Tom Ford White Patchouli

3.5

55 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/13/2014 7:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Right from the quality of the patchouli and the balmy rose, through to the gorgeous bottle, WP is a stand out.

I am a lover of Hypnotic Poison, Premier Figuier, Coco Chanel, Jasmine Rouge, Poeme, and this for me is one of those classics. Unconventional, confident, but something that has a timelessness about it. It was a blind buy, but I had a feeling I would love it. And I do!

It starts off with a pop of patchouli (but the best version of the scent I have ever smelled - like a fine quality incense) and then becomes almost cologne like before smoothing out into the rose-patch lusciousness. I've had love affairs with many fragrances but especially the Premier Figuier in recent years, but this may rival it for its addictive scent and sensuousness - both refreshing and bohemian, a beautiful trail and sillage, and yet not too overbearing.


It's an artful composition. I think patch can be a tricky scent to "get right" because it's quite potent, but here they have somehow derived the best version of it, and with the balmy, dangerous rose, you have a fragrance that knocks your socks off. Someone greeted me today, eyes fluttering, saying "ohhh what are you wearing... it smells sooo nice!"

Tom Ford definitely works to refine a perfume until it is the best it can be. The quality is outstanding too - the lasting power is never poor (at least in those I have tried) and there's a little bit of the eccentric to the scents composed.


There's a really naughty confidence to this.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 9/16/2014 9:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Would buy again, I wear it at night when going for dinner or hitting the club, I find it more manly scent even tho it is unisex


on 9/11/2014 11:16:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

OMG this is completely awesome! It dries down to a musky sensuousness that is indescribable -- it has to be worn to experience it.

Launched in 2008 -- here are the notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes -- Bergamot, Coriander, White peony
Heart Notes -- Ambrette seed, Jasmine, Rose
Base Notes -- Woods, Patchouli, Frankincense

I get a floaty warm sensuousness in the drydown that has nothing to do with the patchouli note. Yes, the patch is there, but it's not rough -- it's very mild and like a subtle incense or pepper -- but the main event to me is the way the notes combine into an incredible warm skin musky quality -- which is something I'm always looking for in a fragrance. I just love when perfumes dry down into a sensuous warm skin musk -- where you can't tell where the fragrance ends and natural skin begins -- and this fragrance does that in spades, for me anyway.

It's almost like just a straight-up skin musk plus a subtle incense, to my nose. I don't smell any florals at all (which is good, because I'm neither a floral nor fruit scent lover -- I prefer natural earthy musky perfumes best, like Narciso Rodriguez for Her EDT & EDP). The muskiness of White Patchouli's drydown has a warm & "melty" quality, which I loooooove.

Lovely lovely fragrance -- I catch whiffs and go "ahhhh". One of my best finds this whole year, if not THE best find. Signature-worthy, for sure. The patch is light, and the strength of application is easy to control. Can be worn any time, anywhere, since it wears like a 2nd-skin, albeit slightly peppery.

I'm so glad I bought this -- totally worth the price -- and it's now tied as my favorite Tom Ford with Violet Blonde, which I also really love (and I also have & **love** Black Orchid, Voile de Fleur, Velvet Orchid, and Grey Vetiver). Even though the beautiful solid white bottle does protect the fragrance against light damage, I always prefer to see how much juice I have left, so a point off for packaging -- otherwise, 5 lippies.

There's a soul connection for me with this fragrance. I can see WP becoming one of the "must-haves" in my collection.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2014 7:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Well I missed out when I tried this when it came out , I wasn't really into it. Wow this is great , if you like white florals and patchouli , you will love it! Amazing quality ! At first the burst of white florals are sweet and strong the patchouli is always there and present but always in the background. After 40 minutes I get some rose that gives me a soir de lune vibe but only for a brief moment . The white florals dance around the rose and it doesn't stay the whole time . The dry down is great when the incenses comes in and softens the whole thing . The patchouli is clean and sexy . This was a blind buy for me and I don't regret it. This is a step up for me from the sweet and fruity fragrances that exist in overload! Thank you Tom ford for this fragrance!


on 1/20/2014 6:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It took a couple days for this perfume to grow on me, but I absolutely love it. It's totally different from any perfume I own and it's not one that every girl will love. White Patchouli is soft, delicate, and stunningly beautiful - smelling better and better as it settles.
The scent is seriously a work of art and difficult to describe, but I would say it's a clean, musky floral with the light hint of patchouli & spices. It's classy, refined, but modern. I find it to be more feminine than unisex, and imagine a very seductive, confident woman wearing it. My fiancé loves it and can't seem to keep his hands off me since I bought it. I sometimes wear it on top of a more earthy patchouli scented lotion...the combination is basically irresistible.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2013 2:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is not a good scent for me from Tom Ford.
First of all, It does not last at all!
Secondly, it has such a weird smell. I'm not really a fan thus the bottle is still full. *sigh*
Sorry Tom Ford, you didn't get this right


on 5/25/2013 10:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I liked this but the dry down is similar to Covet, which I already have. I love the bottle.I will put as rebuy because it is worth a try if you like heavier dry downs.


on 1/3/2013 6:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Tom ford is like my favorite person on the planet, i would want to spend my entire salary on his products and stuff. However, this doesnt change the fact that this perfume is not a good investment. I wanted a modern and sexy scent after my Coco Mademoiselle, so I had to try this. I bought a whole bottle even properly examining the longevity and stuff. Just liked the scent. It is a splash of freshness. However, in a couple of hours it is all gone. For that much money i would expect sth better. Besides my boyfriend didnt think that it was feminine and bought me another Coco immediately :) The scent is good but the longevity is unsatisfactory. Besides I have small hands and it was a torture to spray this on me due to the shape of the bottle. Sorry Tommy:(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/24/2012 10:46:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

TF White Patchouli is a strong and sharp patchouli. There may be some flowers on top. Even the tiniest amount spread around was too much for me - I may try mixing a spritz or so of the juice into a decant jar of unscented shea cream to dilute it. Could be fabulous on the right man, dosed lightly.


on 2/16/2012 10:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

I did not enjoy this as much as I do other Tom Ford fragrances. I usually like patchouli in my fragrances, but it was almost non-existent in White Patchouli; to me it smelled like something between sweaty arm pits and fresh cut flowers, not a good combo IMO. I adore Black Orchid and Violet Blonde but this was not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1375 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Back to Top