LaLique • Amethyst • Fragrances

rated 3.9(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 tzinet on 1/16/2014 7:59:00 AM more reviews by tzinet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this perfume on a whim recently at Heathrow Airport and unfortunately I won't be wearing...somehow there is a lingering smell of berries to it which makes it for me too
overwhelmingly fruity....if you adore a 'berry' scent I would highly recommend it....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 5/17/2012 9:36:00 PM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Good for a floral fruity, but not earth shattering. Hot Couture is similar & much better imo. Pass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsMokum1 on 6/24/2011 2:15:00 PM more reviews by MsMokum1

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite fragrances. It's a comfort scent for me. I wear it to bed to help me relax and have good dreams. Sometimes, if I'm stressed, I spray it on. The berries morph into flowers and vanilla. It's truly lovely. The bottle is also attractive. I wish I could afford the art bottle of perfume, but that's out of my financial league.

The only drawback for me is it doesn't last long at all. For an edp, that's disappointing. I bought the perfumed body lotion to layer it with, thinking that would help it to last longer, but to no avail. But I adore this fragrance and will continue to buy it and hope it is never discontinued.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ivana89 on 4/13/2011 12:57:00 PM more reviews by ivana89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

my signature fragrance. been using it for more than 5 years and cannot seem to deviate from it. :) i am constantly flooded with compliments and people curiously asking about my perfume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 3/8/2011 11:25:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: nutmeg, blackberry, currant; rose, pepper, peony, lily, ylang-ylang; Bourbon vanilla and musk.

This fragrance opens with a ripe berry accord that is sweet and juicy. A touch of spices adds depth to the composition which otherwise would have been too girlish. After a while the fragrance gradually transitions from fruity to floral, allowing the gorgeous rose note to shine. The reign of the queen of flowers does not last the entire heart accord, for towards the end lily and ylang-ylang share this duty with her. The final stage of this fragrance is characterised by vanilla with a dash of musk. Young and sophisticated this fragrance just screams spring to me. Lasts for more than 4 hours on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riyeu on 1/23/2010 12:17:00 PM more reviews by riyeu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very unique fragrance that doesn't smell like all the other generic stuff out there. To me, it smells like complex grapes or black current. Smells absolutely divine in the first couple of minutes but then turns into soap-like smell. I wish it didn't b/c I would have made the purchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* syltetyta on 1/5/2009 5:36:00 PM more reviews by syltetyta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Allthough I own too many fragrances, and always tick the No-button as if to repurchase or not - THIS I will definately stock up on whenever I find it again.
To me it was love at first sniff, and HG fragrance after spending way too much money on that beautiful amethyst-colored square bottle with berry leaves engraved on the front, containing heavenmade juice of the longlasting sillage sort of perfumes.


Sprayed on wrists - it stays all day, sprayed on clothes instead - it stays for days.
I have a paperstrip in my creditcardholder which I put there on the 13th of December - the day that I found it and bought it - the strip still smells like it's just freshly sprayed.


I wore it during the Christmas holidays, and everybody complimented me on it - even my father who never ever take an interest in scents whatsoever (or compliments, for that matter), suddenly leaned against me during dinner, took a good and deep breath, and said: "You smell utterly divine, may I have some too?"
He wanted to sniff his own hand instead of diving into my wrists all the time and embarass me, he explained.


So to sum it up: My HG fragrance, a serious compliment winner among men and women, and longlasting on my skin.
And of course, not as easy to find where I live or travel, so not many people will be wearing it.
Right now I could bite my hand off for not buying the biggest bottle at once - it will be hell to find it again I guess, so I cherish the bottle that I have and will save it for special occasions - If I can restrain myself.


This fragrance is so lovely that I could throw away my entire collection right now (big, see notepad), and not look any further to find a HG fragrance ever again.


Ingredients (Osmoz.com): Black currant, blackberry leaves, raspberry, lily, ylang-ylang, peppery rose, peony, fruity musks, woodsy notes, vanilla.


On me it bursts with black currants and a tiny tad raspberry, then shortly after involves the musks and stays addictively creamy-berry/musky for several hours where it is impossible to distinguish the ingredients - it's so perfectly blended. Then very slowly it calms down to the woodsy and vanilla note after approximately 8 hours, never ever touching the edge of even being mistaken for a gourmand fragrance.
This fragrance is special, a gem, a masterpiece made by Nathalie Lorson, Firmenich.
Bystanders tells me it is a strong scent with a fantastic sillage but never uncomfortable, piercing, or obnoxious. They use words like heavenly, attractively appealing, comforting, classy, wonderfull, divine, perfect, and I myself call it a "never-leave" fragrance because noone actually does that when standing near me.


I think that this about covers what I myself perceive this fragrance to be, and all the people that have smelled it on me during Christmas 2008.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katt35 on 11/17/2008 10:25:00 AM more reviews by katt35

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this scent, I have recently became really interested in discovering a scent that will win me over for more than a season, and I think I have found one that I will come back to over and over again. This is an unique scent, fresh, not overly foral but there is a hint present. My passion used to be makeup until I discovered Marc Jacobs and then Jo Malone. That is how I discovered Lalique, I did not even know they made perfume. I am not that good in identifying notes in scents but this one has some of the most unusal but at the same time beautiful. I love this and just purchased the body lotion and I plan on ordering the candle next, <3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DEWW on 9/20/2008 11:09:00 PM more reviews by DEWW

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I own more or less 60 fragances, when I smelled this I thought "blah" but then someone sprayed this on me in the mall and I fell in LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEE, I even bought a second bottle to keep in my desk at work, to me it smells like soooooo different to other frangances! like black fruit (framboise, prune etc... ) but not sweet, I really adore this scent :) definitevly repurchase. Status: HG for fall

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stanzi on 8/24/2008 12:00:00 PM more reviews by stanzi

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The notes for Amethyst eau de parfum reportedly include blackberry, black currant, raspberry, mulberry, rose, peony, ylang ylang, vanilla, and musk. On my skin, Amethyst smelled like a blast of The Body Shop's Dewberry, followed by... nothing? It vanished very quickly. If you're craving a blackberry fragrance, you should just invest in some Mure et Musc. If, like me, you were hoping for a sweet rose-and-berry blend, you would do better with Parfums de Nicolai Balkis, Bond no. 9 Bryant Park, Juliette Has a Gun Miss Charming, or even Armani Diamonds. The bottle is nice to look at (and the bottle for the pure parfum is gorgeous), and the price is reasonable enough, but Amethyst seems like a weaker cousin of several fragrances that I already own.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More LaLique products

More Fragrances products