Vichy Aqualia Thermal UV hydrating treatment SPF15/PPD18

4.1

32 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Aqua ? Dimethicone ? Glycerin ? octocrylene ? butyrospermum parkii butter/shea butter ? Butylmethoxydibenzoylmethane ? drometrizole trisiloxane ? hexyldecanol ? hexyldecyl laurate ? terephthalylidene dicamphor ? sulfonic acid ? sucrose stearate ? silica ? poly C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate ? CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide ? Stearic Acid ? MICA ? Triethenolamine ? Dimethiconol ? methylparaben ? sodium polyacrylate ? sodium hydroxide ? sodium chloride ? sodium hyaluronate ? Cellulose Acetate Butyrate ? aluminium starch octebylsuccinate ? phenoxyethanol ? Tocopheryl acetate ? EDTA ? ammonium polyacryldimethyltauramide ? propylparaben ? caprylyl glycol ? xanthan gum ? acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer ? Butylparaben ? polyphosphorylcholine glycol acrylate ? Polyvinyl alcohol ? butylene glycol ? fragrance.


on 7/3/2015 11:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Overall it is an average moisturizer with the bonus of spf. I was not even going to write home about it, but thought I would inventory this for next time in case I forget.

I have oily skin and was looking for a hydrating formula with spf to replace the Ombrelle I had been using. The texture is light, very faint scent that disappears promptly after applying. This did nothing to control the oiliness, but I was not expecting it to. I was just hoping it would not make it worse. When I apply makeup over it, it does not blend with the makeup, but seems to sit under it, making the foundation feel like a mask. Waiting for it to dry can produce some balling.
The biggest issue however is you have to be careful not to get this in your eyes or you will will be feeling it for a while! It stings like nobody's business and that is a non-negotiable for me. It does not help that I usually use a mineral water spray or apply it while my face is still wet, to maximize the hydration. It might not be an issue for most people, but it is for my eyes so it is a no go for me.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It was a decent moisturiser, though, it caused me to break out like crazy! :(


on 2/5/2015 4:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This review is for the UV 25 european version.

I prefer moisturisers with spf than sunscreens. Sunscreens leave my skin too oily and not necessarily hydrated.
I was first drawn to Aqualia UV due to its very high ppd (uva protection) and absence of mineral oil.
It's very hydrating and pleasant to apply. It leaves no white cast but it does make my skin shine, that is easily hidden with a little powder appplication. There are a few spf moisturisers with less oily residue out there but this one is still much better than most sunscreens.
It feels like a typical shea butter rich moisturiser, if you know what I mean. It proved to make me a bit to oily in the summer, so I switched to another until the winter came. Now that winter is here it proved to be a skin saviour against the very low temperatures, indoor heating and retinoic acid dryness.

I will keep repurchasing, at least for winter time!

The packaging is super, the pump is hygienic and easy to control. Travel friendly.


on 4/30/2014 2:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a review of the spf 25 version. It's not easy to find good moisturizers with spf but this is a good one. It'll work for dry to normal skin types so I use another moisturizer for my oily forehead. This cream has a slightly funny consistency: it both sinks in and doesn't at the same time - it's kind of like a moisturizing barrier between your skin and make-up. It doesn't feel filmy, though, If you have oily skin, it'll definitely make you look like a grease ball but for drier skins, this is great news. No more dry flakes with make-up! Make-up tends to dry up my skin a little in certain places and this is great in preventing the Sahara effect. I can definitely feel this product wash off when I cleanse my face so I'm guessing it'll run if you sweat a lot. So it's probably not the best for tropics but will help out with keeping dryness at bay. The packaging is great and you can control how much of the moisturizer you pump out.


on 12/30/2013 12:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This works wonders under foundation, it's not very expensive where i live. If you have dry skin try this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2013 3:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a review for the latest version that is now SPF25. This is way too greasy and doesn't sink in well. Its actually a light texture but makes makeup slide around way too much and powder pool in all the wrong places. I would say give it a shot if you have dry skin, I have however discovered that it makes a great body moisturiser. So waste not want not and my neck and arms love it but just not my face. Pump is great and no white residue. Shame that it just sits on top of my face and make me shine like a disco ball.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Sadly this moisturizer doesnt work for me. I read tons of good comments about it And I decided to give it a try. To me it takes way too long to absorb specially when I want to put on some make up. And it irritates my eyes so bad!!!! They start itchying And watering. So whenever I put it on I have to be terribly aware of not putting the product Near my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2013 1:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using the Aqualia balm for years and love it. So when I was in the market for a UV day cream, I decided to try this. It's lovely -- sort of a lighter-weight version of the balm, with SPF. It spreads and absorbs very smoothly, and makeup applies beautifully over it. One pump pretty much covers my face and my throat, Very happy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2012 5:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I think this is the highest PPD moisturiser that there is. I bought it for winter in the UK when PPD 18 is more than sufficient but I need more moisture than just a sunscreen on its own. It has kept my skin from drying out from the cold and central heating. It is not as shiny as most sunscreens and is gentle enough to wear on the eyelids without irritating them. I will continue to buy every winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2011 5:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have the European version with spf 15 and ppd 18. I've used this moisturizer for a couple of years throughout all seasons and it works well for my surface dry and sensitive skin. I think it has even improved my skin texture as it appears less dry, with less super fine lines on the surface than 2 years ago. I also use this under my eyes with no problem - it doesn't cause puffiness and keeps the thin dry skin under my eyes well moisturized and the wrinkles less prominent.

I have been outdoors with this and a layer of mineral make-up on without getting tanned. This summer I also added an extra layer of Kiehl's spf 50 when out in the sun. Since being more careful with spf and ppd my skine tone is one shade lighter, perhaps the ppd 18 in this moisturizer keeps pigmentation at bay. Anyway. I am pleased with the results.

During the dry winter months I sometimes add an oil serum underneath, and it works well together with this cream.

The only down side with this moisturizer is that it does leave a bit of a shine. I occasionally I blot before putting on the mineral make up if I want a matte effect. I would give this a 4.5, since it doesn't give my skin as much healthy glow and clear texture as my best cream ever found - La Roche Posay Toleriane riche, which I use at night. If Toleriane riche would come out in a UV version I would use that cream formula with sqalane over this one. But finding a good UV moisturizer is tricky, perhaps this Vichy one is the best one out there, so ok, I'll give it a 5.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1276 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
440 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
199 Reviews
Back to Top