Philosophy • Strawberry Milkshake 3 in 1 • Gels/Soaps

rated 3.2(155 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raenamercedi on 1/28/2011 11:41:00 PM more reviews by raenamercedi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this years ago. It was my first Philosophy three-in-one. I remember that I did love the scent, which is odd...I usually do not care for fruit scented anything. I was surprised to see that they still make this scent, and I will be re-purchasing the next time I go to Sephora.
I do not like to use the three-in-ones as a shampoo, but I do like them as a bubble-bath and a shower gel. My only complaint with the packaging is that I wish that this size came with a pump for convenience in the shower.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PrettyInPlaidChic on 1/28/2011 11:26:00 PM more reviews by PrettyInPlaidChic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Gimmicky. Recipe on the front of the bottle is vapid and laughable-anyone who needs instructions as to how to 'carefully' pour milk, strawberries and yogurt (or icecream) into their blender, needs their head examined, in my opinion. Fragrance isn't entirely fake, plastic strawberries, however, it could be slightly more believable. Once rinsed, it's subtle-something that I happen to prefer. As a shower gel, this is perfectly adequate and rinses well. As a bubble bath gel, it fails to deliver many bubbles at all-and adds a sour milky sludge-style rim around your bath-tub (or hot tub, in my case). As a shampoo, it's highly ineffective and is a disappointment. Leaves hair coarse, ragged and stripped. If I wasn't so obsessive-compulsive about using every last drop of this product, I'd 'freecycle' it. But, the one 'plus' is that you get a reasonable amount of bathing for your buck. Lovely idea. Mediocre, standard fragrance. Poor performer. An absolute no re-buy for me, sadly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zooper12 on 12/31/2010 3:45:00 PM more reviews by zooper12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely looooove this! I have always seen the Philosophy, yummy scented bath products and such on shopstyle.com, and at Ulta and Sephora, and I've always wanted them sooo bad, as I have a weakness for fruity and food-y scents. (But they're pretty expensive.) So, I asked for Philosophy bath/shower products for Christmas, and ended up getting this, and I was so happy! I also want to try the strawberry milkshake recipe on the front of the bottle.:) I had to unscrew the top to smell it, though, because I couldn't smell it just by flipping the little thing at the top. It smells very good, like strawberry shortcake. The consistency appeared to be relatively viscous, and it was a light-medium pink color with faint, slight white swirls in it. (I think?)Anyways, I like to use shower gels and the like as body washes, I prefer not to use them on my hair. When I took a shower, I squirted a tiny amount of this on my pouf (I normally only need the smallest amount of body wash on my pouf to get a good lather.) I like stuff that lathers a lot, and this was good in that department! The lather was white, and I could smell it as I was putting on, but sadly, I couldn't smell a trace of it on my skin after it was rinsed off and I got out of the shower. That can be a good thing, though, in that it won't clash with any perfume/body mist I put on. If you like food-y scents, but wear perfume and such, this is recommended!
Oh, and I forgot to mention that it wouldn't come out if I just flipped the top; I had to unscrew the top to get it out (it was difficult to squeeze out when I only flipped the little thing), just as I had to do to smell it. That is why the packaging gets a four.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zevie on 7/25/2010 3:19:00 PM more reviews by Zevie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought strawberry milkshake on a whim. I read the reviews here but I decided to try it anyways. I was surprised that I actually like it. It smells very plasticky in the bottle. Very fake, like air freshener. But once I put it on my shower puff, it smells like a creamy strawberry milkshake. It's a little artificial, just like a fast food milkshake. I enjoy using it and smelling it in the shower, just not so much on the bottle.

As for performance, it gives a really foamy lather and isn't drying at all. I use it as a shampoo too sometimes and it's fine for that but i need a good conditioner afterwards. It does suck as a bubble bath though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Reika on 4/13/2010 3:04:00 AM more reviews by Reika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product purely for the scent. I would give it a 5 for the scent, it doesn't smell artificial to me at all, it just smells like a real strawberry milkshake. I love using this in summer time, reminds me of all the yummy summer fruits and desserts. As for body wash, it lathers pretty well, makes me feel clean after wash, but it is not moisturising enough for my dry skin. The drawback is, for such an expensive body wash, the scent doesn't last at all. It seems the scent just immediatley goes away after wash, doesn't linger on my hair and skin, which I find disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 humbuggery on 3/23/2010 3:53:00 PM more reviews by humbuggery

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This scent smells like a strawberry foot.

A foot. A foot that is dipped in soured milk.

Lawds, it's terrible. I want to give it to my boss who is an awful person. Maybe she will enjoy it, because it's terrible......just like her.

In all seriousness, this smells so stale.

:'(

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 UberMagic on 2/3/2010 3:36:00 PM more reviews by UberMagic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Got this stuff as a gift. Adore the smell. It smells just like a strawberry milkshake- sugary and light.
As a body wash it does a simple clean, but not really very moisturizing, so it's kind of perfect for summer months where you don't want to feel weighed down. I don't use it as a shampoo/conditioner because my hair is really finicky. It might work just fine for other people, and I can only imagine how great it would make hair smell.
FInally, I love that it's in a big bottle so it lasts a while, and the light frosty pink color is fabulous. It makes me happy to be a girl :o)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abrad1967 on 6/6/2009 12:18:00 AM more reviews by abrad1967

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

The smell is yummy and I like that it can be used as a shampoo and shower gel/bath. Although the smell is yummy, the scent does not linger. I think it's great for people with sensitive skin. I don't like to use it as a shampoo because I have dry hair and it doesn't moisturize the hair. It also doesn't moisturize the skin that well but it's didn't dry out my skin either. Great scent but would not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* serrabird on 5/3/2009 3:00:00 PM more reviews by serrabird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hmm yummy yummy yum yum! I LOVE this huge pink bottle of strawberries...I love the smell, the texture, the creamy foam, the after-feel. Sense of smell is very personal and everybody perceives smells differently, therefore I cannot agree with people commenting that it is sickly and artificial. To me it is simply the most delicious yummy thing that actually smells like what it promises: Strawberry Milkshake. I would prefer if it came in a pump bottle because the texture is very thick but apart from that, I am in love with this pinkness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AnnM27 on 2/5/2009 11:09:00 PM more reviews by AnnM27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a new Philosophy fan, but this is not what I expected. Totally artificial and almost nauseating. The only scent I've disliked so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Gels/Soaps products