Chanel • Beige • Fragrances

rated 3.9(47 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 debrsl on 11/30/2014 2:48:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A nice tropical floral which brings to mind Micallef's Ylang. However, Beige has a honey note present that is in Ylang. Ylag, in contrast, is more much creamy. Beige has a slightly fruity note to it in the heart that I don't really enjoy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 queenofthenile on 11/13/2014 2:30:00 PM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was totally disappointed by the scent of Chanel's 'Beige'. I found it to be a very basic, forgettable floral/nectar scent with poor lasting power. When you couple that with the exorbitant price, I can't for the life of me understand why it's so highly rated and sought-after.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lemonlye on 9/24/2014 11:05:00 PM more reviews by lemonlye

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

White florals and honey: sounds like it would be a disaster on me, so I'm surprised to find it isn't! It's like they know what they're doing over at Chanel or something. This actually smells like a fresh flowering shrub, with of course a good dose of old-fashioned elegance. (Chanel, after all.) Cozy and fresh and pretty, and never turns weird on me. Reminds me almost of a soft green scent, like Shiseido's Relaxing smelled on me, rather than a white. I *might* want more of it. Very intriguing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cocochanel4ever on 6/23/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by cocochanel4ever

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Chanel Beige was my blind buy and I'm very happy I bought it. I love it a lot. It's yellow flowers and honey perfume, so rounded and smooth. Would be appropriate for any situation. If I can't decide which perfume to wear I always reach for Beige. Staying power is not that strong, I wish it lasted longer, i only can smell it for 3 hrs. I didn't have chance to smell Beige in parfum form, but plan to add it to my collection, since I love it so much in edt form. My friend, who doesn't like any Chanel perfumes, loves Beige a lot and always tries some at my place. I will absolutely repurchase it again once I finish my bottle. This is one of the perfumes I don't get tired of. Must have for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mereley on 6/18/2014 6:14:00 PM more reviews by mereley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love Beige.

I mean I really, really love it.

Which is shocking to me because I thought I would hate it. I'm not usually a huge fan of white florals, and the mere thought of tropical white florals (frangipani in this) is enough to make me want to shudder. I'm also not a fan of sweet or gourmand scents, so the idea of a honey note on top of all those white flowers was enough to make me stay far far away from this for years. But oh, how wrong I was.

This is inarguably a masterpiece. Yes, I'm biased, but seriously: how they took those notes and made something so light and pretty, well I'll never know (although I suspect it must be the hawthorne), but truly, the magic of this compilation is the mark of an extremely skilled artist. Is it retiring? Perhaps a bit. But I don't see that as a bad thing. Rather, I find it's refined elegance immensely refreshing. There is literally nothing else on the market that smells like it. It's not a big white floral, nor is it an intoxicating oriental, so for those that prefer such rather bold fragrances, I get that this isn't your thing. Although it is a "floriental" at heart, it's really a skin scent. It doesn't smell like perfume, but rather it adheres and smells like "you", which is what I think makes so many reviewers want to call it "classy". It suggests that you are just so chic (and so wealthy, with the bath products and laundry detergents to match) that this is just what you happen smell like all the time, before you'd perfume on in fact. Far-fetched, I know, but it's true.

I could easily (and do) wear this every day because it fits literally every occasion. It's subtle enough that I can get away with it first thing in the morning, but special enough that I enjoy wearing it for an evening out as well. To those that call it bland, I must strenuously disagree. Bland, to me, is another of those department store fruity-floral flankers that come out on a bi-annually basis. This is complex. It's light and clean, without having the prescribed citrus opening. It's floral and feminine, but not overwhelmingly so, without any of the indole, headiness or sweetness that one might anticipate. And perhaps most notably, it's dry-down is warm and deep, so much so that I look forward to wearing this in the winter (although it's perfect for summer, too), but neither does it have that expected sandalwood/vanilla/amber heaviness to it that many other's in the genre do. In that way, it does share similarities to Chanel's own Allure, but I far prefer this -- it's much more delicate and unexpected.

So yes, I would buy this again. In both sizes. And the parfum, too. Plus an extra of each just to make sure I never run out. Because as I first said, I love Beige. It's me. It's how I always wanted to smell.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfelettem on 5/6/2014 5:25:00 AM more reviews by elfelettem

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I have a decant of this, solely because I was intruiged by the name and then swayed by the reviews. I am so glad I bought it and plan to buy a full bottle when I finish the decant.

I could virtually write ditto to CharismaSL's review and comments re; Beige below, I wont but this will be brief.

For something so sweet smelling its amazing that it also smells so 'natural', well not natural but it does seem to merge skillfully into my own skinscent.

Very long lasting, I'm not sure of sillage in terms of what other people can smell but I keep getting little whifts of it all day, and even after a shower it lingers. Love it, will buy a full bottle and keep buying unless something drastically changes with it or my skin chemistry.

As always I wouldn't recommend buying a full bottle wihtout trying first, but if your skin likes this scent then I think you'll be wearing and repurchasing often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 11/19/2013 9:25:00 AM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

'Beige' mixed with 'Gardenia' is my ultimate favs of the collection. I love Chanel perfumes to begin with but this very 'ME'. It somehow mixes so well with my body chemistry that it actually smells like I and the perfume are one (if that makes sense). I am not very good with notes plus everyone else has done a wonderful job describing them, but i will say that it is a very unique fragrance that is absolutely worth the $240 for the 200 ml bottle. I am not into 'eau de toilette' versions of fragrances but this collection is an exception. What i love even more is that it lasts about 7 hours on me which is fantastic for an eau de toilette. This is a very sophisticated, classy, luxe, warm, comforting, clean (not soapy or laundry clean), and rich fragrance. I am in total love. I wear this all year round. Definitely repurchase!
Btw i do like to wear 'Beige' on it's own as well but i try not to wear 'Gardenia' on its own as much beacuse i find that it is too strong by itself.
My other favs include 1932 (which is supposed to smell like 'jewels' and I agree), La Pausa, Bel Respiro, Cuir de Russe (or something like that), and Cormandal.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SickSexFix on 10/15/2013 1:22:00 AM more reviews by SickSexFix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I'm so sad, so very sad this didn't work out for me. I sampled it and wore it to work (at an office) and while it is a very unobtrusive, work-friendly scent, there isn't much projection and well... character. Don't get me wrong, it's very lovely and understated and would work for all occasions but as the day went on (and as I dabbed it on again and again, desperate to chase down and cling to it - it doesn't last long AT ALL) I kept trying to place this one note that was on the tip of my tongue. I'd be sniffing my wrist constantly trying to figure it out. I loved the scent, I truly did.

Finally, at the end of the day, it came to me. Bug spray. Now it's all I can smell when I wear it. (sadface) Oh well, there are more interesting fragrances in the Les Exclusifs collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lurketylurk on 7/14/2013 1:40:00 PM more reviews by lurketylurk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Beige reminds me very, very much of Chanel's Gardenia. The notes for this one are freesia, frangipani, hawthorn, and honey, but like Gardenia, it is nigh impossible to pick out individual notes in Beige. It is very well blended, opening with white floral flair tempered by hawthorn, lending it an almost sour vibe. I don't find it too heady, but it's certainly not dull. After a few moments, the drydown becomes almost chalky, and gradually verges toward a slightly soapy, soft white floral. I can see how Beige would be utterly beautiful on the right person, and I think it's something I'd recommend to almost anyone who liked florals. I can appreciate it, but, like the color, I don't think it is at its best on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 9/3/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of Beige from a generous MUAer and I'm very appreciative of her generosity since where I live I have no access to any of the Les Exclusifs. Beige is a multi-faceted, sparkling, warm light floral scent. It opens with freesia and dries down quickly to a warm honeyed-floral skin scent that stays multi-faceted. From one moment to the next is varies between honey, floral and a clean soapy scent. It's fresh and warm at the same time and smells very distinctly Chanel. It's classy and very office friendly.

When I think of the color beige I think of simplistic and universal. Although the scent Beige could be worn by anyone for any occasion and is therefore universal, it's not simplistic at all. After the dry-down it smells differently at different times. This scent has unique character and smells like nothing I've experienced before. I highly recommend Beige and plan to purchase a full bottle soon.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Fragrances products