Bobbi Brown • Metallic Eyeshadow in Rockstar • Eye Shadow

rated 3.8(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* galsunday on 7/21/2011 1:59:00 AM more reviews by galsunday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It appeared dark silver on my lids but not so much shimmer. I had to build up the color. It does not crease even after sweating and it lasts. Its a wearable color for a day and night time look. Not so highly pigmented so its natural. I had to tap off the excess from the brush before applying as it tends to powder all over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz91 on 4/23/2011 12:06:00 AM more reviews by liz91

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been searching for a dupe (in color) to MAC's Shimma paint, and I thought this would be it. Rockstar is very close, just a tad darker. I may be the only one who thinks this, but to me, the color is purplish silver. It could also fit in the taupe family. This is my first Bobbi Brown purchase ever. I am disappointed with it, however. It is not very pigmented and takes a lot of product to build up the color. I ended up foiling the eyeshadow. That was only slightly better. Ladies, if you want this color in a great formula, buy NYX's Beanie eyeshadow. That is a dupe for this color-wise. Much cheaper and better quality.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shimmering on 6/17/2010 2:36:00 PM more reviews by shimmering

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This color is an extremely light silver color. It appeared much lighter on me than in the packaging. It came across too shimmery, which was a real surprise to me. Usually Bobbi Brown shadows are much more subtle in there colors and finishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilyofavalon on 3/24/2010 10:46:00 AM more reviews by lilyofavalon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a gorgeous shiny true gray color that makes for a stunning gray smoky eye. The staying power is also great.



But all things considered, Bobbi Brown's eyeshadow is kind of expensive. This shade isn't even unique, and easily dupable by MAC Silver Ring or the like. I think that the packaging is rather bulky and a little awkward, and delicate if you transfer it into the palette. Given that, it's wildly overpriced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kimberlyball on 1/19/2010 10:34:00 PM more reviews by kimberlyball

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Overall, this is an okay product. It's my first Bobbi Brown product and honestly probably my last. It shows up a true gray color, great for day by itself or in combination with other colors for a smoky look. Staying power is great, it looks the same after a long day as it does when I first put it on. The only bad thing is I have to put to or three coats of it on for it to show up and look semi-even, it just doesn't glide on evenly even when paired with a cream base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 floralipke on 1/2/2010 5:21:00 PM more reviews by floralipke

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got a full size Rockstar free from Bobbi Brown website together with some other purchase. It is more shimmer than color pay off. I have a little bit fall offs. You need to pat on instead of sweeping back forth. I like to lay on BB shadow grey. It is true grey/gunmetal with lots of silver shimmer. No blue/brown/purple undertones. Not super but it is a good if you want grey/gunmetal smoky eyes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetcg49 on 8/17/2009 2:26:00 PM more reviews by sweetcg49

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Rockstar is a grey/gunmetal/silver shade. It's quite lovely. It is a bit lighter than I expected, but it blends nicely with other shades. I really like Bobbi's shadows, and this one is no exception.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 duckie1 on 7/17/2009 6:24:00 PM more reviews by duckie1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I looove this shadow. It's definately an reached HG status for me. I'm cream 02 in Prescriptives Flawless Finish (so I'm very fair), and this shows up as a silvery, shimmery purple on my eyelids, yet the purple is not too intense. I've used other colors that seem to look the same in the packaging, yet none look the same on. It's very pretty! The staying power is great as well. I've worn it for up to 12 hours without having to touch it up AND that's without pairing it with a base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marthaquest on 4/18/2009 2:57:00 PM more reviews by marthaquest

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm disappointed in this. I've been a longtime BB fan & Rockstar has mythic status but I found the pigmentation weak plus it doesn't stay long on my eyes. I thought it would be something like Rock in the stonewashed nudes palette, but it's not -- I like Rock a lot more. Rockstar not as soft or creamy as other of her e/s. I agree it's a nice neutral, and adds a silver shimmer, other e/s have enough shimmer in them without adding a 2nd coat of Rockstar; I don't really want to layer e/s and especially not for $22. Maybe with the right primer it'll be different. I'm NC 15-20. Someone suggested the Metallics go on better with a pinkie or a cheapie foam applicator; i do this but it's still a weak wash of color. I'll probably swap this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karrieleigh on 3/18/2009 8:42:00 PM more reviews by karrieleigh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

*Click "Continued" to view pics of this shadow*

BB's metallic shadows are, on the whole, pretty great. I own four myself and love them all. The textures seem to vary a little. After Hours was my first of them, and the smooth pigmentation and lush color is what drew me in. Rockstar has some shimmer which makes the texture slightly different, in my opinion, but still great!

COLOR: The color is a midtone silver with some light gunmetal leanings. It's decidedly cool but with no blue undertones, a true silver to my eye. I like to use it over MAC Sharkskin shadestick to deepen it slightly and to make the shimmer stick to my skin, but the color when used by itself is about the perfect shade between light and dark to define but not overwhelm. This would not be dark enough to line, in my opinion, unless using over a darker base.

TEXTURE: As i said, the texture of the metallics are largely smooth shades with great pigmentation and no glitter. Rockstar does have a bit of shimmer which seems to "float" in the shadow along with the metallic shimmer which is embedded in the texture. it's hard to explain, but suffice it to say that you can experience fall-out from this shimmer if you're not careful. The shade doesn't lend itself to pigmentation as much as it does shimmer, meaning the payoff you get is more shimmer than pigment in terms of impact on the eye. hopefully you can make sense of that, i can't haha.

PACKAGING: The new BB packaging for shadows and blush is INGENIOUS! Each individual item is packaged in a square black compact with a clear top. Each item can be popped out of it's compact with a couple firm thumbs on the inlay on the bottom and popped into one of Bobbi Brown's compacts. There are 3, 4, and 6 pan palette compacts which are all equipped with mirrors. The bottom of each well in the palettes are cut out so that the label of each item you put in will show on the bottom of the palette. INGENIOUS, I say!

WEAR: This shadow, like other BB shadows wears on me completely the same all day over a base. I can't say how they wear without a base as i can't bring myself to try it. I'm enslaved by shadow primers (I love and usually use Too Faced Shadow Insurance).

PRICE: $20 for .10 oz isn't exactly prohibitively expensive, especially for a makeup addict, but it's still $20. I personally don't have a problem paying it for high quality unique shadows, but admittedly there are a lot of BB shadows i wouldn't shell out for, but this isn't one. it's worth the money. While i agree with the reviewer below that Sisley is more expensive, it's hardly debatable, this isn't a whim purchase price bracket for most. The shadows are large and if you pick and choose your favorites, a palette full of these is a great investment in my view, and a nice luxury that won't blow your budget completely if chosen wisely.

OVERALL: I LOVE this shadow, i just cannot live without it. I am maniacal about silver shadows and love them to death and if forced to part with some, i'd hide this one away in safety:P Great value and a great shade, you just can't beat it.

Rockstar is the top right shadow here:

and here it is on my eye over Sharkskin shadestick along with BB Bone Shimmer Wash and HIP Navy eye kohl


9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Eye Shadow products