Estee Lauder • Private Collection Amber and Ylang Ylang • Fragrances

rated 3.8(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 2/5/2013 5:42:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Liked it but didn't fall in love. A great smooth sophisticated fragrance. In my opinion expensive and exclusive perfumes need to have a punch to justify the cost but this just doesn't have it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MariaEffy on 12/31/2012 7:10:00 PM more reviews by MariaEffy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Warm, intimate and inviting, the perfume's basic notes are ylang ylang and rich amber, accentuated with sandalwood and vanilla. Often I find that after a while I find it smells like...cake! Which is not a bad thing :)
It stays on for al ong time, but close to the skin, it's not the type of perfume that fills the entire room. In my opinion this is also a good thing, I don't like my perfume to be overpowering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dioraddict84 on 11/20/2011 11:29:00 PM more reviews by dioraddict84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is a really great sexy scent from Lauder. It's harder to find but worth it once you do! It has all the notes I love in a spicy fragrance, oriental, whatever you call it. This is simply sublime!

op Notes

Ylang Absolute
Italian Bergamot
Geranium Oil

Middle Notes

Bulgarian Rose Absolute
Cinnamon Ceylon
Incense

Base Notes

Vanilla Bean
Sandalwood
Amber

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StationaryBikeFatty on 12/28/2010 8:20:00 AM more reviews by StationaryBikeFatty

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Loving this scent. A reviewer below me described as a "cuddle scent", which I tend to think of as a skin scent. My favorite fragrances are Bulgafi Jasmin Noir, Prada and Tom Ford Black Orchid. However, all three of these fragrances are difficult to wear during the day. I love that Amber Ylang can be worn during the day as a deep amber but doesn't have the same potency those other fragrances have that makes me shy away from them as day scents. (I work very closely with clients and children and cannot wear something that would be off putting toward anyone.) This fragrance however is not so insipid that it fades or loses fragrance quality as the day goes on, nor is it an "easy" floral.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 9/19/2010 8:53:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A very pretty feminine amber. Some ambers, to my nose are very masculine; this one is very feminine without being flowery. It's creamy and sweet(er) but not too sweet... and the ylang-ylang takes the amber to a very feminine level and makes it all woman!! Again, without being overtly floral. An almost edible scent. Best for cooler weather. Gorgeous as a cuddle scent; it's a very nice, pleasing scent that I don't think would offend anyone, unless it's oversprayed. Super long lasting and even detectable the following day on skin, as well as, clothes. However, I agree with the reviewer below that there's nothing unique enough to earn it 5 stars! 4 is really good for me and I still vote it full bottle worthy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tabloid on 3/4/2010 2:10:00 PM more reviews by tabloid

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like it but I don't love it - it's a soft, warm, cozy scent which is quite pleasant (damning with faint praise?) but it doesn't have that WOW factor which makes a fragrance unique and unforgettable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Eiomer on 3/1/2010 4:04:00 AM more reviews by Eiomer

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I bought this perfume online completely blind!! I had never had the pleasure of smelling it. In the UK it is only available in exclusive department stores and I live in rural Herefordshsire ( bit like Hobbiton!) and as I am of a spontaneous and impatient nature I bought it on it's description alone. I have the habit of finding my signature scent only to find it gets discontinued eg Aroma Allegoria Exalting by Guerlain and Winter Delice also Guerlain. So you can see where I was coming from being desperate to get my hands on AYY. It was delivered this Friday. Waited until Saturday morning bathed and excitedly sprayed all my pulse points. Now, I am not as olifactorily sophisticated as you lot, I do not know the terminology forgive my ignorance please; I was immediately intrigued by the ( I can only describe it as sophisticated and aromatic) burst of this fragrance. Look I cannot even properly distinguish amber from ylang ylang - I know, I know all your eyes have just went to the ceiling and yes I am of the certain age where I type every syllable because I do not do text speak. But please just bare with me. The "dry down" as you lot describe did not excite me, do not get me wrong it was pleasurable but not exciting. I went to a party that evening and spent the whole evening sniffing my wrist, comparing the scent that lingered on my cashmere sweater dress( yes really a cashmere) and yeah it complimented one another . I lost the fragrance for a few hours completely. when I found it again it was warm amd comforting, the lovely powdery vanilla that lingered towards the end of the evening haunted me somehow and I still can't place it. Look, to cut a long story short (if there are any of you still with me!) I am still out on this - yes I like it is very well made that I do know, I wanted to love it and I am still trying to love it. I felt peaceful wearing it - do you know what I mean?? My husband did not even comment at all, he always homes in on new fragrances.

Can any of you point me in the right direction on finding a replacement for Aroma Allegoria Exalting????? OMG I'd so be your best friend and my bank manager would also be your best friend!!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smake on 2/3/2010 5:55:00 PM more reviews by smake

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

gorgeous.
a warm spicy blend of ylang absolute, cinnamon, incense, vanilla bean, sandalwood and amber. I agree with other comment - this has probably more staying power in the parfum, but is 4 times the price of the edp spray that i have. I have taken a lippy off for this reason.
the small glass bottle is minimal, with a hammered gold cap - nice. I was looking at buying the mj Lola and found this by accident, glad that that happend.
btw the lola bottle design is atrocious imho.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 10/17/2009 5:31:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Very nicely done and smooth - almost to the point of doing itself a disservice.Warm and cozy but doesn't impress me enough to be FBW.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Angela1013 on 9/11/2009 7:15:00 PM more reviews by Angela1013

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in edp, it is quite sensual and morphs in different fazes of creamy amber, musk, moss, ylang ylang gives it a supple sweetness but the dry down is just a powder scent. I first sampled the perfume spray, the notes are more refined and long lasting with an incredible dry down, which is why I purchased the edp not realizing it wouldn't be the same experience as the perfume. The pure perfume spray is the way to go with this one and is as large as the edp and well worth the price imo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Fragrances products