Chanel • Double Perfection Teint Compact Poudre Mat et Naturel • Powder

rated 2.9(8 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Ssolay36 on 7/22/2010 2:06:00 AM more reviews by Ssolay36

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I first applied this on my skin, I thought it looked amazing!!!!! It made my face look smooth and flawless. I have many acne scars, and this made them fade away with one simple application... Or so I thought. The perfect flawless look quickly fades after only 20 mins! Makes me break out unlike anything I've ever used. Made me look extremely oily and makes your skin look patchy. Very disappointed. Beware!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leslieal on 12/27/2009 9:12:00 PM more reviews by leslieal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wow - I am shocked that this doesn't have better reviews. I have combo skin and this foundation gives me a beautiful, all-day finish. No oilies on my nose, but I'll have to update in the summer. I am NC15 and bought Vanille, the lightest shade. I can't say it is a match like BB's porcelain or Alabaster (depending on the season), yet it works. Chanel colors can be funny that way, so check it out in store if you aren't sure. Whereas BB's foundations are yellow based, I'd say Chanel is beige-based. You can use this powder with a wet sponge, but dry application does the trick for me and doesn't feel heavy or look cakelike. My skin is matte without being flat and lifeless. Lastly, this product is lasting quite a while. I don't mind pricey products that perform and last - it makes them worthwhile in my book. UPDATE: I am dropping this one lippie because the shade really didn't match good enough to continue use. I am swapping it. I need something lighter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 moshi2 on 5/17/2009 9:08:00 PM more reviews by moshi2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My friend recommended this to me, saying it works very well with her oily skin. Since I also have same oily skin, I thought I'd give it a try. A very nice SA helped me find a perfect color match...I thought I made a good purchase.

Fast forward a week later, I got a huge acne on my jaw. Not only that, it seems the powder didn't not help with oil control whatsoever. I had to blot like 3x a day (normally I only blot once a day). So I decided to return it.

Today, I went to Saks Fifth's Chanel...got a different SA this time, a VERY rude one. She said "You can't return a used product". I said "If I don't use it, how can I know if this works for me or not. I tried this because my friend and the SA told me this is good for oily skin, but I read that Chanel changed the formula and it pretty much doesn't work on my oily skin" She flat out said that "No, formula is the same. What new formula?" And for 5 mins she kept going on and on about me can't return that darn powder. Finally in a very rude way, she did the return and I just walked away and vowed that I will never go to that store again if I see her there.

I give 0 for quality, 5 (expensive) for price, 0 for sales service, 5 (good) for packaging. And I definitely WILL NOT buy this product again nor will I recommend this to anybody else.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cakeisgood on 1/15/2009 2:52:00 AM more reviews by cakeisgood

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was really excited about trying this, but it just didn't work for me. The color is great and is very easy to use. The coverage is beautiful and contains a non-chemical sunscreen; but alas, after a few days I began noticing breakouts. sigh
this item is up for swap if anyone is interested.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* noseofblue on 11/23/2008 6:44:00 PM more reviews by noseofblue

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Dear Chanel: If it ain't broke, don't "fix" it. This is a sorry replacement for the fabulous and discontinued DP Mat Eclat. I don't know what Chanel was thinking, but to replace a nearly perfect foundation with this non-reflecting, coverage-lacking, more expensive and smaller product could not be more stupid. Don't buy this expecting a comparable product--it's not.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stingrae1625 on 11/9/2008 5:03:00 PM more reviews by stingrae1625

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've used the old formulation for the last year, and needed a new one. I decided to check this new formulation out. The one gripe I had with the old one was that it was too powdery/chalky looking...this one has solved that problem. This formulation is much more natural looking from the start, and it also covers better - I'd call it medium coverage with the sponge dry, haven't tried it wet yet. The only gripe I have with this one is the smell. It doesn't have fragrance listed in the ingredients, but it has a weird fruity smell to it. It's not bad, just really strange. It wears very well throughout the day and I can get away without blotting, but I usually do blot anyway because it just looks fresher that way. I've been experimenting with the Teint Innocence liquid with either this or the loose powder over it (love it!), and this compact gives essentially the same effect, but with much more convenience, portability and ease of use. I use TI in Shell, Dior #300, GA FF#2. I used to use this in 3.0 light beige (was color matched in summer), but I'm now using 2.0 tender bisque. it's very slightly pinker than my ideal shade, but it's pretty neutral for my light olivey-yellow skin.
UPDATE (11.26.08):: I had been thinking this looked really weird and couldn't put my finger on why right away. The undertones of the new formulation are TERRIBLE...all of them are super peachy or something. Anyway, I returned it and bought two of the old one, before they are totally gone. I also realized that the coverage is the same....I was just using more of the new one I think. And the old one doesn't smell weird....it doesn't smell like anything. If they go back to the old colors, I'd buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raspberries28 on 10/26/2008 7:57:00 AM more reviews by raspberries28

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was using the mat lumiere liquid and i just thought i might try this. I actually like it better because it absorbs the oil longer, more staying power than the liquid. shade matches good too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 9/15/2008 6:02:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am reviewing the newly revised Double Perfection Compact. Originally, I thought I would just add to/revise my previous review on the DPC, but since the name and formula have changed, I thought it more appropriate to review the newer version separately.

Chanel has expanded their range of colors. Previously, I fell between 1.2 (Soft Beige) and 1.5 (Creme Beige.) The Soft Beige and Creme Beige colors are still available, but now they are 1.0 and 2.5 respectively. As far as packaging goes, they are still in the flat black plastic compact with a sponge to the side, but there is a little less product (previously 0.5 oz, currently 0.45 oz), and it retails for $50USD. Also, the sponge is a little different - thicker and softer.

As far as the formula, the new DPC goes on MUCH silkier and smoother. There is absolutely no chalkiness/powderiness at all, unlike the previous version. It sort of "melts" into my skin and gives a radiant and lovely finish. Supposedly, Chanel made the powder more finely milled, and I can definitely tell. It also doesn't feel as drying to the skin.

I've not tried using this wet, but dry, it gives light to medium coverage. The color that I ended up with was Light Beige, which although it is intensity 3.0, is a little lighter than the Creme Beige 2.5 (go figure.) It seems to match well with my NC25 skin.

I really do like this a lot, and it may just take the place of my beloved Dior Forever powder compact (or at least be a tie!) Now, the only caveat (and sort of what makes the Dior better) -- is that because this new DPC is not as drying, it also doesn't control oil as well, so I do find that I have some oilies on my nose within a few hours.

Overall, I will repurchase when I run out. If you have tried the DPF before and found it too dry or chalky, I definitely recommend giving this new version a shot.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Chanel products

More Powder products