La Roche Posay • Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Cream (US Version) with Mexoryl SX • Sunscreen

rated 2.6(34 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HWL on 4/1/2014 4:15:00 PM more reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I was hoping this was like the SX 15 daily, but stronger. The SX 15 is a moisturizer with mexoryl and other chemical spfs. This is a titanium/chemical suncream, that also has Mexoryl in it. The titanium does reflect rays. However, it is much thicker and dryer in texture, as many have commented. I didn't realize that it had titanium, which I can clog me and feels drying. The tester was stolen, so I could not it feel how thick it was. The sales girl said both the SX sunscreens stay on well, if you are just walking around. She did seem to steer me towards the 15, which I had. I just wanted something stronger.

This is probably an excellent sunscreen in terms of it's screening, but it is expensive and very inelegant cosmetically. The titanium is added to reflect rays. BASF simulator says its stable (though it has avobenzone and titanium), though I thought.titanium destabilizes avobenzone. I put it on over a large amount of Paula's Choice Resist serum to make it possible to spread and for the AOX. It really doesn't spread easily. I am pale, so I didn't notice a white cast. It is not greasy and does set very matte. Foundation went on over OK, but does cake. I will say, it stays put and so does foundation, whereas SX 15 can make things slide. It does make my lines show a bit. There was no shine and no greasy feeling. It costs $35 and you get very little(1.7 Oz compared to SX 15 which has 3.4 ozs). It is clearly meant to be just used on the face. As I can't find bioderma, I thought this might work, but it's clogging and yucky. Bioderma may be thick but it does spread. This just isn't good under makeup . However the titanium is very gentle and soothing, even around my eyes, which are super sensitive these days. I didn't take anything stars off, for the titanium breaking me out, as that is an issue I always have with titanium and didn't realize it was in there. I took off for the texture and the fact that you get so little for the money.

Update: returned it as I got eye milla. Mould be other things but feel thins breaks me out and has a nasty texture


Pros:
gentle, non-stinging
effective stable broad spectrum protection (I assume) t
no fragrance, alcohol or fragrance or PABA
tenacious
matte

Cons:
thick, dry texture that is hard to spred
doesn't soak in well
clogging
not very elegant under makeup
could have white cast
expensive for small amount

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leeni03 on 6/9/2012 11:31:00 PM more reviews by leeni03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

There seems to be a lot of bad reviews about this sunscreen. While I agree it is pretty thick and gives you a white cast, it is seriously really good at what it does- protecting your skin from the sun. I live in Australia and a while ago, I did a summer internship/ vacation work at a mine in the middle of Queensland for three months. It was really hot, humid and the UV rating there is nearly always extreme, with an average temperature of 35-40 degrees celsius during summer. Before going to work in the mine, I did a lot of research on sunscreens looking for the best sunscreen that can protect my skin from the harsh rays. I found a US government website that had formulated a ranking based on the ingredients, how effective it was in terms of stopping UVA/UVB rays with a ranking of 0 (being the best all rounder) - 10 (poisonous total fail sunscreen). Out of all the La Roche Posay sunscreens, Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Cream was the best with a 2! (It's a pity I got a new laptop so I can't find this website anymore, so wanted to give the website name and share with you all). So I bought two of these and took them when I went to Queensland.

Every time before going outside, I'd put the sunscreen on my face. Unfortunately I never really considered putting some on my neck so by the end of three months, my face was not darker or burnt than when I first got to Queensland but my neck was super dark!

I guess this sunscreen might be more suitable for doing outdoor activities such as playing sport or working in the sun rather than using this under makeup. My only complaint is that it's a bit expensive since you can't buy it in Australia. I paid 40 AUD (includes postage fees) on ebay. I only used up only one of the sunscreens in 3 months on a daily basis. So it isn't too bad of an investment. Conclusion: I'll definitely be buying this in preparation for next summer!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabiinchicago on 12/13/2011 4:02:00 PM more reviews by gabiinchicago

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

EDIT: I like this, but it's too reflective, which means it accentuates my fine lines...back to the store it goes.

Application: This is a tricky product to apply: it's thick and white. Rub it between your fingers to warm it then pat it on your face (do not rub)...this is the only way I can do it. I also have to wear some moisturizer under it because it is quite matte once applied (and I have oily, acne-prone skin). A bit of powder over it, and done.

Pros: matte! not greasy looking or greasy feeling once on, NO BREAK OUTS, it calms down and camouflages my red areas (from using retin-a), fragrance free, allergy-tested, broad spectrum sun protection, the Mexoryl makes the 2% avobenzone photostable, contains 5% physical block, so it's not totally chemical

Cons: pricey, contains avobenzone

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tovah on 8/12/2011 4:05:00 PM more reviews by Tovah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I was in a hurry at CVS & I grabbed this because I saw, "With Mexoryl SX (Ecamsule)", highlighted in orange on the box. Anthelios 15 with Mexoryl SX has such a decent texture for sunscreen, I hoped this might be similar. Not even close. From what I can see based on reading ingredients lists, maybe Ecamsule can't be used above a 3% concentration. This cream, like the SPF 15, includes Avobenzone and Octocrylene, but it also has Titanium Dioxide in order to rate SPF 40. These are excellent sunscreens, and the Octocrylene makes the Avobenzone photostable, so if you can stand the texture of this cream, it seems sun-safe. However, even though there's no zinc in this, it's as thick and white as Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment (but it's not greasy). I rated this with 3 lippies because it's definitely effective, plus it's REALLY water resistant. If you don't intend to use this beneath makeup, but for playing sports, it will stay put and protect your skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lstone8 on 6/19/2011 8:24:00 PM more reviews by lstone8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Very thick, white cast that DOES NOT blend. If you try to blend it, it just gets worse. I haven't figured out how to correctly apply it--I'm sure this ISN'T any way to correctly apply this. Very upsetting because it does offer good coverage, I just don't understand how the finish can be so HORRIBLE?!??!?! LRP european versions are better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtvsux on 6/14/2011 8:29:00 PM more reviews by mtvsux

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

When i first bought this I was really put off by how thick and rich it was, especially since I have combination skin. I mean, it's so think that it is slow to push out of the tube, blech! But then i tried rubbing it btwn my fingers, to warm it up before applying it, spreading it onto the entire lengths of fingers and putting it on then and even though it went on almost stark white, in under a minute most of the white went away (even on my nc30 skin) AND it wasn't greasy looking! Odd. And i just add a mineral powder over it and it looks awesome. I don't look the least bit oily, I love the protection and have already repurchased.

Only problem is when picture taking, the white cast will show up. I would say if the PPD were even higher (i understand this one is a 20) I would be much happier. I know 20 is good, but I want better for summer and during playing tennis outside.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 liteenie on 5/23/2011 4:30:00 PM more reviews by liteenie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know some products aren't right for people while they work well for others. This sunscreen, however, I think is the absolute worst sunscreen I have ever tried.
My two big gripes about this product is that it doesn't blend/spread easily (or at all) and it leaves the WORST white cast out of any physical sunblock I've ever used.
I applied it one morning right after I washed my face. It didn't spread well. I kept on rubbing and rubbing, which caused me to pull on my skin. I went on a hike then midday I tried to reapply. It was even worse than in the morning. I couldn't spread it AT ALL and little white flakes started forming and rubbing off. It felt dead skin, so gross. It was so bad, my friends were laughing about how white my face was. I gave up and used a baby wipe to take it all off and I continued my hike without any sun protection.
On top of this, LRP customer service is a pain to deal with. I'm still trying to return this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CEELLIS on 5/16/2011 7:43:00 PM more reviews by CEELLIS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This product works really well for me. I use it a lot when I'm going to workout outdoors, which recently has been several times a week since the weather has been nice. I am very pale but it still gives me a noticeable whitecast so I put Laura Mercier's tinted moisturizer over it and the whitecast is gone. I use the Lumene oil cleanser to take it off - regular facial cleanser won't cut it. This sunscreen does its job, even in triple-digit desert weather it keeps me protected, and I've never had a problem with breakouts. It is rather thick but I don't find it too much work to spread around. The only thing that would make it perfect for me is if: 1) there was no whitecast (hate having to use another product to fix the first) and 2) the price was a bit better (tube is kinda small for $30).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ekacharya on 5/4/2011 12:31:00 AM more reviews by Ekacharya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I LOVE this!!! I have sensitive, acne prone skin and most sunscreens break me out. This one is deliciously smooth, creamy and gentle. Never burns/stings my skin, offers amazing protection and leaves my skin soft and pimple-free. The only downside I think is that it does leave my forehead and nose shiny, which is fine because I'll dust those off with the smashbox powder spf 15. Amazing, high quality sunscreen. HG. Love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gojiberry on 3/15/2011 3:10:00 AM more reviews by gojiberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My HG SS for nearly 4 years. This product is about $30 at CVS in the States, but it's the best defense against the sun's rays. I wear this to the beaches in San Diego, CA, and my face has yet to lose its fair complexion, even during the summer. It stays on my face even when I go in the water. I'm also very sensitive to acne, and this product never brakes me out. It also somehow decreases the oil on my face. Did I say it's fragrance free?

I think that few people understand how to get the best usage out of this product. More is not necessarily better, which is the elegance of this product. The substance is very thick and applies matte. The matte finish lasts throughout the entire day, though I usually wear foundation over it.

To apply this product, dab only a pea size dot to your temple, cheeks, nose, and chin. Gently rub the sun screen in round circles and strokes so that it covers the entire face. I formerly used Olay, so the first time I used this I thought I'd need far more product. No surprise my face was white as a ghost the first time.

This little 1.7 fluid ounce squeeze tube lasts me nearly the entire year with everyday wear, and for the best protection out there, you have to agree this a good deal. Out of curiosity I tried an LRP liquid formula, but it wasn't nearly as strong as this one with mexoryl in it.

EDIT: I found out recently that the active ingredient of this sunscreen avobenzone (parsol 1789) can contribute to redness in sensitive rosacea-prone skin. If this applies to you, you'll have to find another brand of sunscreen because all LRP contain parsol. Read the labels of your sunscreens and check that they are parsol-free and contain zinc oxide instead. Skin Medica is good but only available at a dermatologist. I am researching other zinc oxide sunscreens to use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Sunscreen products