Unlisted Brand • Lavender Essential Oil • Treatments

rated 4.6(76 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 booboondoll on 4/15/2014 12:08:00 AM more reviews by booboondoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Lavendar is an anti-bacterial oil. It kilks acne causing germs. So i put a tiny drop into my murad night cream and apply it o my face and .... whallah! Clear skin! Also if u mix with a teeny drop of tea tree oil and apply to face its more effective. Mywhole family swears by this. We all have acne yet we clearrd it with strict face care hygeine like never touching face, hair outta face, wash face 2 times day, dont wear foundation or powder or liquid makeup, dont apply irritating products to face etc etc and lavendar oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CombatWombat on 4/14/2014 5:33:00 PM more reviews by CombatWombat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

High-quality lavender essential oil is a staple in my herbalist's medicine cabinet. Lavender can be applied neat to the skin for minor burns but should be diluted for any other usage (as should tea tree oil, which must be diluted as it can cause significant scarring when used neat). I've been burned a few times working with molten glass and neat lavender essential oil is the only thing I've found that gives immediate relief and speeds up the pace of recovery noticeably. I also like to mix some lavender EO into pure aloe vera gel for wind or sunburn to take out the heat. Lavender EO mixes nicely into clay or honey masks and yogurt-based cleansers and I find it helpful for my adult acne.

When purchasing any essential oils, make sure that you are indeed buying an essential oil rather than a fragrance or perfume oil. Aura Cacia products are generally good quality and are quite accessible, as are Mountain Rose Herbs's essential oils if you live in the US (shipping EOs internationally is not always possible); Living Libations are excellent quality but priced accordingly. If I can find it, I prefer Tasmanian lavender, as I find it to be especially well-balanced between sweet, herbaceous, and medicinal aspects. I have a bottle of Tassie lavender EO from Aura Cacia that I save for facial packs or neat application, and I'll use less expensive EO to diffuse in my humidifier.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AshaMaria on 4/8/2014 12:51:00 AM more reviews by AshaMaria

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Lavender oil is one of the only two essential oils that can be applied undiluted, directly onto the skin. (the other one is Tea Tree oil). Said that, it doesn't mean it should be used all over the face or skin. It is way too potent for that. But it is a great addition to home made clay masks, hair masks, can be mixed into base creams, lotions or butters (if you are into your own products) or in eye pillows. Undiluted, it is perfect on insect bites and minor burns. A drop or two on the pillow will give you a good night sleep, a drop or two massaged onto temples may alleviate headache. The scent of lavender oil is calming, relaxing, most people find it pleasant. If I was running a dental clinic I'd have lavender oil diffuser in the waiting room :-)
I buy pure lavender oil from wholesale suppliers (www.newdirections.com.au here in Australia) and it comes much much cheaper than these tiny bottles that can be terribly overpriced. I always have a small bottle of lavender oil on my desk at work, and when stressed or tired, rub a drop or two into my wrists.
Make sure you buy 100% pure essential oil, with latin name on the label, not fragrant oil. There are various kinds of lavender oil, depending on the plant (French, Bulgarian etc), but apart from slight difference in scent, they are all good. If you can, look for the organic lavender oil.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 detailswithin23 on 1/31/2014 3:39:00 PM more reviews by detailswithin23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Lavender is a powerful and relaxing herb, but please use with caution. I have always loved the scent, so when I read that lavender oil is good for scarring and blemishes, I quickly ran to pick up a bottle of my own. At first, I believe it helped with some of my picked blemishes. However, months later, I began to break out in a small, red and bumpy rash all over the places I used it, which later would turn into dry and itchy skin (normally, my skin is not sensitive at all). I also believe it caused some hives on my body. I do this oil is great for aromatherapy, though. I would recommend doing a patch test on your hand or arm before slathering this stuff all over your face like I did.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 1m083n on 1/7/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by 1m083n

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a lovely oil and versatile.
I cannot put this on my face, i find it slows down wound healing and breaks me out wherever i put it HOWEVER, i love the smell of some brands. I have bought some cheap and some expensive brands that i hate, it literally gives me a headache and makes me feel sick, but, keep on the search for a good quality one you really like the smell of and it will have all the calming, beautiful mindful effects people talk of.

TIP: If you would like a divine smelling abode, put a few drops of it in your hoover bag and your entire house will have a light fresh scent of LEO, a reward for such a daunting chore.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 12/28/2013 2:03:00 PM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have a stash of about 50 different oils - base oils and essentials - and lavender is by far my favourite. One use I recently discovered is for mild to moderate earache. I put a few drops on a small piece of cotton wool then plug my ear with it. The earache goes within a couple of hours. For more severe pain, warm (not hot) olive oil does the trick (with me, it's almost always caused by hardened wax). I also use lavender oil for insect bites, burns, cuts and sore skin. I can't tell you the number of times I've managed to avoid having to have stitches for cuts by applying lavender oil and watching as my cut heals over a few days. Although some aromatherapists advise you don't take any essential oils internally, I find a drop or two in hot water helps clear up a sore throat. If you can only afford one essential oil buy this one!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mommykevin on 11/12/2013 10:50:00 PM more reviews by mommykevin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i love osadhi lavender essential oil, 1 or 2 drop of it mix with 5ml extra virgin olive oil, stir well and make it as your night cream. if you have acne, take cottonbud, add 1 drop of lavender eo and take it to your acne, it helps reduce your red acne in one night

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* royas784 on 11/12/2013 12:23:00 AM more reviews by royas784

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with lavender oil. The scent literally melts away any stress and lulls me to sleep. I originally bought a bottle of Aura Cacia lavender essential oil (can be found at Whole Foods or other health food stores) to use as a spot treatment for minor pimples. I dab on a tiny bit as a spot treatment and this definitely helps dry out pimples without being overly harsh on my skin.

I sometimes also mix in just a very tiny amount (less than a drop- you can just dab onto a Q-tip) into my toner and/or moisturizer if my skin acts up due to irritation or hormonal acne--I dab the slightest amount onto a cotton pad soaked with Dickinson's Witch Hazel toner, or into my moisturizer. Lavender oil has antibacterial properties and isn't as harsh as other oils, provided you dilute and do not apply too much at once. I also love to dab a tiny bit onto my wrists and inhale the scent before I go to bed- it calms my senses like nothing else.

Be sure to get the 100% pure lavender oil from health food stores- it's worth the extra cost since it has no added ingredients. There are so many uses--from spot treatment, to addition to moisturizer/toner, aromatherapy, dandruff control (if a tiny bit is added to shampoo), etc., I cannot be without lavender oil. It's a staple in my medicine cabinet.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissEElizabeth on 11/7/2013 6:24:00 AM more reviews by MissEElizabeth

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

LouZettie: Here's a wonderfully in depth explanation for why your source is probably wrong. Lavendar oil does more good than harm. :)

http://roberttisserand.com/2011/08/lavender-oil-skin-savior-or-skin-irritant/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LouZettie on 10/28/2013 4:31:00 PM more reviews by LouZettie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I have recently read that lavender oil is not good for the skin, that it, in fact, causes cell damage. So, I will avoid any and all skin care products that contain lavender. As a fragrance and for relaxing purposes, I love it and will continue to use it in that way. I have several lavender plants and put the flowers in satches and also use cuttings in floral arrangements. I love the smell of lavender.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments products