Its smooth and moisturizing but I wouldn't purchase this lipstick again. I think I will try MAC Creme in Your Coffee next which is similar to Modesty in color but a shade darker.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 micky887 on 8/8/2013 4:50:00 PM more reviews by micky887

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I was shopping in mac today and it was a toss up between faux and modesty ... Guess modesty won and I love this lipstick creme cup has to be my favourite all time lipstick I love pinky nudes however lately I'm trying to get into darker colors im a nc15-nc20 this lipstick on me is a dark pinky brown and its going to be perfect for winter I can't wait to start wearing it more I can imagine this to be an amazing lipstick for darker skin tones I don't think you can go wrong with modesty it's an easy color to pull off

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pivsenlivsen on 7/19/2013 6:24:00 PM more reviews by pivsenlivsen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My absolute favorite lipstick. It is my lip color, a shade or two darker. It's a beautiful red/berry color, works exceptionally well when the fall/winter season is upon us! On my NC20 skin, this makes my lips quite defined with a natural, elegant and slightly sophisticated color. Can absolutely be dressed up or dressed down - works as a night time and a day time color. I love it. Lasting power is great, doesn't leave a ring. I reapply a light coat every 3 hours, just to keep the color on its very best all the time.

Will repurchase forever.

BUT! I have this feeling that this is kind of a hit or miss color, so I advice everyone who is interested in this particular color, to go try it out at a MAC counter. But, if it suits you, you will be forever happy with this one. :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PeggyA on 6/18/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by PeggyA

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've actually had this lipstick for quite awhile but had never used it until the last couple of weeks. I have fair skin and lips without much pigment. This is a very natural, pinkish brown, my lips but better color. Like a lot of other reviewers said this is a great lipstick color that would look good for almost any occasion. There are not many lipsticks that could be described like that. I will definitely repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joanne150406 on 4/13/2013 5:29:00 AM more reviews by joanne150406

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my HG lipsticks. It is so classy and lovely for work that I use it nearly every day. It is quite a natural looking pink colour that looks like my lips but so much better. I find that without a bit of lip colour I can look a bit washed out so this is perfect for me :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products