La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Cream (US Version) with Mexoryl SX

2.6

36 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone 2%, Ecamsule 3%, Octocrylene 10%, Titanium Dioxide 5% Other Ingredients: Carbomer 940, Carbomercopolymer Type B, Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone, Edetate Disodium,Glycerin, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Isopropyl Palmitate, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Polyvinyl Pyrrolidone, Eicosene Copolymer,Propyleneglycol, Propylparaben, Purified Water, Stearic Acid,Stearoyl Macrogolglycerides, Stearyl Alcohol, Trolamine


on 3/18/2015 1:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I typically use Alba SPF 30 as a moisturizer, and have for years, because of its ease of application and that it never breaks me out. However, I've been noticing fine lines and wanted something with better protection. I bought this for $17 at TJ MAXX and thought I would give it a try due to the UVA/UVB broad coverage.

Although I know I'm very protected from the sun, it's not very wearable. If you have a single bit of skin that needs exfoliation (or put it around your eyebrows -- basically anywhere it could catch) this sunscreen will settle in as white and be very noticeable. I also found that it doesn't blend very well at all, or sink in over time.

I want to keep using this as I really want the sun protection, and I don't want to waste it, so my solution has been to dab it just around my eyes and cheeks where it seems to actually sink in well and use the Alba on the rest of my face. In the meantime I'll keep looking for a wearable sunscreen with great protection.



on 3/16/2015 12:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Horrible texture! Like paste! This is basically Geisha cream -- in that it is like putting a white mask on your face. White Cast? This is the definition of White Cast. I bought this because I'd read more about the utter essentialness of Mexoryl and this is the only sunscreen I could find at CVS that had any. La Roche Posay is very tricky. It uses the Anthelios brand but only certain products for sale in the U.S. actually have Mexoryl. So be careful and read labels. I have ordered other LRPS and Vichy sunscreens from an overseas company which I hope will be a little more wearable. Until then, I guess I'm going to go around looking like a Geisha Girl. At least it's not the worst look.


on 4/1/2014 4:15:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I was hoping this was like the SX 15 daily, but stronger. The SX 15 is a moisturizer with mexoryl and other chemical spfs. This is a titanium/chemical suncream, that also has Mexoryl in it. The titanium does reflect rays. However, it is much thicker and dryer in texture, as many have commented. I didn't realize that it had titanium, which I can clog me and feels drying. The tester was stolen, so I could not it feel how thick it was. The sales girl said both the SX sunscreens stay on well, if you are just walking around. She did seem to steer me towards the 15, which I had. I just wanted something stronger.

This is probably an excellent sunscreen in terms of it's screening, but it is expensive and very inelegant cosmetically. The titanium is added to reflect rays. BASF simulator says its stable (though it has avobenzone and titanium), though I thought.titanium destabilizes avobenzone. I put it on over a large amount of Paula's Choice Resist serum to make it possible to spread and for the AOX. It really doesn't spread easily. I am pale, so I didn't notice a white cast. It is not greasy and does set very matte. Foundation went on over OK, but does cake. I will say, it stays put and so does foundation, whereas SX 15 can make things slide. It does make my lines show a bit. There was no shine and no greasy feeling. It costs $35 and you get very little(1.7 Oz compared to SX 15 which has 3.4 ozs). It is clearly meant to be just used on the face. As I can't find bioderma, I thought this might work, but it's clogging and yucky. Bioderma may be thick but it does spread. This just isn't good under makeup . However the titanium is very gentle and soothing, even around my eyes, which are super sensitive these days. I didn't take anything stars off, for the titanium breaking me out, as that is an issue I always have with titanium and didn't realize it was in there. I took off for the texture and the fact that you get so little for the money.

Update: returned it as I got eye milla. Mould be other things but feel thins breaks me out and has a nasty texture


Pros:
gentle, non-stinging
effective stable broad spectrum protection (I assume) t
no fragrance, alcohol or fragrance or PABA
tenacious
matte

Cons:
thick, dry texture that is hard to spred
doesn't soak in well
clogging
not very elegant under makeup
could have white cast
expensive for small amount

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2012 11:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

There seems to be a lot of bad reviews about this sunscreen. While I agree it is pretty thick and gives you a white cast, it is seriously really good at what it does- protecting your skin from the sun. I live in Australia and a while ago, I did a summer internship/ vacation work at a mine in the middle of Queensland for three months. It was really hot, humid and the UV rating there is nearly always extreme, with an average temperature of 35-40 degrees celsius during summer. Before going to work in the mine, I did a lot of research on sunscreens looking for the best sunscreen that can protect my skin from the harsh rays. I found a US government website that had formulated a ranking based on the ingredients, how effective it was in terms of stopping UVA/UVB rays with a ranking of 0 (being the best all rounder) - 10 (poisonous total fail sunscreen). Out of all the La Roche Posay sunscreens, Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Cream was the best with a 2! (It's a pity I got a new laptop so I can't find this website anymore, so wanted to give the website name and share with you all). So I bought two of these and took them when I went to Queensland.

Every time before going outside, I'd put the sunscreen on my face. Unfortunately I never really considered putting some on my neck so by the end of three months, my face was not darker or burnt than when I first got to Queensland but my neck was super dark!

I guess this sunscreen might be more suitable for doing outdoor activities such as playing sport or working in the sun rather than using this under makeup. My only complaint is that it's a bit expensive since you can't buy it in Australia. I paid 40 AUD (includes postage fees) on ebay. I only used up only one of the sunscreens in 3 months on a daily basis. So it isn't too bad of an investment. Conclusion: I'll definitely be buying this in preparation for next summer!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2011 4:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

EDIT: I like this, but it's too reflective, which means it accentuates my fine lines...back to the store it goes.

Application: This is a tricky product to apply: it's thick and white. Rub it between your fingers to warm it then pat it on your face (do not rub)...this is the only way I can do it. I also have to wear some moisturizer under it because it is quite matte once applied (and I have oily, acne-prone skin). A bit of powder over it, and done.

Pros: matte! not greasy looking or greasy feeling once on, NO BREAK OUTS, it calms down and camouflages my red areas (from using retin-a), fragrance free, allergy-tested, broad spectrum sun protection, the Mexoryl makes the 2% avobenzone photostable, contains 5% physical block, so it's not totally chemical

Cons: pricey, contains avobenzone

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2011 4:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I was in a hurry at CVS & I grabbed this because I saw, "With Mexoryl SX (Ecamsule)", highlighted in orange on the box. Anthelios 15 with Mexoryl SX has such a decent texture for sunscreen, I hoped this might be similar. Not even close. From what I can see based on reading ingredients lists, maybe Ecamsule can't be used above a 3% concentration. This cream, like the SPF 15, includes Avobenzone and Octocrylene, but it also has Titanium Dioxide in order to rate SPF 40. These are excellent sunscreens, and the Octocrylene makes the Avobenzone photostable, so if you can stand the texture of this cream, it seems sun-safe. However, even though there's no zinc in this, it's as thick and white as Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment (but it's not greasy). I rated this with 3 lippies because it's definitely effective, plus it's REALLY water resistant. If you don't intend to use this beneath makeup, but for playing sports, it will stay put and protect your skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2011 8:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Very thick, white cast that DOES NOT blend. If you try to blend it, it just gets worse. I haven't figured out how to correctly apply it--I'm sure this ISN'T any way to correctly apply this. Very upsetting because it does offer good coverage, I just don't understand how the finish can be so HORRIBLE?!??!?! LRP european versions are better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2011 8:29:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

When i first bought this I was really put off by how thick and rich it was, especially since I have combination skin. I mean, it's so think that it is slow to push out of the tube, blech! But then i tried rubbing it btwn my fingers, to warm it up before applying it, spreading it onto the entire lengths of fingers and putting it on then and even though it went on almost stark white, in under a minute most of the white went away (even on my nc30 skin) AND it wasn't greasy looking! Odd. And i just add a mineral powder over it and it looks awesome. I don't look the least bit oily, I love the protection and have already repurchased.

Only problem is when picture taking, the white cast will show up. I would say if the PPD were even higher (i understand this one is a 20) I would be much happier. I know 20 is good, but I want better for summer and during playing tennis outside.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2011 4:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I know some products aren't right for people while they work well for others. This sunscreen, however, I think is the absolute worst sunscreen I have ever tried.
My two big gripes about this product is that it doesn't blend/spread easily (or at all) and it leaves the WORST white cast out of any physical sunblock I've ever used.
I applied it one morning right after I washed my face. It didn't spread well. I kept on rubbing and rubbing, which caused me to pull on my skin. I went on a hike then midday I tried to reapply. It was even worse than in the morning. I couldn't spread it AT ALL and little white flakes started forming and rubbing off. It felt dead skin, so gross. It was so bad, my friends were laughing about how white my face was. I gave up and used a baby wipe to take it all off and I continued my hike without any sun protection.
On top of this, LRP customer service is a pain to deal with. I'm still trying to return this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2011 7:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product works really well for me. I use it a lot when I'm going to workout outdoors, which recently has been several times a week since the weather has been nice. I am very pale but it still gives me a noticeable whitecast so I put Laura Mercier's tinted moisturizer over it and the whitecast is gone. I use the Lumene oil cleanser to take it off - regular facial cleanser won't cut it. This sunscreen does its job, even in triple-digit desert weather it keeps me protected, and I've never had a problem with breakouts. It is rather thick but I don't find it too much work to spread around. The only thing that would make it perfect for me is if: 1) there was no whitecast (hate having to use another product to fix the first) and 2) the price was a bit better (tube is kinda small for $30).




Top Rated La Roche Posay Products

image

Lipikar Balm

35 reviews
image

Toleriane Ultra

78 reviews
Back to Top