Clinique 3 Step System

2.8

1380 reviews

40% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/18/2015 3:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Please don't buy!!!! Used just the sample set and broke out in hives/acne which has left scarring and is still continuing... after a year! Ugh, worst thing I've EVER used!



on 4/15/2015 1:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used the Clinique 3 step system for combination/oily (3) skin religiously everyday for 1-2 months, morning and evening, and there was no other products added. There was minimal use of electronic devices assisting the skincare regimen, such as the Clarisonic Mia brush etc. My skin concerns are some blemishes, acne scars and oily T-zone.

Content:
Liquid Facial Soap, 50 ml
Clarifying Lotion, 100 ml
Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, 30 ml

Duration of product:
The amount of product given was more than enough for my skin to be able to show some result. Although, I stop before everything ran out because of other reasons so for the duration I give it a 5/5.

Price:
Bought the kit for 285 SEK, which is about 30 USD. I thought it was pretty cheap for the amount of product, so it gets 4/5 for the price.

Packaging:
I quite liked the packaging, it was easy to get the product out and looked cute. Not much to complain about so a 4/5!

Effectiveness of product:
I don't want to bash on products since things like this are individual, but this was probably the worst products I've ever used. The cleanser was really drying on my face and the toner was irritating on my skin (felt like it contained 100 % alcohol), making my skin red. The moisturizer, which I found out later on that it was supposed to be like a "pre-moisturizer" (to be used before moisturizer), didn't moisturize my face at all. I got pretty dry and it didn't keep my oily T-zone at bay. But since I might've worked better with a "real" moisturizer after using it, I rate an extra point rounding up to 2/5.

Overall rating:
Since the product didn't work for me at all, kind of made my skin even worse, I give a 2/5!


on 4/6/2015 9:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I started to use this kit type 2 about 2,5 weeks ago. I just had some dry patches around my nose and a few blackheads in my t-zone and hormonal pimples on my forehead.
Since I started to use these products every morning and evening I got massive breakouts. my skin became so dry and it gave me some really irritated pimples underneath the skin (forehead, cheeks, nose). Even though I never got pimples on my cheeks and nose.
I know they say keep going on and I did.. but seeing these results after 3 weeks I deff quit using it. My skin became so irritated and looks like a vulcano. Very dissapointed in this 3 steps system :(


on 3/3/2015 5:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I honestly wouldn't recommended this to anyone . I originally received the 3 step sample pack when I went to get their powder foundation. At first i used their sample pack for about a week and a half and all seemed alright , it made my skin soft and my skin did look brighter. Anyway, so I went back and bought the 3 step in full size! BIGGEST WASTE OF MY MONEY! I don't even know where to start!! It started to break my out on my forehead and my cheeks, and I thought maybe it's just bringing all the dirty gunk in my pores to the surface then it would clear away? but then I started noticing I was was getting blackheads (on top red pimples), the blackheads were all over my nose, my chin and around my mouth, it was so horrible and disgusting to look in the mirror, my pores were even more visible than before and they seemed very clogged . So I went back and asked her about it (nicely) but I am so disgusted with the way she delt with me , she made it seem like I was using the products wrong then she started saying maybe it's my skin changing . "WELL DUH it's changing due to your product! But it's not a good change". It's such a shame because I do know people that swears by Clinique but it just didn't work for me.


on 3/2/2015 7:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I used this product for about 3 months and at first it was great, made my skin soft and cleared most of my blemishes. After about 2 months though, I started to notice it stopped working. I don't know if my skin just got used to it or what. I liked the first results but at the end I felt like it had been a little waste of my money


on 2/27/2015 12:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I don't know what I most hate about this product? The price or the bad skin it gave me-.- I purchased the type 2 of the 3 step system for dry to combination skin and it made my skin even dryer...and i had very healthy, more lf less pure skin before and thaught with these products i would get a perfect skin but I got pimples all over my face. I really wouldn't recommend that to anybody!!!


on 2/23/2015 3:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So, i will admit that i have not been using this product for that long and this review may be a bit premature, however, i plan to update as i progress on my journey. So, the first thing i can say is that i have always been a fan of Clinique, but because i dont often have the money to splurge on it i can rarely get one of their products. I did run into some money last week however and spent it all on the three step system. This is what i can say so far.
Cleanser: I really look forward to using this product twice a day. i use the mild soap for skin type 2 and it feels really nice. after i wash my face with it my skin is noticably refreshed. the only thing is that on some occasions it lathers better and i think it has to do with the tempature of the water which i have yet to figure out. other than that i like it. it isnt a fancy face wash designed for anything other than getting the dirt off of your face so dont expect anything amazing within the first few days, its a process.
Toner: I like this stuff because of the tingly feeling, however i did realize it is because of the menthol wich outs me off a little. however i do still enjoy this step very much and it feels super clean afterwards. it does dry me out a little bit, but i can handle that.
Lotion/gel: so i got the gel for type 3/4 a long time ago because it was summer and i was super oily, but now im dry. i still ue it however and i do like it, my only problem is that it isnt thick enough for my dry patches around my noes and upper lip. that is easily fixed however with this sample of another lotion i got that i just put ontop of it. I like the texture of this lotion however and it feels really good afterwards.
overall my skin is slowly improving and my friends are commenting that it looks more even. i still have some pimples coming up but i assume its because its purging the bad stuff... i hope haha. i like this skin system and use it as directed. i hope it works because i spent a lot of money on it and it would suck if it didnt.


on 2/20/2015 1:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I purchased the "3 Step System" hoping to achieve balanced skin and keep breakouts at bay. The system comes with a cleanser (I chose the pump version instead of the bar because I think it is way more sanitary), toner and moisturizer.

Within a week my skin felt unbalanced, dry and irritated - the exact opposite from what I wanted. From here I dug a little deeper into researching the ingredients of the products and these are the problems I found:

Cleanser:

-I actually didn't mind the cleaner but still had that tight feeling to my face after I used it, which was not relieved by the toner or moisturizer

Moisturizer:
-Contains mineral oil, which clogs pores
-Contains colourants, which could potentially irritate the skin

Toner:
-Contains a drying mix of alcohol and salicylic acid
-When the lid is opened all you can smell is rubbing alcohol

Conclusion: This didn't work for me because I have sensitive and acne prone skin. The worst thing one can do is dry out the skin, which causes all sorts of problems including wrinkles and the over production of oil resulting in more breakouts. For those of you considering purchasing this product with acne prone skin I advise you to reconsider - Instead of drying out breakouts it is actually better to apply moisture, which allows the skin to heal and creates a happy, balanced environment. After this I switched to a more natural range of products and my skin healed up in no time!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

BEWARE SENSITIVE SKIN!!! My mom (strong holding skin) swears by the system. Sensitive skin/dry skin CAN NOT HANDLE THE 2nd step (skin cleaner)!! It is very very very drying on those that have hypoallergenic skin or cracking skin. It burns badly. Strong skinned, look into this to determine if it will work. Others, please don't waste your money!!


on 2/12/2015 3:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I tried this as a teen back in the 1980's and I tried it again in my early forties a couple years ago and it is still crap (imo) and made my skin a total wreck!!

First off, I would say do not buy into their 'theory' that the product will 'lift' the junk from several layers beneath your skin, which they try to say is why it makes your skin break out badly when you first try this. They say to give it x-amount of time. That is their 'selling' theory.

I beg to differ...
First off, it is pretty impossible for a surface product to reach 'several layers' beneath your skin. I am no scientist, but then again, I do not don a white coat in a department store and pretend to be one. But their 'theory' and selling point to me is hogwash, sorry...

I suppose after x-amount of time it could be possible for some skin to 'adjust' to the product and the breakouts might stop. Maybe.

But for me, it played total havoc on my skin.
When I tried it again recently in my 40's, the toner caused some severe large breakouts, BAD, painful breakouts, in particular re-occurring on my nose. Nice . I took it back to the Clinique counter and they again gave me the spiel of how I am supposed to give it x-amount of time (I gave it a good two weeks, and in all honestly I think it broke the skin down on my nose, as it took me several months, almost a year, to get my nose looking 'right' again. Yeah.) and they tried to exchange it for the 'milder' toner (they first sold me the #2 toner). Here is the thing. Their toners have alcohol as the first ingredient. Alcohol can make skin, especially sensitive skin, very 'angry'.....Alcohol, to me, on sensitive skin, does not belong on the face, especially not as the first ingredient.

I would say do not trust the white coats. They are just average girls working in a department store, trained to push this stuff. And hypo-allergenic and all that other hype is often just that.....hype.

The cleanser I felt did not really 'clean' my skin.
And the moistuizer..what..?? My skin if anything only needs a very light moistizer, and this did not even provide that for me. If anything I suspect this moistirizer merely clogged my pores. I even gave it a chance on my somewhat dry hands, and it did nothing at all to moisturize. The only reason I gave it 'another chance' in my 40's is because I believe sometimes what does or does not work will work later. Boy was I wrong, and my skin sadly paid the price for it!!

I would suggest if you have really troublesome skin, it is best to see a dermatoligist. These products might make your situation worse.

I did not have terribly troublesome skin, sensitive skin, yes, but not 'troublesome' skin..not now and not as a teen. An occasional break out, maybe, but not 'bad' skin. This gave me 'bad skin'!!

Also worth noting, I was given quite the hassle when trying to return this, so be sure you really want to try this product. I can't remember what I did with it as a teen, I think it sat in my closet forever, unused for a very long time after it made my skin such a mess, until I tossed it in the garbage. But for me, trying to return this was difficult....to say the least. So proceed with caution if you want to buy this or try it out. I even had my receipt, crisp and perfectly flat and not wrinkled or anything, and was returning it well within 30 days. So their returns are not hassle-free.....at least not IME.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1286 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
181 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
102 Reviews
Unblemish
38 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
280 Reviews
Back to Top