Ralph Lauren • Notorious • Fragrances

rated 2.8(87 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.35%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lossea on 10/26/2013 6:56:00 PM more reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I went through half the reviews on Notorious here on MUA, and am shocked by the vastness of opinions about this fragrance. Some say it's very masculine, some - quite feminine, some - unisex; some say it's very unusual blend of scents, others - that it's cheap and non-original; some people are very impressed, some don't really care, and some absolutely love this fragrance. I feel like this scent must blossom completely differently on different people to have such widely varying reviews.

To me, Notorious is the most unusual and beautiful fragrance that have unfolded on my skin. From the first time I came across this perfume in a magazine, I couldn't stop thinking about it. I would rub the sample on my wrist and enjoy it for hours. This scent felt so deep, special, and unique. I think it is a very feminine scent, one that carries a statement of confidence, sexiness, and warmth, but it may also be well suited for males; I have just never thought of it that way. I ordered a big 2.5 oz bottle, used it all up and never got bored with it. More than anything, I enjoyed it because I got surprising compliments. It made me feel like the scent blends very well with my body chemistry and people find that it suits my personality.

This scent, for me personally, displayed a very good staying power, which is something I usually don't have luck with. It's a rather deep, oriental scent and, once again, unique at that. To me, Notorious is not a perfume that can easily blend in with most personalities, like so many "clean" perfumes can. The notes that captivated my attention the most are of black currant and Italian bergamot, and I enjoy carnation and soft vanilla that blossom. It is quite overpowering upon application, but settles in very nicely. I have not used this fragrance in almost a year, and I find that I miss it.

*12/9/13: I got myself a bottle since, and have gotten compliments... :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 booda on 1/31/2013 10:45:00 AM more reviews by booda

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

All I can say is "Great Grandma, Can I borrow your perfume "?

Blech!!!!

(ok, could be my body chemistry cuz it smelled ok in the bottle.. but just sayin')

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 11/5/2012 7:18:00 AM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This one has lasted about a minute on me. I have used up a 30ml bottle in a week!!! Those who know Coco M and So Elixir from Yves Rocher will most likely agree that Notorious is not so distant a relative to both. Corporate it is ( thanks to the masculine note ), also sparkly and light ( thanks to the citrus essence ), but it doesn't make it there into the rang of Chanel, and it is neither cheap nor cosy enough like So Elixir. If it had ANY staying power at all on me - I would have probably even considered wearing it to the office in autumn ( for me it seems to be best suited for those days ), but being a brunette, I am almost sure that it would suit a blonde much better, especially someone, whose skin does not absorb every scent's molecule at a remarkable speed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 YoHarajuku on 6/4/2012 1:43:00 PM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love! Love! Love! My HG fragrance along with Shalimar. Lingers on my skin all day long and makes me feel so expensive. Can't fathom the negative reviews, I just hope and pray they don't discontinue this. I get the feeling this is more fragrance for perfume lovers rather than the masses who happily buy celebrity endorsed garbage.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yettb on 4/16/2012 6:39:00 PM more reviews by yettb

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Green    

This is great and I think it does represent it's name well - it is like a diet coke with a slice of champagne cake and a bite of chocolate on a silver fork - there is a cola, champagne, tiny metallic note and a little chocolatey whiff The pink pepper at the beginning goes away very quickly but it is nice and a bit fruity at the first whiff. It reminds me a little of Noa after the dry down but more exciting. I do think it would be appropriate to wear day or night as it seems to stay pretty close to skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fragrancelover2 on 1/12/2012 8:50:00 PM more reviews by fragrancelover2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have 3 of these in 1oz size,1.7oz size and 2.5oz size with a full size lotion. I like it a lot its different and classy to me. Not an everyday scent only special occasions or going out it is chocolately and spicy an odd combination but it works well together. I hope its never discontinued.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* habakuktwo on 8/14/2011 10:26:00 AM more reviews by habakuktwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This smelled like a mens fragrance I brought it off ebay and looked it up to check to see if it actually was. One spray and I hated it. This is so strong this would be great for a guy who likes to wear womens fragrances.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rosbergs3 on 7/20/2011 6:03:00 PM more reviews by rosbergs3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I dont think i have ever seen such polar opposites in perfume reviews as i have for Notorius. Now i'm going to add my reveiw for it and it is not going to agree with any of the posted reveiws either. When i think of this fragrance and when i spray it on i think of kumquats. Big, juicy kumquats. I dont think i have ever smelled a kumquat before but that is what Notorius makes me think of. Maybe i think that because it has a big blast of citrus at the opening and its unlike most citrus fragrances out there. I wore it today and afer it had been on my skin a while i started to catch whisps of bright, sunny lemons. I dont in any way sense even a smidgeon of chocolate though. Maybe a little musk though. Also, i dont really catch a masculine vibe with Notorius either like other reviewers have stated. Just one big juicy fruit vibe....kumquats. LOL!!! It is an offbeat little scent that is very nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* honeystix on 4/16/2011 9:57:00 AM more reviews by honeystix

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is such a beautiful fragrance! I tend to like foody scents and clean ones, and this is a combination of scrumptiousness and cleanliness to the max! It reminds me of a classic Coca-Cola with a sliver of lemon adorning the glass but not squeezed in. It's Christmas snow viewed from a warm home, with sweet things in the backround. Love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 antipopprincess on 4/7/2011 3:03:00 PM more reviews by antipopprincess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG fragrance. I don't know much about the breakdown of notes, etc but I would say it would be classified as a woods or oriental. It's a masculine spin on a feminine fragrance. I love the dry down on me and it seems to last a while on my skin (I also layer with the lotion so this probably extends the life of the scent). I think it is a very beautiful perfume.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ralph Lauren products

More Fragrances products