Essie • Wrapped in Rubies • Polishes

rated 4.7(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 yasssssx3 on 10/29/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by yasssssx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I don't remember when I bought this polish or why BUT I found it recently and fell in love. It's a beautiful reddish bronze color. My nails have been breaking lately so I've been wearing nudes to take attention off of length BUT this is a nice dark color that doesn't highlight the unevenness of my nail length. It's beautiful and perfect for fall!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 10/22/2013 9:58:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A beautiful bronze-ruby color. I am a NW20 and it looks great on me. Its very rich and Autumn colored, which I love without being all bronze, which I hate lol. Very opaque in 2 coats & no streaking. It's a shimmer as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sherpa on 10/21/2012 3:12:00 PM more reviews by sherpa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favourite polish ever. It was the first Essie polish I bought and I fell in love - it's such a beautiful bronze-red, whenever I put it on I can't stop looking at my nails. The formula is pretty easy to work with - mine is over a year old now (I go through nail polish very slowly, I have too many to rotate through!) but it hasn't turned into a gloopy mess yet like some of my other polishes. I like the Essie brush, so that's a plus for me. I don't know if this polish would work well on all skin tones but it works well against my NC20 skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nicky7227 on 10/7/2012 8:18:00 PM more reviews by nicky7227

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

I originally bought this because I thought it was going to be a beautiful bronzy colour. However, when I actually got around to putting it on my nails, it was a darker, shimmery ruby :P It was a surprise, but I wouldn't mind wearing it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kngfrank on 9/13/2012 4:36:00 PM more reviews by kngfrank

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This color is absolutely stunning! Much more saturated than how it looks in the bottle. I was trying to decide between this and Scarlett O'Hara and I'm glad I chose this one. Perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alyssadk on 3/30/2012 3:09:00 PM more reviews by alyssadk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't really like reds and I especially don't care for dark reds. I was drawn to this polish because of the gold shimmer in the bottle, but as others have said, it doesn't show up on the nail. After seeing it, though, I'm okay with that. It is a really sexy color; I like it a lot! Without a topcoat, this lasted ~2 days without chipping, which, for me, might as well mean it lasted a week because my nails chip like crazy. I bought it to wear under "Shine of the Times" but ended up wearing it by itself and applying it again by itself. It's a beautiful polish! Maybe I'll buy some gold glitter to wear over it so it can look like the bottled version. ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edie4711 on 11/18/2011 6:20:00 AM more reviews by edie4711

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Agree with the other reviewers about the color, particularly the way the gold shimmer does not show on the nail but instead pushes the polish into a warmer, browned burgundy. It kind of reminds me of Dr. Pepper, not so much the soda itself but the label. It has that semi-metallic finish to it. It is work-appropriate, but sexy as well.

It dried really quickly on me, too. I had to work fast as the polish would bunch up wherever I accidentally overlapped a brushstroke.

Also wanted to comment that it looks great with an iridescent flakie layered over it.

I would repurchase this polish if I thought there was a chance I would use it up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tiffany1981 on 11/16/2011 1:04:00 PM more reviews by Tiffany1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I found this polish today at my local Wally World. I've been eyeballing this color for months, and finally decided to get it - Sooooo glad I did!! it is gorgeous on! As the below reviewers comments, the fine gold/copper shimmer in the bottle doesn't really transfer to nails, just warms up the color. I love this because it makes this a really wearable red for me and my fair skin. LOVE!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprilpinkbeauty on 4/28/2011 10:08:00 PM more reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very unique colour! Its a burgundy laced with gold thats noticeable in the bottle but not that noticeable when applied on the nails. I do love the colour and I don't own any polish that is similar. The brush is small so application is a bit annoying. The polish is very pigmented and you could totally get away with 1 coat but I like to put two down just to even it out as it does apply a bit streaky. The staying power is decent but not as great as OPI...I find this chips on my fingers in about 3-4 days but lasts for weeks on my toes. I love this colour on both my fingers and toes and even though it seems like a fall colour I love wearing it all year round. I spent almost $12 on this bottle at my local Shoppers Drug Mart so it is a bit expensive but if I ever run out I'll be going back for another bottle!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 finneganandmaggie on 9/20/2009 10:44:00 AM more reviews by finneganandmaggie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The gold shimmer is much more visible in the bottle than it is on your nails. As a matter of fact, it's barely noticeable. It simply adds some warmth to the color. This is a lovely warm burgundy color that is perfect for winter/autumn. I have shorter length nails and it works on my nails without looking like Frankenberry. I'm loving this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products