Unlisted Brand • Maui Babe Browning Lotion • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.4(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 MermaidInOhio on 7/3/2013 7:00:00 PM more reviews by MermaidInOhio

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this... But I can't. I used it once (just a little ) and that was enough to make my back and shoulders break out terribly. :-( it's been nearly a week and I'm still battling with these bumps. I didn't mind the smell and hoped for great results. Sadly this one is not for me and I lost my receipt so I doubt I can return it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pestina18 on 7/3/2013 5:53:00 PM more reviews by Pestina18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Great stuff!

-Pros: can be worn with sunscreen, smells nice, natural ingredients, works well to help tan

-Cons: very oily, a bit expensive

-I'm not usually a tanning lotion customer, but what attracted me to Maui Babe was the fact that you can put it on over your sunscreen! I was always afraid of tanning oils because they have a very low SPF, but I can wear this with whatever sunscreen I want and not worry about getting sunburn. I also like that it has all-natural ingredients - no manufactured, unpronounceable chemicals! It only contains light mineral oil, kukui nut oil, vitamins E, C, & A, kona coffee plant extract, aloe, and potassium iodide. Personally, I love the smell. It's not for everyone, but it has a toffee, molasses, sugary coffee type scent that I love. I put on my SPF 30 sunscreen and let it soak in for a few minutes before applying Maui Babe. I have olive skin and I tan fairly easily, but this really does accelerate the process! It's not a miracle tan, but with Maui Babe I get much more tan than I would with just sunscreen.
One con is that it's a bit expensive. At surf shops in my area it goes for $15 and Ulta sells it for about $14. However, a tiny little bit goes a really long way! One bottle lasts me all summer. Another con is that this stuff is really greasy because one of the main ingredients is mineral (baby) oil. If you're easily prone to breakouts or if other oils cause your skin to react badly, I wouldn't recommend this. It's most likely not good to use every day, either. Out in the sun with Maui Babe, my skin gets slick and oily very quickly. I lay on a towel I don't care about because it will get some oil on it! I was reluctant to put this on my face because of the oil, but I did because I didn't want a tan body with a ghost white face! I shower right after tanning so the oil on my face and body isn't a problem and it doesn't cause breakouts. However, I wouldn't take this to the beach or anywhere where I can't shower directly afterwards. I also wouldn't wear it under clothes for fear of oil getting on them.
All in all, a great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BXsenorita on 4/1/2013 12:24:00 AM more reviews by BXsenorita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

PROS: I LOVE THIS STUFF AND HAVE BEEN USING IT FOREVER! Price is great (under $15) I use this on top of my sun tan lotion and I get a beautiful tan all the time. You don't ever turn orange from it. The product is brown so it's easy to see where you applied for even and easy application. I will recommend this product to anyone. I used to be completely fair skinned but I am dark now. I think anyone with this along with suntan lotion can achieve a beautiful, natural tan.

The only thing I can complain about this product is the smell...coffee sure it smells great but not on yourself. It's still worth it though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkdiamonds12 on 7/12/2012 1:52:00 PM more reviews by pinkdiamonds12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I had heard such amazing things about this product so i just had to buy it. people told me that just after one use i would for sure see a difference. i have now used it about 4 times and im really not seeing anything amazing coming out of it. i have no doubt that if i keep steadily using it, i will sooner or later have an amazing brown glow. i am excited to see how it ends up working and im sure i will love it !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alright2009 on 8/17/2011 12:42:00 AM more reviews by alright2009

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the smell first of all, its wonderful and second it makes a great tanning bed lotion! For so much less than the tanning salons will charge you for thier lotions {up to $70} this is under $15 and a little goes a LONG way. Seriously so be careful how much you put into your palm, start out with less and rub in completely!! Otherwised you will feel the lotion on your skin even after tanning in a bed or outside. It does not have any sunscreen so I used sunscreen first then a layer of Maui Babe and came home with a glow that no one can beat. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarabear4 on 8/16/2011 11:44:00 AM more reviews by sarabear4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, to start off: You only need A LITTLE of this product for it to soak into your skin! The first few times I used it, I lathered it all over my body, only to have it dripping down my skin with my sweat on the beach, which looks terrible when you have dark droplets running down your arms and stomach. The next time after that, I applied it and rubbed it completely into my skin until it almost disappeared. But a heads up: It re-surfaces when you enter the sun! If you want the best results, slap on an SPF 30-40, wait 10 minutes, then apply this LIGHTLY and rub it in until it disappears. Make sure you have a few extra minutes before you head-out into the sun to do this, or it will leave an oily residue, considering one of the main ingredients is mineral oil. As far as my face, I have normal skin--not too sensitive--and I've used it on my ears, neck and face, and it made a slightly bronzer difference. I'm sure if I used this every weekend it would build-up nicely, but for those with sensitive skin, you can always let your face just tan in it's own oils (with SPF, of course). Overall, this product does what it says: makes me have a gorgeous sun-kissed tan. The smell at first seemed like soy-sauce (am I the only one here?), but after getting used to it, I finally found the Kona Coffee scent. I order mine in 8-oz. bottles @ thirteen bucks-a-pop at ULTA, which is definitely cheaper than the MB website. Enjoy!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JerseyCurlz on 7/26/2011 4:22:00 PM more reviews by JerseyCurlz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this since I lived in hawaii in 2004... I am fair skinned and I use this with an SPF 15 or 30 for the first couple of times then I start to brown nicely... It gives such a beautiful brown color just like it says. Keeps my skin soft and never drying. I can apply it just once or twice if I am out all day and in and out of the water. I used this with my fair skin at the water park for my first "layout" of the summer next to my Italian BF who has a darker complexion and "never burns" well at the end of the day he could barely move and I was sporting a beautiful shade of "tan" while he was sporting the "lobster" look... I LOVE YOU MAUI BABE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jharlan on 7/3/2011 7:32:00 AM more reviews by jharlan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I started using Maui Babe in April and LOVE IT! I took it on a cruise with me in June and everybody was wanting to know what I was using as I was so brown. I told them Maui Babe and you can buy it online or at stores in Florida. I have fair to medium skin and always burn because I am Irish. Since I have been using Maui Babe I am VERY BROWN. I just ran out of the product so today I am off to get more because living in Florida, I go to the beach every weekend. The After Tan lotion smells like Jergens lotion that my grandmother used.
LOVE IT!
Thank you Maui Babe for having a wonderful product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovepigeon on 3/10/2011 4:26:00 PM more reviews by lovepigeon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

First thing to mention is I'm a redhead so I generally avoid the sun and layer on the sunscreen. I acutally got this when I was in Maui on honeymoon because it was in all the shops and quite reasonably priced and I was curious. I was convinved to get it because it said on the label that it was not bad for your skin and that you could wear it over sunscreen. I liked the ingredients list as it had natural and local ingredients and I also thought it smelt really nice, coffee and nut kind of smell.
Because of my colouring I don't tend to tan much except for my arms and legs which go a bit golden after a week or so in the sun. I ended up using this on about 5 days, I'd put it on before going to the beach in the afternoon (after about 3pm so the sun was not so strong) and after applying high spf 40 everywhere first.
A word of warning the product is very oily and so obviously do not put it near your face but also you have to be very careful about staining clothes etc.
This works amazingly well, I got more tanned in 1 afternoon wearing the stuff then I normally get after a week of holiday. I did not get burnt at all and thought the colour it gave me was really nice and has lasted a long time.
I also tried this product out on my husband who is happa because I wanted him to get more colour and with him it was even more dramatic he got really nice brown colour so I think this product is even more worthwhile for people who have skin suited to tanning.
Overall I would not hesitate to use this again if I go on holiday or to the beach or park because that way a sunny day or two would be all you need to get some colour that will last months. I think in England you can get it online.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JamaicanWhitie on 9/3/2010 5:15:00 PM more reviews by JamaicanWhitie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I can tan easily without any sort of tanning oil or lotion; however this stuff made me sooooo DARK!!! I noticed a significant difference in just half an hour after laying out in the sun. This stuff is incredible, and I will definitly be buying this again! The only thing that I can complain about is that it made me break out a little on my chest and back area. I have not used this on my face, because I am scared of breaking out there too. So other than the fact that it broke me out a little bit I can honestly say that I wont be using any sort of tanning lotion but this one! :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Lotions/ Creams products