Frederic Fekkai • Salon Color Kit • Hair Color

rated 3.5(58 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 kcroyals on 5/9/2011 10:53:00 AM more reviews by kcroyals

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I hated this at first. The color came out too dark and was drab looking, but...it doesn't fade which is huge for me. I have all gray hair so keeping the color in is always a problem for me. It has lightened up just a tad but in a good way and hasn't faded any since. I usually use Loreal but due to the nonfading, I may stick with this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 veromoda on 3/15/2011 10:35:00 PM more reviews by veromoda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I generally only read reviews here.. This is my first one ever. I loved this color so much, that I felt like I needed to share with all girls. I purchased color 6N, which is neutral light brown. At first I was leaning toward 6W, but I wanted to minimize brassy red from previous hilights, so I went for the natural tone. I was a bit scared, since light browns generally turn my hair brassy/orange, while medium browns come out way to dark. My hair was dark beige blond with caramel undertones, Fekkai hair color made it rich sassy looking light to medium natural brown with little or no red. The color is not too dark, not too light, but just right - exactly like the color on the box. I know it will lighten up a little bit as I wash my hair every other day. The only problem I encountered while dying my hair is the amount of product was barely enough for me (I have shoulder lenght hair, medium density). I will buy 2 packages in the future, and I will continue to purchase this color. Please Fekkai, do not discontinue this product. I have finally found color that almost matches my natural hair color, but is dimentional.

The price is a little high, especially if you have to buy 2 boxes = $60
But considering that the last two times I tried to achieve this color with the help of professional colorist, my hair ended up almost black.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iccwt on 12/28/2010 8:12:00 PM more reviews by iccwt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried this in dark blonde and med blonde numerous times. While I like the color, my hair is constantly breaking and damaged. I tried a different brand in between and saw much less breakage. Then I went back to this again and again saw breakage at the root. So it's definitely THIS causing the breakage. It's just very drying and damages the hair. Disappointing bc the color and application is great. I love the bowl and brush method. But if my hair is constantly damaged, it doesn't matter what color it is, it still looks awful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 7/22/2010 12:50:00 AM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I don't know why I bother straying from this product - I never find anything that I like nearly as much, and the color is exactly what I want. I use 4W (Warm dark gold brown/Lana) in this product, and it is worth every penny. The difference between the Fekkai at-home coloring kit and those that I have used from other brands (too numerous to count, but mostly Garnier and L'Oreal products in recent years) is significant enough to warrant the price difference. I have been finding stark white strands among my very dark brown hair since I was 16 years old - I skipped the gray phase altogether - and keeping the white covered has been an ongoing battle. It is difficult for me to find dyes that do the job effectively, and lately no matter how careful I am Garnier hair color gives me horrible (and I mean hideous) hot roots.

Not this. The Fekkai dye mixture is incredibly creamy (love that it doesn't drip like so many others!) and the included materials are well designed and suited to the task. I follow the instructions to the letter and it is easy for me to evenly color my very thick, shoulder-length hair even all by myself. The color is as described on the box: a rich, dark golden brown that leaves my hair shiny and healthy-looking. I have and will continue to repurchase - and am considering trying another shade just for fun. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Thagem on 7/16/2010 10:11:00 AM more reviews by Thagem

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I used 9N in this product, I have been coloring my hair for many years and this is product is excellent...I am more than 50% gray and my roots are really white...It has been 3 weeks since i used it and it hasn't faded and roots still look great. I also loved the creamy consistency of the product, very easy to apply and no awful smelI. Its true it is a little pricey and you definitely don't need to buy a bowl every time but oh well. I would recommend to all!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessiela on 6/23/2010 12:31:00 PM more reviews by jessiela

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is the best at home hair color I have ever used. My dad is a hairdresser and he used to color my hair but since I have moved 2 hours away it's a little harder to get it done without really planning ahead. I have used this twice (once with Light Brown 6N and once with Medium Brown 5N) and both times the color has come out beautifully. It is a little more pricey than drugstore brands but I feel the quality is far superior and you really get what you pay for. I use my own color brush and bowl that I bought at a beauty supply store and I think it is the only way to get a truly salon quality color job. I use the Frederic Fekkai Color Technician shampoo and conditioner to keep my color looking fresh and it really make a huge difference with preventing fade. This may be the only at-home color I ever use again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carinnemj on 6/7/2010 3:20:00 PM more reviews by carinnemj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was really sad to move 500 miles away from my L.A. colorist since he was responsible for the best hair I've ever had. (He also does hair for Rachel Bilson and Kate Walsh, so the guy knows color.) Before I left, I asked if there were any at-home color kits that stack up to a salon job, and he said this one was better than most and recommended that 8N ("Christie," medium blonde) would be the closest match to his formula for me.
I gave it a shot and I'm super impressed. He was right, it matches exactly and it lifted my roots seamlessly. The pro brush makes it easier to apply right to the roots, and it doesn't smell as nasty as drugstore dye. And he gave me a tip: Halfway through the roots touch-up process, "baste" the color by swiping the brush through the full length of hair at random intervals. It gives nicely blended highlights.
I am no longer looking for a new colorist since this kit is able to give me exactly what I want. It may be $30, but the results rank up there with a single-process dye job several times that cost. I'm stockpiling it now.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 curtmarh on 4/18/2010 1:36:00 PM more reviews by curtmarh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I used Lucy (6r) and it came out too "red," which I didn't think looked very natural. Also, the pre-conditioner blocked some of the color and made my hair greasy, but when I didn't use it, my hair was a little dry. My roots came out really red, while the rest of my hair was still close to my natural level 5 brown. While I am curious to try the lightest of their auburn shades that they have, I have long hair so the price of 2 boxes is not worth it. (At this price, they should come out with a "large" option and charge $40 or so for it.) FF was my first try at home coloring (I was going to a salon before), but now I am fearless. I am now experimenting with L'Oreal Excellence creams. I find this product is surprisingly superior to FF. (I say surprisingly because I can never use drugstore shampoos, conditioners, etc., and usually use only FF products.) I tried L'Oreal 7R, which I really liked but it *may* have been to brassy for my skin tone. I thought I was done with my search after using their 6R but my hairdresser recently recommended using a touch of 6G in my mixture (about 25% of the total color) for really natural looking auburn.

As a side note, I posted a similar review on Sephora and for some reason it was taken down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tracygray on 3/29/2010 5:22:00 PM more reviews by tracygray

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

4N went red on me, absolute disaster.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 3/29/2010 5:17:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

For a hair coloring product in a box, this is an expensive adventure.

I had been using Preference and also Garnier, but my hair was just washing out all of my lovely strawberry tones and leaving me brassy.
I realize that some new medication I was given can be causing this BUT, this does not mean I have to live with it. So, I decided to go slightly deeper and back to the golden blonde to dim the orange brass.

I also decided to give this product a try as it had been recommended by a hairdresser. I bought the 9W, which is a light golden blonde. The application is not a problem as long as you follow instructions. The bowl is just like any mixing bowl you would use for other pro hair color lines.

What I did not like was the color this turned out. I did get golden blonde -- but it was about two levels darker than what I bargained for. I did not want dark golden blonde.. and I refuse to keep it. I am now Prelling it to lighten but so far it is stuck like glue.

The quality of this product does not warrant the price. It does smell far worse than many other lines I have tried. It did not leave my hair soft after application and only after a deep conditioning with Kerastase Intensive Mask did it feel like good hair again. The kit does come with a good conditioner -- but it isn't the best either and for the price it should be either bigger or better.

All in all, an expensive experiment and with useless results.. quite honestly I am waiting a bit and going deeper but in the reds -- and I am sure this will not do the job. Save $$ and don't buy this product -- I am not happy at all with this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Frederic Fekkai products

More Hair Color products