Chanel • Beige • Fragrances

rated 3.9(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 11/19/2013 9:25:00 AM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

'Beige' mixed with 'Gardenia' is my ultimate favs of the collection. I love Chanel perfumes to begin with but this very 'ME'. It somehow mixes so well with my body chemistry that it actually smells like I and the perfume are one (if that makes sense). I am not very good with notes plus everyone else has done a wonderful job describing them, but i will say that it is a very unique fragrance that is absolutely worth the $240 for the 200 ml bottle. I am not into 'eau de toilette' versions of fragrances but this collection is an exception. What i love even more is that it lasts about 7 hours on me which is fantastic for an eau de toilette. This is a very sophisticated, classy, luxe, warm, comforting, clean (not soapy or laundry clean), and rich fragrance. I am in total love. I wear this all year round. Definitely repurchase!
Btw i do like to wear 'Beige' on it's own as well but i try not to wear 'Gardenia' on its own as much beacuse i find that it is too strong by itself.
My other favs include 1932 (which is supposed to smell like 'jewels' and I agree), La Pausa, Bel Respiro, Cuir de Russe (or something like that), and Cormandal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SickSexFix on 10/15/2013 1:22:00 AM more reviews by SickSexFix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I'm so sad, so very sad this didn't work out for me. I sampled it and wore it to work (at an office) and while it is a very unobtrusive, work-friendly scent, there isn't much projection and well... character. Don't get me wrong, it's very lovely and understated and would work for all occasions but as the day went on (and as I dabbed it on again and again, desperate to chase down and cling to it - it doesn't last long AT ALL) I kept trying to place this one note that was on the tip of my tongue. I'd be sniffing my wrist constantly trying to figure it out. I loved the scent, I truly did.

Finally, at the end of the day, it came to me. Bug spray. Now it's all I can smell when I wear it. (sadface) Oh well, there are more interesting fragrances in the Les Exclusifs collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lurketylurk on 7/14/2013 1:40:00 PM more reviews by lurketylurk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Beige reminds me very, very much of Chanel's Gardenia. The notes for this one are freesia, frangipani, hawthorn, and honey, but like Gardenia, it is nigh impossible to pick out individual notes in Beige. It is very well blended, opening with white floral flair tempered by hawthorn, lending it an almost sour vibe. I don't find it too heady, but it's certainly not dull. After a few moments, the drydown becomes almost chalky, and gradually verges toward a slightly soapy, soft white floral. I can see how Beige would be utterly beautiful on the right person, and I think it's something I'd recommend to almost anyone who liked florals. I can appreciate it, but, like the color, I don't think it is at its best on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 9/3/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of Beige from a generous MUAer and I'm very appreciative of her generosity since where I live I have no access to any of the Les Exclusifs. Beige is a multi-faceted, sparkling, warm light floral scent. It opens with freesia and dries down quickly to a warm honeyed-floral skin scent that stays multi-faceted. From one moment to the next is varies between honey, floral and a clean soapy scent. It's fresh and warm at the same time and smells very distinctly Chanel. It's classy and very office friendly.

When I think of the color beige I think of simplistic and universal. Although the scent Beige could be worn by anyone for any occasion and is therefore universal, it's not simplistic at all. After the dry-down it smells differently at different times. This scent has unique character and smells like nothing I've experienced before. I highly recommend Beige and plan to purchase a full bottle soon.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SmellyFaerie on 8/29/2012 7:59:00 AM more reviews by SmellyFaerie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If I had to choose one and one only Chanel fragrance to wear, Beige would be my pick. I do love others in the Exclusifs range, but Beige is the one that really got my heart. Beige, as a color, is elegant and versatile, so is the perfume which bears the same name.


Beige is a clean fresh floral, actually one of the best of this kind in the market. It is not “clean” as in laundry clean, nor “fresh” as in full of aquatic notes. It is clean and fresh without bringing these memories. To me, it smells like the old Johnson & Johnson’s shampoo, back in the time that was the only baby shampoo one could get. Does this sound bad? Not to me. It’s almost a comfort scent.


Let’s get to the notes: hawthorn, freesia, frangipani and honey… well, if I never tried to sniff this one, I would skip it without a second thought (and that would be a shame). If I really make an effort, I can detect some hawthorn and some sweetness in the background that could be the honey. But Beige is much more than that to me, it is an abstract floral definitely worthy of the Chanel name. It is easy to wear and I can’t think of a person who could find this one offensive in any way.


The lasting power of the Chanel Exclusifs in general may be an issue for some people, but Beige lasts pretty well on my skin (4-6h depending on the weather). The silage is very moderate and there are not too many drastic changes between the first minutes and the late drydown, it is quite linear, but in a good way.


Do any of you have those days in which you want to wear a nice perfume but nothing too overbearing? Something that just smells good and nothing else than that? Well, those are the days for Beige.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 8/25/2012 10:00:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very nice, light, spring or summer fragrance. It has decent staying power considering how light and airy it is. I smell the honey and freesia the most, with a bit of the frangipani popping out as well. It's very work and general day time appropriate wear, fresh and unobtrusive and subtle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondefornow on 7/7/2012 4:35:00 PM more reviews by blondefornow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love how individual and personal scent is. Fragrance does more than stimulate the olfactory nerve, it creates scent memories...snapshots of time, captured in perfume. I have come to realize not only that I can go back in time with a fragrance, but that I can fine-tune new memories with the fragrance I choose to wear or test at any moment in time. Beige by CHANEL is a fragrant capsule of my trip to Paris this past spring. The weather was perfect, Rue Cambon was hopping...we were laughing with the sales clerks (yes, the french have a sense of humor...and security guards at CHANEL's jewelry store CAN loosen up). I bought this on a whim, and when I wear it (as I am right now) it brings back the best week of the past 10 years. Soft, but with nice projection, clean, but not soapy. Sophisticated, but not snobby...and exclusive enough to catch people's attention. I have many, many fragrances....this is the one I get compliments on the most. The cleaning woman at work stopped me to tell me I smelled "expensive". A co-worker commented that I smelled of cashmere sweaters. "Beige" smells like what it is supposed to...a soft, cashmere wrap. Warm, soft, content. I am already planning my next trip to Paris. I don't want to buy this anywhere else.

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlamDiva on 3/7/2012 3:56:00 PM more reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Chanel Beige is a sweet floral that could be well suited to any age and occasion. Inoffensive, wears close to the body, fleeting, but the later drydown was not so good on me. The opening was much better than the later drydown. The opening reminds me of a more refined version of Juicy Couture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 1/25/2012 11:28:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Jacques Polge's Masterpiece called Beige is one of the newer additions to Chanel's Les Exclusifs line. Despite its relatively young age, it was created in 2009, I find Beige to be a true Chanel as it is a very well crafted fragrance. In Beige, the May Rose and Ylang at at the opening, while Jasmine and Heliptrope carry the scent in the middle notes. The heart is a soft powdery musk, and it lingers on my skin throughout the day. I find the longevity quite excellent in Chanel's Les Exclusifs, and Beige is no exception. It is probably the most elegant fragrance in my collection. To me, Beige is a sparkling, bright and uplifting scent without ever being loud. $210 is a pretty sum, but it is for a large beautiful 6.8oz spray bottle. Definitely a splurge, but worth it for me. And once I have used up the bottle, I will most probably repurchase.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* atomic_girl on 10/16/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by atomic_girl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The name, which seems more fitting for a shade of foundation than a perfume, led me to fear that Beige would be a dreary, dull sort of scent. Fortunately this isn't the case: Beige is a gorgeous fresh floral that brings late spring/early summer to mind. The beige is enlivened with white and pale pink.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Fragrances products