Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic TGR 4000i Hair Dryer

3.9

22 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/4/2015 7:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have had two Sedu Revolution straightening irons for years and they are both still going strong, so when I decided to start blow drying my hair instead of frying it with a flat iron and saw that this tool was ranked #1 on Folica.com, I didn't hesitate to purchase it. And, as expected, it's a great hair dryer, save for ONE MAJOR DESIGN FLAW: the back cap that shields the motor is poorly made, and during the lifetime of my Sedu it broke four times! I'm surprised none of the comments seem to mention this issue on MakeupAlley, but a lot of people cite this problem in the Folica.com reviews, despite the dryer's high customer rating.

The first three times my dryer broke, it was within the warranty period (two years) so I mailed it to Sedu and they fixed/replaced it and sent it back to me. The fourth time, I was outside the warranty period, so I tried to contact Sedu and get a new cap, but got no response from the company. Then, I tried fixing it myself, but couldn't really do a good job with super glue or duct tape. It felt silly to replace a perfectly good dryer just because some cheapie plastic on the back wouldn't stay on, but finally, after a few scary hair-getting-sucked-into-the-motor experiences, I decided to replace the dryer and bought the pro dryer that my local salon carried.

Besides the poor construction of the back, I love everything about this dryer. I like how compact it is, how powerful, where the buttons are, all the different settings and the cool shot feature. I would repurchase if they fixed the design issues, but as it stands I don't think this dryer is worth it. For the price, it should be near perfect.

Maybe, I'm just a klutz who needs a dryer that is built like a tank, so if you are still considering getting this dryer, it's worth noting that it requires a custom diffuser attachment. Luckily, the Sedu diffuser fits on my new dryer just fine, even though a generic diffuser won't fit on the Sedu.



on 1/14/2015 12:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For the price, I was not impressed. I returned it. I didn't like that it blew everything off the counter and it was hard to keep my fine hair from flying all over the place. Plus I felt my hair was dryer. I love the Sedu flat iron and wanted to love the dryer but even at 20% off, it was not worth the money!


on 12/7/2013 8:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Best blowdryer I have ever used, bought my mom one as well.
Expensive but it last a really long time - I have been using mine for the past 4 years.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2013 7:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the most expensive blow dryer I ever used. It actually belong to my friend and she introduced me to this. It dried my long hair in about 10 minutes. I could not believe it and my hair came out very shiny and no flyaways. I rarely blow dry my hair. Normally I air dry. It is also light too. Now I am on the hunt for this at a lower cost or even a dupe. If you know of one, message me. Thanks.


on 6/7/2013 12:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

LOVE THIS!!! I have really long thick hair that used to take forever to dry. Ever since I got this hair dryer, it has cut my drying time in half. I'd had mine for four years now and it still works like a charm. I use it with Fekkai Glossing system and all I have to do it dry my hair and it looks fabulous!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

AMAZING. I have had mine for about 4.5 years. After tax, shipping and duty, I paid a ridiculous price, almost $275 CAD, but it was worth every penny. I know the prices have come down now, thank goodness. But it works the same as when I first got it, my hair is so much less frizzy than it used to be and it dries my hair quickly. If I ever had to replace, I would buy this brand again in a heartbeat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2012 4:18:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I returned the Sedu 6000 and exhanged it for this. What a waste of time! No different! I am utterly disappointed with quality and don't quite understand how anyone can rate this highly. I am returning the blowdryer!


on 9/28/2012 10:13:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I loved this dryer at first -- really loved it. But after regular use it dried out my hair. I have long, fine, color-treated hair. For the last six months I've been using the diffuser even to straighten my hair just to take some heat off. I love the size and shape and it's very powerful, but I guess too powerful for my hair. Time to shop for a new one.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2012 6:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this dryer during a Folica sale after reading some board reviews of it (in particular by MiaMoore), and I love it! I think the ion generator really calms down the frizz and poofiness of my wavy hair. It's much smoother & shinier than usual.

The dryers I've used in the past include the T3 (have only borrowed not owned), Babyliss (owned), and SuperSolano (owned). They were all incredibly 'meh' in comparison to the Sedu Revolution.

The only downside is that it doesn't dry any faster than with any of my old dryers, but it also doesn't dry any slower. It might speed up if I use the hotter setting, but I'd rather not because I don't want to totally fry my hair.

I really like the compact style of the dryer too. It's pretty much perfect!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2012 9:35:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Bought this from Folica where they rated it number 1 (naturally, it is the most expensive). Over-researched hair dryers, and, fatigued, finally just caved for the Sedu.

Previously had been using the Hot Tools hair dryers supplied by my health club -- holding one in each hand, using both at the same time (!) -- quite a spectacle --in an effort to reduce the time to dry my chin length fine but thick hair. The new Sedu (just one) dries more hair more quickly than the two simultaneous Hot Tools. The Sedu does not blow as hot-- may-be even as hot -- but emits a much stronger rush of air. And the ions or the tourmaline must really do something -- my hair seems smoother and straighter.

This thing is expensive-- about $120 with a $40 coupon. That's why I am giving it 4 rather than 5 lip pies. I cannot tell whether it is "real" better than its nearest competitors, not having tried them and so rather suspect it is not good "value for money". But it is good. I really do like it. It makes it so much less of an effort to wash and dry my hair every day. It really is so much better than the cheap dryers. Defies belief, really.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Styling Tools


The Wet Brush
The Wet Brush
104 Reviews
Tangle Teezer
Tangle Teezer
217 Reviews
Eclipse
Eclipse
17 Reviews


Back to Top