DHC Olive Virgin Oil

3.7

203 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

olea europaea (olive) fruit oil


on 3/28/2015 10:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

For a moisturizing oil, this is just "ok" in my book. I have already found the HG of moisturizing oil serums, day and night, and that's Lucy Minerals Ambrosia and the Sweet Dreams Ambrosia for night. I've had to accept, through trial and error with trying the oil cleansing method, that my skin just doesn't do that well with olive oil as a moisturizer or as product that leaves a film on my skin.
It tends to break me out. I don't break out at all with Lucy Minerals Ambrosia, and their oil serum actually seems to counteract my natural oiliness. It's a blend and is not olive-based.
This does break me out and makes me oilier. I'll use the product when I'm traveling (sample packets) if I don't want to pack my big bottle of Serum in case it leaks, but I won't use it regularly. I often see whiteheads on the side of my nose going into the cheek/eye area if I use this more than once or twice, and on my chin. This also makes my foundation slide off more during the day.
I love DHC's Cleansing Oil, but that rinses off cleanly. I can't use Olive Oil as a moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/30/2015 1:13:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This olive oil really moisturizes. I have oily skin, but I need something in the middle of winter when the outside temperature is below zero. This does the trick. I don't like the pump dispenser because it dispenses too much product for my face, but people with dryer skin may think that that amount dispensed is fine. (I found that the mini-size actually works better for me because it dispenses a smaller portion, and the cost-per-ounce is less.) It does not irritate my ultra-sensitive skin, and it does not cause me to break out. It is a bit expensive. I tried to save money by substituting grocery-store extra virgin olive oil, but that made me break out...not sure what the difference is between the DHC and grocery store oil, but there is a definite difference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2014 8:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm absolutely addicted to this product. I'm 46 and have been using it for decades. My skin gets clogged easily, but not with this! I'm a HUGE fan of this line, and the products are all so gentle yet effective (this oil is no exception). I use it in the evening, but during the Polar Vortex weeks I was also using it right out of the shower....my skin was so dry and cold that it sank right it and my makeup went on well after 10 mintues or so. I simply cannot recommend this product enough. I've tried everything through the years, including the 500 dollar creams available here in NYC, and I always, always come back to this. A miracle from Mother Nature!! You will NOT be sorry.....try this amazing product!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2013 2:15:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I too, wanted to like this product. I have dry skin, and it's slighty dehydrated making the wrinkles and pores look bigger. Since they quit making my HG cream, I'm on the hunt for something fairly natural and not too expensive. Luckily I got the travel sizes. I liked the way if felt on clean skin, and afterwards, my skin felt moisturized and glowy, but it didn't ever seem to really sink in. Within a few days I had major breakouts, and I know it was the oil. I quit using it, and within a couple days, the zits were drying up and my skin started clearing. I guess olive oil and I just don't get along. Their hand lotion didn't work so well, either.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2012 9:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I really wanted to like this product... I was so amazed by it when the SA told me that I could use it for my hair, face, nails, body, dry patches of skin etc, and I needed only 2 tiny drop each time. I've heard so much about the power of virgin olive oil and its miracles. Unfortunately, my skin does not have the afinity with it. It broke me out badly, and I'm talking about the big swelling pus kind of break outs... Now I know, I can't use olive oil products on my skin. Lesson learnt the hard way...as I tried using it again on a separate occassion and the same thing happened...


on 2/16/2012 10:55:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am totally addicted to this brand's cleansing oil. I've been using it for more than 10 years and I never had the slightest problem with it. I always get samples of other stuff when I repurchase the oil. Most of their skin creams are iffy because they break me out ... except this oil. Like on other occasions, two weeks ago I had an annoying case of small pimples due to another product. I washed my face with Neutrogena's Acne Wash, and treated the pimples with something from Clean&Clear, I forget the name. It helped, except for two SoB pimples which simply refused to respond to the treatment. However, it left my aging oily skin rather on the dry side. In despair, I got hold of this, pumped one drop (ONE) in the palm of my hand, rubbed my hands together, pressed (pressed, not rubbed in) them on my squeaky-clean skin at night, and went to bed hoping for the best. And the best happened. The two little bastards disappeared overnight, and my skin lost its parched appearance, and looked soft and much smoother.


No, don't ask me to explain it. I couldn't, if my life depended on it. All I can say is that this oil saved my skin from pimples on more than one occasion. ONE drop is all you need. Anything more than that is overkill, will make you greasy unnecessarily, and will just be a waste of product. One drop absorbs perfectly well.


I bought the bottle long ago, once when it was on sale (it's very pricey). I'm half-way through it. I keep it in a cool, dry, dark place and it's kept perfectly well for all this time. No cloudiness, no weird smell, nothing of the sort. I only use this at night, on its own, after scrupulously cleaning my skin. It may not work for others, but it works beautifully for me.



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2011 7:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

it seems like people either like this prod or hate it. I got a few samples of this through other DHC orders, and was hesitate to use it...as i already have oily skin, and was afraid that this prod would either compound it or make me break out. It's been a week of my using this as a night time moisturizer and i am happy to report that i didn't get any breakout, nor has it made my skin any oilier. It does feel oily when i apply it on at night, but i just let it soak in while i am sleeping. The result is soft, smooth & almost glowy skin, in the morning. I couldn't believe this. I am definitely ordering this prod when my samples run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2011 11:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My skin always dry. when i use before sleep, then feel skin better next morning. Short time meliorate dry skin status.
I always need it.


on 6/24/2011 7:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have very oily skin and unfortunatly this product was not for me.
It made my skin extra greesy even if I used only a little bit. I used it just before going to bed after I washed my face and used lotion, but in the morning my face would feel so oily!aargh..
It did make my skin softer and I believe this would be a great product for people with dry/normal/sensitive skin.But probably not for oily skin people like me. I love DHC products and I also use their soap and lotion. Those works great for my skin:)


on 4/14/2011 4:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I really like this product as a night-time moisturiser, I use it daily for both eyes and face, and it leaves my dry skin feeling lovely. I haven't seen any miracles but am hoping it will prevent lines as I approach my mid 30's. I'm allergic to rose hip oil but this olive oil works just fine for me.
The bottle is small and compact which keeps my bathroom shelves clutter free.


Popular Moisturizers


Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
442 Reviews
Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Magic Cream
Magic Cream
33 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top