La Prairie • Cellular Cream Platinum Rare • Treatments

rated 2.8(23 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 swtxmimi on 3/31/2014 1:38:00 AM more reviews by swtxmimi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Started using this product December 2012. Received it as a gift from a friend who works in the company and have to say that so far, this is by far one of my favorite moisturizing creams to date. I am fortunate that I have been able to own and use many pricey luxury cosmetics products due to my friends who work in the beauty industry... despite my limited finances, I don't mind splurging on products when I know that it works... and this cream WORKS!! I admit I have good skin, and it generally is receptive to any product I use, however, this being the case, it isn't often that I use a product where I end up seeing a significant difference or improvement on my skin, but with this cream it did. And despite the fact it is only 30mL, it lasted me about 4 months. Just went in and purchased my new one (now as much as I love my friend who gave it to me, I secretly curse her for hooking me on one sooo expensive... hahaha jk jk!). The one thing I have to mention about this product is that you have to be careful with the dosage. With this cream, a little goes a LONG way.... You do not have to slather it on thick, as an even and thin layer spread well is sufficient enough. Looking up some of the ingredients, I noticed the platinum ingredient is a platinum COLLOIDAL. Did some research on it and realized that though there are opposing arguments to its effects, the positive is that colloids enable your skin or body to absorb more of the ingredients and therefore enable the product to be more effective. I've definitely received more compliments from those who see me on a regular basis about how great my complexion looked from before. That's a pretty good telltale sign telling me that this cream is doing SOMETHING right!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* charlies04 on 11/19/2012 8:02:00 AM more reviews by charlies04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love the thick texture of this cream so much so that even though your not supposed to I really like to slather it on. My skin looks very 'normalized', I would say, when using this product but also very plumped as well. I went to a friend's party after using this for about a month, thinking my skin would look better than ever, but when I turned-up and looked in the mirrors my skin looked absolutely aweful, it was so plumped it looked like i'd been taking some kinda medication that made my face fat and took all the character away from my face! I felt so ugly I had to go home. Which I wasn't expecting from the most prestigious cream on the market, lol! The previous year's party, I was using Sisley's All Day All Year cream and felt like I looked a million dollars (in the very same mirrors)! My conclusion is, that even though young celebrities rave about this product, maybe its too much for a young face. I like La Prairie moisturizers but this is totally beyond what my skin needs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hydrin on 9/11/2012 3:11:00 PM more reviews by hydrin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I actually did not mind spending the money for this product .

But WHY would I purchase it again , when it did nothing out of the

ordinary for my skin?



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jillybean04 on 9/6/2012 7:42:00 PM more reviews by Jillybean04

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I honestly cannot believe all of the bad reviews for this product. But then again, it shouldnt surprise me. If you pay attention you will notice the higher end products always have more negative reviews. This is something that annoys me to no end. So many of the reveiws are based on price, so many comments like " paying this much for something, you would expect". I think there lies the issue, people are expecting way too much from these products based on the price tag, thinking it is a miracle in a jar. You have people saving to buy these products and then being disappionted when they are not the fountain of youth. First of all, the review should be based on the product. Second, not trying to be rude, but you should buy products in your price range. You cannot fairly reveiw a product when you have just spent your rent money on it and it did not immediately do something amazing, of course you are not happy with it.
Now about the product itself. This is a pretty decent cream, I like it. It does make my face feel softer and visibly more refined somehow, kind of hard to explain. It is not moisturizing enough alone, so I use it with my other LP products and La mer. I will continue to purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xrysmaxa on 7/5/2012 7:37:00 AM more reviews by xrysmaxa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have mixed feelings about this product. I am a big fun of LP but this product is not enough for someone with dry skin ( especially not for winter). I really wanted to LOOOVE this but unfortunately my skin didn't!! I did buy this cream after trying a sample but I guess after using the whole jar I see that this is not good enough for me. I do agree with others that LP has better moisturizers for less money! But then again it all depends on what your skin skin loves!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 michailkas21 on 5/2/2012 4:31:00 AM more reviews by michailkas21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the luxurious 20g jar! I was full of expectations, that's the most expensive prairie product....Unfortunately this cream let me down. I paid 350 euros for a simple technology cream that has platinum elements in a diamond jar . I didn't notice any difference in my skin only a more radiant look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sheidadentist on 2/27/2012 5:55:00 AM more reviews by sheidadentist

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my relatives brought me a sample of this product from germany,I was very pleased with the texture and smell,very enjoyable,but the shimmering effect I think is done by the mica and silver oxide because the platinum powder is very low according to the ingredients list.
the moisturizing effect for me was not better than Exuviance evening complex,Lierac deridium and even nivea Q10 night cream wich I adore.
For 1000dollars at least they should include more platinum not silver oxide.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 puxa1978 on 2/8/2012 3:45:00 PM more reviews by puxa1978

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The product description on LP website is similar to a bogus science project or a nasty sci-fi movie. I did try a few samples and could not help noticing that this cream has a high amount of mica. When checking the ingredients list why did LP include carnosine when the platinum should be the star ingredient??? Also, why include alcohol when it is a fact that this ingredient triggers irritation. There is no official scientific evidence that platinum aides skin cells but the reverse happens. This ingredient destroys them. Plus,the price is so obscene.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monchichi on 4/22/2011 6:18:00 AM more reviews by monchichi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Note: review is based on a large quantity of samples. I am a loyal costumer of high end products and I mostly go to same store in Belgium so I get a lot of samples. I have used this product over a month and only at night.
Verdict: I am not reviewing the price as I am aware that people who are buying this, price is no issue.
This product is surprisingly light. No buttery texture, not whipped either though. Just exquisite texture which high absorbing benefits. It really penetrates into the skin very fast and leaves it sheeny and calm. Maybe sheeny isn't the correct word, a glow would be better (the platinum). Too bad that you will go to bed after this, cause you look really nice and plump.
Despite it's light texture it moisurizes very well. I like that. If you are surching for a nourishing product you will be dissapointed. My samples are all used and I am happy about the product: my skin is calmer, highly hydrated and supple. For me it works better then Sisleys top product. Smell is not faint and fades easily. I don't now if the platinum works but my skin is really calm, radiant, poreles and wel hydrated (plump). I am planning to buy a jar if I get a load of samples.
UPDATE: I've bought a 50ml jar yesterdag 9/5... Thank god I received many samples from the serum. I hope it works or I will blame myself from not buying a designer shoe at Neiman Marcus (I've posted the shoes and you can see them 'my pictures)! Fingers crossed!
UPDATE: 2/8... I have to use less and less product. It seems that my skin is full of moisture with this product. Doesn't give pimples. Skin looks absolutely well treated. Don't like the silvery cast on my skin. Skin is feeling soft and even. I haven't seen any firming though or other anti aging things. Most easy to see changed point: a skin full of moisture. Very nice. Wil update in the future.
UPDATE: I'm not going to buy this again. I really feel guilty when I see people are not having enough food and I use this 'moderately' good product. I would like to give a bit more on charity. It's just too over the top. 250-300 dollars is enough for a skincare product. It's just not reasonable to buy this...

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 homerjsimpson on 4/17/2011 6:01:00 AM more reviews by homerjsimpson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I mixed this in with my regular LP rotation of nonsense. I used a 50ml sample of the plat rare: it left a glowing film, as if the skin was wet, in the mirror I saw a distinct silky residue - no matter where it was applied to the skin - there was a distinct grey soaked glitter. It made me feel a bit sweaty. Even though I told myself, "this is expensive and should work," I couldn't find a justification for the price. LP is great for me, not this line though, I think the basics are great, I used the hydrating serum as well, maybe this is perfect for someone else?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Prairie products

More Treatments products