Essie Wrapped in Rubies

4.6

14 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/22/2014 11:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Love the shade but hate the formula. Applies streaky, takes about 4 applications to build up the intensity unfortunately which also means it is slow drying and prone to chipping. I don't seem to have a good experience with Essie polishes unfortunately they take alot of prep work, dry time and chip within a few hours. This colour is beautiful though (golden metallic raisin red plummy brown) and I have found my HG dupe in OPI's Romeo and Joliet.



on 10/29/2013 2:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I don't remember when I bought this polish or why BUT I found it recently and fell in love. It's a beautiful reddish bronze color. My nails have been breaking lately so I've been wearing nudes to take attention off of length BUT this is a nice dark color that doesn't highlight the unevenness of my nail length. It's beautiful and perfect for fall!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/22/2013 9:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

A beautiful bronze-ruby color. I am a NW20 and it looks great on me. Its very rich and Autumn colored, which I love without being all bronze, which I hate lol. Very opaque in 2 coats & no streaking. It's a shimmer as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2012 3:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my favourite polish ever. It was the first Essie polish I bought and I fell in love - it's such a beautiful bronze-red, whenever I put it on I can't stop looking at my nails. The formula is pretty easy to work with - mine is over a year old now (I go through nail polish very slowly, I have too many to rotate through!) but it hasn't turned into a gloopy mess yet like some of my other polishes. I like the Essie brush, so that's a plus for me. I don't know if this polish would work well on all skin tones but it works well against my NC20 skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2012 8:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Green

I originally bought this because I thought it was going to be a beautiful bronzy colour. However, when I actually got around to putting it on my nails, it was a darker, shimmery ruby :P It was a surprise, but I wouldn't mind wearing it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/13/2012 4:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This color is absolutely stunning! Much more saturated than how it looks in the bottle. I was trying to decide between this and Scarlett O'Hara and I'm glad I chose this one. Perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/30/2012 3:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't really like reds and I especially don't care for dark reds. I was drawn to this polish because of the gold shimmer in the bottle, but as others have said, it doesn't show up on the nail. After seeing it, though, I'm okay with that. It is a really sexy color; I like it a lot! Without a topcoat, this lasted ~2 days without chipping, which, for me, might as well mean it lasted a week because my nails chip like crazy. I bought it to wear under "Shine of the Times" but ended up wearing it by itself and applying it again by itself. It's a beautiful polish! Maybe I'll buy some gold glitter to wear over it so it can look like the bottled version. ;)


on 11/18/2011 6:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Agree with the other reviewers about the color, particularly the way the gold shimmer does not show on the nail but instead pushes the polish into a warmer, browned burgundy. It kind of reminds me of Dr. Pepper, not so much the soda itself but the label. It has that semi-metallic finish to it. It is work-appropriate, but sexy as well.

It dried really quickly on me, too. I had to work fast as the polish would bunch up wherever I accidentally overlapped a brushstroke.

Also wanted to comment that it looks great with an iridescent flakie layered over it.

I would repurchase this polish if I thought there was a chance I would use it up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/16/2011 1:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I found this polish today at my local Wally World. I've been eyeballing this color for months, and finally decided to get it - Sooooo glad I did!! it is gorgeous on! As the below reviewers comments, the fine gold/copper shimmer in the bottle doesn't really transfer to nails, just warms up the color. I love this because it makes this a really wearable red for me and my fair skin. LOVE!!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a very unique colour! Its a burgundy laced with gold thats noticeable in the bottle but not that noticeable when applied on the nails. I do love the colour and I don't own any polish that is similar. The brush is small so application is a bit annoying. The polish is very pigmented and you could totally get away with 1 coat but I like to put two down just to even it out as it does apply a bit streaky. The staying power is decent but not as great as OPI...I find this chips on my fingers in about 3-4 days but lasts for weeks on my toes. I love this colour on both my fingers and toes and even though it seems like a fall colour I love wearing it all year round. I spent almost $12 on this bottle at my local Shoppers Drug Mart so it is a bit expensive but if I ever run out I'll be going back for another bottle!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
149 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Watermelon

55 reviews
Back to Top