Chanel • Beige • Fragrances

rated 4.0(44 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cocochanel4ever on 6/23/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by cocochanel4ever

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Chanel Beige was my blind buy and I'm very happy I bought it. I love it a lot. It's yellow flowers and honey perfume, so rounded and smooth. Would be appropriate for any situation. If I can't decide which perfume to wear I always reach for Beige. Staying power is not that strong, I wish it lasted longer, i only can smell it for 3 hrs. I didn't have chance to smell Beige in parfum form, but plan to add it to my collection, since I love it so much in edt form. My friend, who doesn't like any Chanel perfumes, loves Beige a lot and always tries some at my place. I will absolutely repurchase it again once I finish my bottle. This is one of the perfumes I don't get tired of. Must have for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mereley on 6/18/2014 6:14:00 PM more reviews by mereley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love Beige.

I mean I really, really love it.

Which is shocking to me because I thought I would hate it. I'm not usually a huge fan of white florals, and the mere thought of tropical white florals (frangipani in this) is enough to make me want to shudder. I'm also not a fan of sweet or gourmand scents, so the idea of a honey note on top of all those white flowers was enough to make me stay far far away from this for years. But oh, how wrong I was.

This is inarguably a masterpiece. Yes, I'm biased, but seriously: how they took those notes and made something so light and pretty, well I'll never know (although I suspect it must be the hawthorne), but truly, the magic of this compilation is the mark of an extremely skilled artist. Is it retiring? Perhaps a bit. But I don't see that as a bad thing. Rather, I find it's refined elegance immensely refreshing. There is literally nothing else on the market that smells like it. It's not a big white floral, nor is it an intoxicating oriental, so for those that prefer such rather bold fragrances, I get that this isn't your thing. Although it is a "floriental" at heart, it's really a skin scent. It doesn't smell like perfume, but rather it adheres and smells like "you", which is what I think makes so many reviewers want to call it "classy". It suggests that you are just so chic (and so wealthy, with the bath products and laundry detergents to match) that this is just what you happen smell like all the time, before you'd perfume on in fact. Far-fetched, I know, but it's true.

I could easily (and do) wear this every day because it fits literally every occasion. It's subtle enough that I can get away with it first thing in the morning, but special enough that I enjoy wearing it for an evening out as well. To those that call it bland, I must strenuously disagree. Bland, to me, is another of those department store fruity-floral flankers that come out on a bi-annually basis. This is complex. It's light and clean, without having the prescribed citrus opening. It's floral and feminine, but not overwhelmingly so, without any of the indole, headiness or sweetness that one might anticipate. And perhaps most notably, it's dry-down is warm and deep, so much so that I look forward to wearing this in the winter (although it's perfect for summer, too), but neither does it have that expected sandalwood/vanilla/amber heaviness to it that many other's in the genre do. In that way, it does share similarities to Chanel's own Allure, but I far prefer this -- it's much more delicate and unexpected.

So yes, I would buy this again. In both sizes. And the parfum, too. Plus an extra of each just to make sure I never run out. Because as I first said, I love Beige. It's me. It's how I always wanted to smell.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfelettem on 5/6/2014 5:25:00 AM more reviews by elfelettem

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I have a decant of this, solely because I was intruiged by the name and then swayed by the reviews. I am so glad I bought it and plan to buy a full bottle when I finish the decant.

I could virtually write ditto to CharismaSL's review and comments re; Beige below, I wont but this will be brief.

For something so sweet smelling its amazing that it also smells so 'natural', well not natural but it does seem to merge skillfully into my own skinscent.

Very long lasting, I'm not sure of sillage in terms of what other people can smell but I keep getting little whifts of it all day, and even after a shower it lingers. Love it, will buy a full bottle and keep buying unless something drastically changes with it or my skin chemistry.

As always I wouldn't recommend buying a full bottle wihtout trying first, but if your skin likes this scent then I think you'll be wearing and repurchasing often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 11/19/2013 9:25:00 AM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

'Beige' mixed with 'Gardenia' is my ultimate favs of the collection. I love Chanel perfumes to begin with but this very 'ME'. It somehow mixes so well with my body chemistry that it actually smells like I and the perfume are one (if that makes sense). I am not very good with notes plus everyone else has done a wonderful job describing them, but i will say that it is a very unique fragrance that is absolutely worth the $240 for the 200 ml bottle. I am not into 'eau de toilette' versions of fragrances but this collection is an exception. What i love even more is that it lasts about 7 hours on me which is fantastic for an eau de toilette. This is a very sophisticated, classy, luxe, warm, comforting, clean (not soapy or laundry clean), and rich fragrance. I am in total love. I wear this all year round. Definitely repurchase!
Btw i do like to wear 'Beige' on it's own as well but i try not to wear 'Gardenia' on its own as much beacuse i find that it is too strong by itself.
My other favs include 1932 (which is supposed to smell like 'jewels' and I agree), La Pausa, Bel Respiro, Cuir de Russe (or something like that), and Cormandal.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SickSexFix on 10/15/2013 1:22:00 AM more reviews by SickSexFix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I'm so sad, so very sad this didn't work out for me. I sampled it and wore it to work (at an office) and while it is a very unobtrusive, work-friendly scent, there isn't much projection and well... character. Don't get me wrong, it's very lovely and understated and would work for all occasions but as the day went on (and as I dabbed it on again and again, desperate to chase down and cling to it - it doesn't last long AT ALL) I kept trying to place this one note that was on the tip of my tongue. I'd be sniffing my wrist constantly trying to figure it out. I loved the scent, I truly did.

Finally, at the end of the day, it came to me. Bug spray. Now it's all I can smell when I wear it. (sadface) Oh well, there are more interesting fragrances in the Les Exclusifs collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lurketylurk on 7/14/2013 1:40:00 PM more reviews by lurketylurk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Beige reminds me very, very much of Chanel's Gardenia. The notes for this one are freesia, frangipani, hawthorn, and honey, but like Gardenia, it is nigh impossible to pick out individual notes in Beige. It is very well blended, opening with white floral flair tempered by hawthorn, lending it an almost sour vibe. I don't find it too heady, but it's certainly not dull. After a few moments, the drydown becomes almost chalky, and gradually verges toward a slightly soapy, soft white floral. I can see how Beige would be utterly beautiful on the right person, and I think it's something I'd recommend to almost anyone who liked florals. I can appreciate it, but, like the color, I don't think it is at its best on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 9/3/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of Beige from a generous MUAer and I'm very appreciative of her generosity since where I live I have no access to any of the Les Exclusifs. Beige is a multi-faceted, sparkling, warm light floral scent. It opens with freesia and dries down quickly to a warm honeyed-floral skin scent that stays multi-faceted. From one moment to the next is varies between honey, floral and a clean soapy scent. It's fresh and warm at the same time and smells very distinctly Chanel. It's classy and very office friendly.

When I think of the color beige I think of simplistic and universal. Although the scent Beige could be worn by anyone for any occasion and is therefore universal, it's not simplistic at all. After the dry-down it smells differently at different times. This scent has unique character and smells like nothing I've experienced before. I highly recommend Beige and plan to purchase a full bottle soon.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SmellyFaerie on 8/29/2012 7:59:00 AM more reviews by SmellyFaerie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If I had to choose one and one only Chanel fragrance to wear, Beige would be my pick. I do love others in the Exclusifs range, but Beige is the one that really got my heart. Beige, as a color, is elegant and versatile, so is the perfume which bears the same name.


Beige is a clean fresh floral, actually one of the best of this kind in the market. It is not “clean” as in laundry clean, nor “fresh” as in full of aquatic notes. It is clean and fresh without bringing these memories. To me, it smells like the old Johnson & Johnson’s shampoo, back in the time that was the only baby shampoo one could get. Does this sound bad? Not to me. It’s almost a comfort scent.


Let’s get to the notes: hawthorn, freesia, frangipani and honey… well, if I never tried to sniff this one, I would skip it without a second thought (and that would be a shame). If I really make an effort, I can detect some hawthorn and some sweetness in the background that could be the honey. But Beige is much more than that to me, it is an abstract floral definitely worthy of the Chanel name. It is easy to wear and I can’t think of a person who could find this one offensive in any way.


The lasting power of the Chanel Exclusifs in general may be an issue for some people, but Beige lasts pretty well on my skin (4-6h depending on the weather). The silage is very moderate and there are not too many drastic changes between the first minutes and the late drydown, it is quite linear, but in a good way.


Do any of you have those days in which you want to wear a nice perfume but nothing too overbearing? Something that just smells good and nothing else than that? Well, those are the days for Beige.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 8/25/2012 10:00:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very nice, light, spring or summer fragrance. It has decent staying power considering how light and airy it is. I smell the honey and freesia the most, with a bit of the frangipani popping out as well. It's very work and general day time appropriate wear, fresh and unobtrusive and subtle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondefornow on 7/7/2012 4:35:00 PM more reviews by blondefornow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love how individual and personal scent is. Fragrance does more than stimulate the olfactory nerve, it creates scent memories...snapshots of time, captured in perfume. I have come to realize not only that I can go back in time with a fragrance, but that I can fine-tune new memories with the fragrance I choose to wear or test at any moment in time. Beige by CHANEL is a fragrant capsule of my trip to Paris this past spring. The weather was perfect, Rue Cambon was hopping...we were laughing with the sales clerks (yes, the french have a sense of humor...and security guards at CHANEL's jewelry store CAN loosen up). I bought this on a whim, and when I wear it (as I am right now) it brings back the best week of the past 10 years. Soft, but with nice projection, clean, but not soapy. Sophisticated, but not snobby...and exclusive enough to catch people's attention. I have many, many fragrances....this is the one I get compliments on the most. The cleaning woman at work stopped me to tell me I smelled "expensive". A co-worker commented that I smelled of cashmere sweaters. "Beige" smells like what it is supposed to...a soft, cashmere wrap. Warm, soft, content. I am already planning my next trip to Paris. I don't want to buy this anywhere else.

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Fragrances products