L'Oreal • Bare Naturale Mascara (Black Brown) • Mascara

rated 3.7(25 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 LszMeow on 1/3/2013 2:43:00 AM more reviews by LszMeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I buy this product at discount stores because I can't find it regularly. (Like Big Lots, sometimes dollar store...) This has been the best mascara I've ever used. It coats very nicely on my eyes, but my lashes are naturally full and really, really long, so I'm not sure how much artificial body it gives. (All I need is one or two coats.) It makes my eyes pop and spreads very easily. My only quip with it is that it tends to flake off at the lash ends after a day's wear. Other than that it's perfect. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 8/11/2012 11:53:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not my HG mascara, but I do like it a lot overall. Firstly, I fell for this because of the beautiful kinda- not tiger-colored- flame colored tube. L'Oreal gets kudos for appearance. But the packaging itself is very cheap-feeling and made of light plastic. Plus, you don't get much product- only .16 FL OZ., which is just a couple hundredths fluid ounces more than sample mascaras. It has a very fine-bristled wire wand, which I think is the perfect size. No clumps. I do like how much product it dispenses on your lashes- maybe not so much as "Naturale" as maybe a little more dramatic. It gives great length and volume for me in one coat. The color is much more natural-looking, and I do have the one in Black-Brown. Honestly, the color doesn't matter- it makes my lashes stand out, so who cares? It does take a while to get it off, though, which is a chore, even with the washable version. However, because of that, it doesn't flake or smudge. It actually is kinda cheap compared to other L'Oreal mascaras- I got mine (in the clearance bin, but I saw the original price tag and it was) for $7. So overall, it is a great mascara, but the name is underestimating the power of this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 glassflowersxy on 2/7/2011 11:35:00 PM more reviews by glassflowersxy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is my go-to mascara. I have the kind of features that don't look nice with lots of makeup, so when I discovered a mascara that would look natural, of course I jumped on it. Only one layer is needed. Any more brushing than that and the mascara feels fake and lumpy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 1/5/2011 1:39:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: VERY natural. Pretty inexpensive. Washes off easily when removing. Brush is pretty easy to use. Tube is decent size for storage in purse, etc.


CONS: Flaked kinda easy. A little too natural for me.


APPLICATION TIPS: Shiseido's primer (even the new one) helps this stay on MUCH longer without flaking. I am a recent convert to using Shiseido's popular curler too.


ALTERNATES: Milani's Runway Lashes gives me gorgeous length/volume (then covered by Clarins Double Fix, to waterproof it) OR The Rocket by Maybelline (also covered by Clarins Double Fix) is wonderful for volume and lots of length. If you already have pretty good lashes (don't need much help), you may like CoverGirl Last Blast Fusion. The new Manga mascara by L'Oreal is fantastic for length and volume that lasts a long time without smudging; I'm kind of in love with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spiderleenie on 1/24/2010 9:41:00 AM more reviews by spiderleenie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is a fantastic mascara for when I want to achieve a simple and natural look. There are some days when I don't feel like wearing any makeup, so I just slap on some mascara and lipgloss, and I'm out the door. This mascara is perfect for those kind of days.


As for how it makes my lashes look, it seems to bring out the best in my natural lashes (especially in this brownish color). It makes them look defined and it helps with holding a curl. It hasn't once clumped on me, either.


This mascara isn't a waterproof formula, so it washes off extremely easily. Non-waterproof mascaras don't really appeal to me if I plan on wearing makeup the entire day, because they have the tendency to flake on me. I haven't experienced any flaking whatsoever after wearing this product for several hours. It gets major points for that.


I think I may have discovered an HG "natural" mascara. It's just enough to enhance my features, but it still looks clean and natural on me. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missglowstick on 12/26/2009 11:24:00 PM more reviews by missglowstick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This is a decent mascara. I got this dirt cheap, so I wasn't expecting a lot to begin with. It's not too volume-y, but fluffs up the lashes decently enough. No flakes or irritation, and it's nice that it has some natural ingredients. I wouldn't repurchase just because there are so many other mascaras out there that do the job equally well or better. But if you find this on sale/cheap...it's worth a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 teekay01 on 10/25/2009 12:56:00 AM more reviews by teekay01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Just because it says Natural doesn't mean it's going to turn you into a hippie girl, so I've come to find. I keep going back to this one after repeatedly purchasing Chanel, Lancome, Dior, YSL, and find the bottom of my wallet instead of great lashes. If you want Betty Draper (January Jones in Madmen) lashes, this is a must try! Batting your eyes is so much more fun with this mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nini2009 on 9/22/2009 10:26:00 AM more reviews by nini2009

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just purchased it...good product so far. Seems to be great for sensitive eyes...it's also hyperallergenic..fiber free..paraben free...it contains 86% natural ingredients plus minierals...it's also safe for people who wear contacts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 summersweety on 5/14/2009 12:47:00 PM more reviews by summersweety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I like this mascara! I bought this product because i wanted something more natural. I did not clump for me and i like the results it gave. I already have long eyelashes so using this didn't seem over exagerating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 5/3/2009 6:43:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this mascara. I have been looking for a reasonably priced, mostly naturally derived mascara and got excited when I saw some good reviews for this one. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to my expectations. It's not a terrible mascara IMO, just so-so. The good: I like that the formula is very smooth, and glides right through the lashes. The brush is nice and soft also. It never irritates my eyes (unusual for mascara) and washes off easily. The bad: It flakes. Every time I wear it. This is a pet peeve of mine with mascara and is the reason I usually go for water proof. Also, I agree with other reviewers that it gives spider lashes, and it dries before you can separate them. Annoying. I think that if L'oreal came out with a water proof version of this mascara I would try it, but I won't repurchase the regular Bare Naturale. The search for a good natural mascara continues . .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products