Estee Lauder • Youth Dew • Fragrances

rated 3.1(253 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Blondiebec on 2/6/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by Blondiebec

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Possibly one of the worst stenches around! On a par with aromatics elixir yuck yuck yuck. Always reminds me of a client who's hair I used to blowdry once a week, she was a lovely lady but I used to take 2 paracetamol before she entered the salon as that wretched stench took my breath away and used to give me a migraine. Not nice at all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rasputin2 on 2/1/2014 7:03:00 PM more reviews by rasputin2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Naysayers know nothing of great perfume, or of its history. YOUTH-DEW is an amazing spicy balsamic, with rich, powerful Oriental basenotes.

Warm and sensual and captivating. It does smell mature, but that's its strength, as it contains classic essences used much more in Midcentury than today: myrrh, frankincense, civet, balsam tolu, rose, oakmoss, jonquil, orchid, indoles, maybe even a soupcon of cigarette smoke. All the EO's in YOUTH-DEW smell authentic, not synthetic at all, and today, that's saying something.

Patchouly, oakmoss and lime-peel add a dusky-sharpness to the cinnamon/clove/allspice/tolu/black pepper mix. Intelligent, stately, bold, sexy. What is made shiny-linear, metallic in OPIUM is here presented full-force, in a round, low-pitched, concentrated boldness that means business. The heady, bulb-flower floralcy peers above the spicy, sappy-balsam-incense conglomerate, adding a chic radiance. Benzoin and vanilla confer a subtle sweetness to YOUTH-DEW's sultry statement; musks add their jungley purr.

Wallflowers need not apply: There are many women today who, wishing to eschew modern fruity/cutesy/faux numbers, could rawk YOUTH-DEW. It has a glam, yet 1950's pussycat-sexy quality to it, teetering upon camp (Hey, whoever gave camp a bad name? Women, you know that in life you have to pull out all the stops sometimes to make an impression!) that modern lovers of things-retro will adore. Picture Ginger from GILLIGAN'S ISLAND, Pat Neal in BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY'S, Suzy Parker in THE BEST OF EVERYTHING, Phyllis McGuire in cheetah-skin at Miami's FONTAINEBLEAU, or a back-combed Ann-Margret shaking her moneymaker. It's a SHAG painting come to life.

It may be the greatest spicy of the 20thc, at least there in the Top Five, along with L'ORIGAN, OLD SPICE, OPIUM, MITSOUKO. When a fragrance endures THIS long, you bet it has something.

You younger women out there, and men, try it and make it new again as a va-va-voom bombshell, nightclub number. It's probably more at home between-the-sheets than in the office. Sometimes MORE is more. You sex goddesses out there: YOUTH-DEW was the preferred fragrance of Mrs. Wallis "Chinese methods" Simpson; it nailed her a Prince. Wink, wink, say no more.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/5/2014 6:11:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My grandmother used to wear this sometimes and I liked it. On the other hand when I tried it years ago I gagged. I tried it again a few more times since and was overcome with the urge to wash it off. I tried it again for the last time last night and never again. It is so strong and so potent.
I sprayed one time and the entire area smelled of it for an hour. It smells on me only of incense and cloves. I do not get the other notes much at all. I smell the other scents but they are so jumbled together I can't make them out. I can still smell it tonight on my purse, over 24 hours later which to me is a crazy amount of time, lol. I had a massive headache with it and am wondering how this scent is so popular this many years later.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 12/6/2013 10:56:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

When I'm in a Youth-Dew mood-- as I was today, a frigid Midwestern winter's day in need of something warming and spicy-- nothing else will do. This is the most complicated fragrance I own, and I've owned it continuously for the past 20 years. An uncompromising, vintage Oriental, downright filthy on the wrong skin chemistry, incendiary and irresistible on the right one. Like funky red wines and bitter dark chocolate, you must be into this sort of thing to enjoy it. Be prepared for a seamless, glorious, dizzying journey through spiced cola topnotes to deeply blooming roses and lilies to a thoroughly dry finish of loamy patchouli and woods. Be prepared, in short, to be walking talking sex on a stick. (Sophisticated and brainy sex, that is. Youth Dew has nothing in common with the candied body sprays that aim to turn grown women into scented dolls.)

When I was younger, I could only use the soap or powder; even the bath oil, judiciously dabbed, felt thick and heavy. Now I seem to have grown into Youth-Dew and can even swing a couple sprays of the EDP from that adorable blue rubberized bottle. It smells freakin' GREAT on me, probably the best fragrance of any I own. At the same time, the ol' Y-D demands full commitment to a full day of wear, and it doesn't make sense on me unless I at least wear red lipstick and pearls and do something with my hair. So I don't wear it daily or even close to that, although I'd love to pull off the glamour more often. But I do keep the bottles of EDP and bath oil on my dresser, and sniff at them fondly.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 12/1/2013 1:32:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love Youth Dew for its uncompromising presence. The strongest of spicy orientals, it's not tempered by tons of fruit or vanilla. Rather, it's all clovey heat and medicinal balsams. Launched in 1953, it's still around because it's good. Not another "me too" fragrance, it's not for everyone, but that's why I like it.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 10/13/2013 11:24:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

So here I am, at the Estee Lauder counter, snooping around the fragrances. I spot the Youth Dew, which is one of the perfumes I had wanted to test, and along comes the SA. "Ah....Youth Dew", she says. "Ms. Lauder created this decades ago, and it is one of the most popular." Yes, yes, I know this, but I have to be polite. I smile and know I'm in for the sales pitch now. She asks me to walk around to where the perfumes are stocked where she goes on to deliver her sales pitch. I spray Youth Dew on.
Years ago, as a young woman, one of my aunts used Youth Dew, and would give me her bottles when I would visit her. So I had a growing collection of perfume of semi-used bottles of high-end fragrances from my wonderful Aunt Marie. She would give me them just because she was generous and liked to share. Because the next week I would see her, she'd have new bottles of the same stuff. She just liked to give me her perfumes. Aunt Marie was a wonderful, caring, sharing and strong person with everyone. She taught me many things in life and that included humor, too.
I remember finding Youth Dew a very heavy perfume, that I would only use at night, and very sparingly on pulse points. It was a mysterious scent, and back then I didn't know a note from a name. All I did know was that I loved this rubber-coated bottle, I thought it was kitschy and Youth Dew was unlike any other I had every smelled.
Thick, rich, spicy, cloying in its presentation, the aldehydes kick at the beginning, vanilla, musk, amber, the mosses with the woods and the patchouli (I'm a patchouli junkie)...what more could I ask for? Oh this baby was special, no doubt about it. I would wear it only on special occasions, too, because I would think it was too grown-up for me at that time. Once I was married with children, it became a frag I could wear, but not necessarily around the little ones, it's too strong.
So I listen to her sales pitch about the gift sets for Christmas, some time goes by, and I re-smell my arm. Oh no! Where did the Youth Dew go? Where is my beloved memory scent? This Youth Dew is too light, and I'm trying to really get a handle on its notes but I can't smell much at all.
I don't know if it's the reformulation or if the tester bottle was off, but on that particular day Youth Dew did not deliver its promise of a spicy Oriental. I will go to another Lauder counter and re-test this potion, because I really want to see if the perfume standards have changed this beauty that much.
I miss my original Youth Dew.
Top Notes: Aldehydes, Orange, Spices, Peach, Bergamot, Narcissus, Lavender.
Middle Notes: Cinnamon, Cassia, Orchid, Jasmine, Cloves, Ylang-Ylang, Rose, Lily-Of-The-Valley, Spicy Notes.
Base Notes: Tolu Balsam, Peru Balsam, Amber, Patchouli, Musk, Vanilla, Oakmoss, Vetiver, Incense.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 8/26/2013 9:27:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is what immediately comes to mind when I think of those horribly strong, dated fragrances. My mum had this fragrance when I was growing up, and she had the mentality that because it was Estee Lauder "it must be the very best perfume if it is made by Estee Lauder" despite how bad it smelled (just like how some people think that any Louis Vuitton bag is amazing, even if it is the most hideously ugly bag ever, just because it is made by LV.) Later on in life she admitted to me that she tried to like it, believing that EL couldn't go wrong, but secretly she thought it was as bad as I did!

The description of this fragrance sounds interesting, and I might have purchased this based on a written description. However, the strength of this fragrance is overpowering to the extreme. It is very spicy, and it is this lingering spiciness which makes it unwearable. It develops into such a strange combination of notes that I can't even identify one of them, but a reviewer below was pretty spot on with the curry description. It is a complex scent and doesn't suit everyone, and only a small amount is needed. Wearing too much can be sickening not only for the wearer (if it turns like it did for me) but also for those around you.

There is something about these fragrances created years ago (like Youth Dew and Shalimar) which have immense staying power but have such a dramatic reaction in people. This is not something I would buy again. I am glad I tried a sample (and it brought back happy memories of growing up) but this is not for me. From the Estee Lauder website: "Top Notes: Rose, Jonquil, Lavender. Middle Notes: Jasmine, Muguet, Spices. Base Notes: Moss, Vetiver, Patchouli"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beaglebaileysmom on 7/26/2013 7:04:00 AM more reviews by beaglebaileysmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm in the camp that finds this one of the most retched smells imaginable. But I too take issue with the comments equating "old lady" and "awful." People say a perfume smells like old lady, obviously implying that is a strong negative. It is ageist, and it makes me wonder what these ladies think they are going to be if they are fortunate enough not to die young??? We are all future old ladies. BUT STILL...I admit that the image YD has always brought to mind for me is that of a very old woman with a walker and swollen ankles. I'm just being honest and readily accept any flames that may provoke. The age association is possibly due to the fact that this perfume has been around forever and is, in fact, favored by lots of elderly women. But let me be clear: That is not what makes this retched! There are a number of so-called "old lady" scents that I adore. But this is a special kind of hideous. So, thumbs down to this stinker, and thumbs down to mean ageist remarks.

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 4/3/2013 12:25:00 PM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is good on dry cold surfaces. Moisture, oil and temperature turns it into a chicken curry takeaway! where the actual youth dew is supposed to be found - i cannot fathom, unless it means being spiced up, baked, put into the ground and be reborn from the ashes! The comment about the tulip bulbs in the soil is spot-on, and I mean it in a good way: there's everything one could take from the earth in this fragrance - all the spices and elements that have ever been harvested and mined. It is bountiful, awakening and energizing, but for me this turns into plain curry halfway through the drydown. I am still convinced that it takes a special skin chemistry to pull this one off and I am absolutely sure that on the right skin it can be gorgeous: give it a try, on the skin - not on the clothes or paper! I will use my sample on the pillows and duvets before putting the bed linen on and see what happens! I give it 3 lippies for originality of composition: you just don't forget easily something like that!
Update: nope, doesn't work on fabric: it is only barely there, 0 sillage, maybe 0,1 if I press both nostrils flat and deep into the pillow case. ah well...
Assotiated city: Bombay
Associated persona: Ghandi!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Seemi on 3/25/2013 8:26:00 PM more reviews by Seemi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i know fragrance is subjective and what one person may love another may hate. I feel Youth Dew is a wonderful full bodied warm heady concoction it makes me feel all warm and snuggly each time i catch a whiff throughout the day. I must add it is powerful stuff and must be worn cautiously and not to douse oneself in it as that will cause many to duck and dodge you. All in all Estee Lauder knew her stuff and I for one am hooked on YD i will always wear this magnificent scent no matter what.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Fragrances products