Mally Beauty • Perfect Prep Poreless Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 4.2(42 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sizza911 on 11/8/2014 10:55:00 AM more reviews by sizza911

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this. I have used Too Faced's Primed and Poreless and Benefit's Porefessional and this one is my favorite. It does a great job in giving a smooth surface to apply my makeup and does a decent job blurring pores, on par with Benefit and Too Faced. What I like most about this product is what bothers a lot of people about it--it's the packaging. I like that it is in a pot and I can dip my finger in and pick up just a small dab to put in the area I need it. With the primers in a tube, I find that I often squeeze out too much and then end up wasting product. I know it's a sanitation issue for those who don't like the jar, but I haven't had any issues with breakouts. This 1oz jar of Mally has lasted me twice as long at my Too Faced (1oz) and Benefit (which by comparison is only .75oz) I still have a fourth of a jar left after 9 months of almost daily use. I'll definitely be repurchasing when I'm done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Medlet on 9/10/2014 4:14:00 PM more reviews by Medlet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is worth the money. You only need a small amount at a time. It truly makes your makeup stay on without retouching. It is perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissAnthropic on 7/5/2014 12:55:00 PM more reviews by MissAnthropic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I like this primer because it stays matte for several hours, and because I can apply foundation and powder over it. The other primers I have tried either get shiny very quickly, or impede the application and blending of makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 5/31/2014 3:33:00 AM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am not a big primer person. I personally don't feel like they do much of anything for me. They don't make me look softer. They don't make lines disapear. They don't make my foundation last longer. Usually they just give me acne it seems. They also make my face feel soft, but that is about it. So please take what I have just said into consideration before you buy anything based on my review.


Warning aside I think this a decent primer. It feels smooth on my face. It doesn't get gummy or pill up. It blends on easily with fingers and a little bit goes a long way. It feels luxerious. It feels silicone-y. It feels like a lot of primers. It makes my foundation look a touch better, but it could be my imagination. The thing I like the best and the reason why I gave this such good marks is because it hasn't given me acne. Now I know that may seem weird, but my thought is that if this stuff (primer) that doesn't do much for me doesn't cause acne in me....it might just be a holy grail primer for someone that primer does do something for.


Overall I think this is a well made primer and it does a good job. I don't get the effects of primer other people do (weird body chemistry maybe), but I can tell a good primer vs. a bad primer. It is like a gift I guess. It is just a gift that doesn't give to me.


Overall I think this is a good product....if you can understand why I think so. I think it is worth trying out. I just wouldn't buy it at full prize. You can get it on Mally's online site in a starter kit for about $30-40.00, depending if there is a coupon or not. The starter kit has a full size primer and setting powder. Check that out if you are interested. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pinkpisces0302 on 5/14/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by pinkpisces0302

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's not bad..but i jus don't think it's worth 35 dollars. ..they're other primers that are cheaper n jus as good. .i think the Garnier 5 second blur is comparable to this one. and like 20 dollars cheaper

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IkeaIneedya on 4/25/2014 5:11:00 PM more reviews by IkeaIneedya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is great primer! It smooths my skin and helps my foundation to last a bit longer on wear time. So far so good with no breakouts. The only thing I don't like is the packaging...its huge for 1oz of product. Its totally over sized and bulky and takes up too much room in my makeup bag. Also jar packaging isn't my favorite b/c of germs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sase on 4/22/2014 9:19:00 PM more reviews by sase

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Appearance: The primer comes in a plastic jar which some users may dislike. The packaging is cute with a pink metallic top and clear bottom.

Wearability: It goes on smooth and helps my foundation last all day. You only need a dab to cover your whole face so a jar should last a long time

Cost: I believe it was around 35-40 dollars at Ulta. It comes with 1 oz of product.

Overall thoughts: I've tried several primers and so far this one has been the best in terms of overall effect and longlasting. It also hasn't caused my sensitive skin to breakout at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rp1017 on 2/4/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by rp1017

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I normally use Hourglass as my choice for a primer, however, lately I switched to a different product to cover discolorations and noted that it was looking cakey which is an issue I have never had with Hourglass before ...... I always watch Mally when I see her on QVC because I get a kick out of her and remembered that she had a primer which is sold at my local ULTA so I purchased it ...... I had no issues using the Perfect Prep Poreless Primer when using a different foundation as I had with Hourglass ..... Mally's primer is thicker and thicker foundations and even concealers adhere better than Hourglass (atleast in my case.) I did have a small issue with my thicker foundation at times looking a little cakey ..... I use a small amount of primer and it helps along with my foundation to cover discolorations and more importantly lasts until I wash my face at night. I still use Hourglass, however, when I need more coverage Mally's primer works great but the cakiness does bother me so the search for the best primer for me goes on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 10/23/2013 4:46:00 AM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after seeing Mally hawking this on QVC awhile back. It was during a time when I was going through a primer obsession phase and Mally's bubbly presentation proved to be convincing. I can't recall what online retailer I bought it from but I know I paid over $30 for it which is on the pricey side.

Mally's primer is pretty standard and comparable to L'Oreal's Secrets Face Primer (which I also have). They're both pink, fluffy creams that feel, smell and perform nearly identically. To be honest, I don't really need a primer which is why the ones I bought during my primer obsession phase sit in a drawer. I honestly don't notice a huge difference between wearing one and not wearing one so I skip it now. When I did use this, I really didn't like the feel of it. My skin runs on the drier side and this seems to zap any additional oil on my face leaving it a bit too matte-y. I also didn't care for the feel of it. It wouldn't say it feels totally mask-like like Smashbox primers do but you're definitely aware of the extra layer on your face. I don't recall if this made me break out. I'm sure if you leave it on and head straight to bed there would be an issue, otherwise it seems to work well even on acne prone skin.

I think this primer would be great for someone with oily skin who has to blot several times a day. If you have dry skin and don't know the meaning of blotting, it seems like a bit of a waste and an unneeded extra step. The price is also off putting because it doesn't really do anything better than L'Oreal Secret Face Primer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 10/23/2013 2:32:00 AM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

*****THIS NOW COMES IN A TUBE, AS WELL, ON MALLY BEAUTY'S SITE******

PROS: Fills in pores well. Creates a blurred effect and makes my light wrinkles look MUCH better. Silky smooth (but not oily) texture that becomes matte within a couple of minutes. For the large amount you get and how long it lasts, the price is fair to me. I know it helps my HG foundation (Laura Mercier's Tinted Moisturizer) last WAY longer. The slightly pink tone does not seem to show up, once applied (I'm NC10-15.) The dry part of my combo skin is very dry, but this doesn't mattify me too much, but I do need to make sure my exfoliating/moisturizing is up to par. Found this at one of my Ulta's.


CONS: This almost makes me too matte (dry skin/wrinkles are an issue for me.) I consistently get bad breakouts from this. I hardly every break out from foundations or primers, but I did every time with this one. (See my alternates for the L'oreal primer that doesn't break me out.) Some won't like that it comes in a jar that can be contaminated with fingers. Some hate that so much that they actually take "lippies" off of the rating for that reason. There is a spot for us to rate the packaging, though, so I don't lower my overall rating for packaging.


APPLICATION TIPS: I use a patting motion with this, especially into my pores. I like to apply my foundation quite shortly after I put this on and not wait too long. It helps the foundation look even better. It helps with application being smoother, and it also looks better afterward. I like to pat this into the biggest pores and then smooth the extra around to smooth everything out.


REMOVAL TIPS: If you are prone to clogging, you may want to remove this with a cleansing oil before using your regular cleanser. That may be enough to keep you from clogging from this. (It wasn't for me, unfortunately.)


ALTERNATES: L'oreal Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting Base, but it doesn't make my makeup last quite as long, but I do like that I don't get quite as matte from the L'oreal version (I get almost too matte with this.) I also don't break out from the L'oreal Magic Perfecting primer. Mally Beauty's site now has this in a tube. She also has an illuminating version.




5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mally Beauty products

More Primer/ Corrector products