China Glaze • Midnight Ride • Polishes

rated 4.8(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 10/8/2013 2:30:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Very deep purple, with a shimmer that only shows up in certain light. This is a very dark polish (hint: it does have the word "midnight" in the name!), and in indirect light, it looks like an off-black. You really only see the purple in fairly direct or bright light.

The formula is gorgeous on this, applies very, very smoothly, and I got opacity with one coat (but still wore two, out of habit and for uniformity).

I got this polish because I didn't have any of the other popular very dark purples, and I wanted a dark purple for my collection. I'm pretty pleased with this one, actually. I do wish I could see the purple a bit more often, but I knew it was dark (midnight, after all!) when I bought it. In the bottle, it looks more obviously purple than it does on my nails, and the swatches I've seen generally show more of the purple, as well, but they're mostly taken with flashes or in sunlight, and under those conditions, yes, the purple is visible. In the indirect light in which I spend most of my time, though, the purple just doesn't show up much.

The truth of this polish, I think it's fair to say, is that it's a beautiful, rich, off-black that occasionally decides to show itself as purple, rather to than say it's purple that sometimes looks black. I don't mind this (I love dark, vampy polishes), but if you're going on the swatches online or the way it looks in the bottle, just know that the purple is definitely there but only shows up in certain lighting. The rest of the time, well, it is a MIDNIGHT Ride... ;)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sunnyhu on 10/24/2011 4:02:00 PM more reviews by sunnyhu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a dark, vampy purple that you can't tell is purple indoor. However, it is nowhere as dark as for example Lincoln Park After Dark, which I can't stand on my fingers. I swapped for it after seeing some nice swatch pictures. I wore it on my toenails once, but was a bit disappointed because it somehow pulls a bit too cool on my NC30 warm Asian skin. However, I was playing around at the Chanel counter the other day and I tried Vendetta on (don't ask me why it's still in stock here in Belgium. I guess people are so practical they don't shell out 20+ euros for a bottle of nail polish). I looked at it and thought, wait a minute, I have something exactly like this! I went home and tried Midnight Ride on one finger. Unless you're looking at them at a particular angle in direct sunlight, these two are basically identical. Compared with Vendetta, Midnight Ride leans a bit more red, and the the finish is slightly more metallic than jelly-ish. Vendetta also has more violet shimmer. I was also surprised to find this makes a good manicure color, plus it's THE season to wear this and my boyfriend actually really likes it on me (he has the most conservative sense of fashion when it comes to himself, but he always eggs me on when it comes to bold colors). It's not my favorite purple polish, but it's great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DominiCubanGirl on 1/16/2011 9:33:00 PM more reviews by DominiCubanGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First nail polish from china glaze and I'm very please even though it looks black indoors but outdoors on a sunlight you get this dark purple very beautiful

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sw33tvi3tchic on 8/10/2010 6:01:00 PM more reviews by sw33tvi3tchic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I originally wanted to get a black nail polish, but decided I wanted something a little different. I loved how easy it was to apply this color! I just recently started doing my own nails, and its pretty rare to find any polishes that is beautiful in just one coat. I love that I didn't have to wait for it to dry and put another coat on, because it was simply opaque enough the first time around. I only put two coats on one of my fingers because I messed up (like i said, im a rookie), but still, fastest application ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 10/27/2009 11:09:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Midnight Ride is an amazing deep vampy purple shade. In the bottle, this somewhat reminds me of OPI Who are you Wearing, but doesn't have the blue tones like OPI's does upon application. This remains a true deep purple falling just short of black after 2 coats. This is incredibly sexy and vampy, and rocks a winter pedicure and looks equally well on tips. I love China Glaze because the consistency is even application is spot on, and it never streaks or applies unevenly for me. Huge raves on this beauty!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 9/16/2009 3:17:00 PM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i agree with every single word the reviewer below me said. also i'd like to add, this is not a dupe, but a fair replacement for Chanel Vendetta. but dry with much less shimmer than in the bottle (in the case of MR, shimmer is invisible inside)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Milena on 6/24/2009 1:14:00 PM more reviews by Milena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this color. It's a shade I can't live without. Midnight Ride is a luscious, sexy, vampy black-purple with an iridescent quality to it but no shimmer or glitter. Imagine the darkest possible eggplant purple before you get to black - that's what it looks like. As the previous reviewer said, it looks black indoors and purple outside. I found my bottle to be a little bit goopy, but I think I just need to thin it out a little. The application was smooth, and this is completely opaque at two coats.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hontapocasgreen on 1/15/2009 8:07:00 AM more reviews by hontapocasgreen

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was so psyched up to get this color only for it to be a near black purple. It does appear to be a off black indoors, but looks better in sunlight where you can see it's purple. I do believe the name "Midnight" is appropriate for this color because it's literally dark as midnight. The more I've looked at this color at work this week, the more I think it's a shimmery-more-lustrous-with-a-touch-more-purple version of OPI Lincoln Park after Dark because it low light they would look exactly alike. I would recommend this color for someone who wants a next to black polish for an edgy look. The application was smooth, but the texture was a little thick only because it's highly pigmented. I got pretty good coverage in one coat, but did two anyway. Overall, a pretty color that has worn well and would compliment most skin tones but I wouldn't repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zhariel on 10/5/2008 10:36:00 PM more reviews by Zhariel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this dark purple. I've been wearing this, Cowgirl Up, and Rodeo Fanatic for the past month and loving the colors. I feel like the quality of the polish is very high, and it applies easily and stays on a long time. I highly recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More China Glaze products

More Polishes products