Tom Ford • White Patchouli • Fragrances

rated 3.5(55 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Orphique on 10/13/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by Orphique

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Right from the quality of the patchouli and the balmy rose, through to the gorgeous bottle, WP is a stand out.

I am a lover of Hypnotic Poison, Premier Figuier, Coco Chanel, Jasmine Rouge, Poeme, and this for me is one of those classics. Unconventional, confident, but something that has a timelessness about it. It was a blind buy, but I had a feeling I would love it. And I do!

It starts off with a pop of patchouli (but the best version of the scent I have ever smelled - like a fine quality incense) and then becomes almost cologne like before smoothing out into the rose-patch lusciousness. I've had love affairs with many fragrances but especially the Premier Figuier in recent years, but this may rival it for its addictive scent and sensuousness - both refreshing and bohemian, a beautiful trail and sillage, and yet not too overbearing.


It's an artful composition. I think patch can be a tricky scent to "get right" because it's quite potent, but here they have somehow derived the best version of it, and with the balmy, dangerous rose, you have a fragrance that knocks your socks off. Someone greeted me today, eyes fluttering, saying "ohhh what are you wearing... it smells sooo nice!"

Tom Ford definitely works to refine a perfume until it is the best it can be. The quality is outstanding too - the lasting power is never poor (at least in those I have tried) and there's a little bit of the eccentric to the scents composed.


There's a really naughty confidence to this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LushLuke10 on 9/16/2014 9:22:00 AM more reviews by LushLuke10

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Would buy again, I wear it at night when going for dinner or hitting the club, I find it more manly scent even tho it is unisex

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 9/11/2014 11:16:00 AM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

OMG this is completely awesome! It dries down to a musky sensuousness that is indescribable -- it has to be worn to experience it.

Launched in 2008 -- here are the notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes -- Bergamot, Coriander, White peony
Heart Notes -- Ambrette seed, Jasmine, Rose
Base Notes -- Woods, Patchouli, Frankincense

I get a floaty warm sensuousness in the drydown that has nothing to do with the patchouli note. Yes, the patch is there, but it's not rough -- it's very mild and like a subtle incense or pepper -- but the main event to me is the way the notes combine into an incredible warm skin musky quality -- which is something I'm always looking for in a fragrance. I just love when perfumes dry down into a sensuous warm skin musk -- where you can't tell where the fragrance ends and natural skin begins -- and this fragrance does that in spades, for me anyway.

It's almost like just a straight-up skin musk plus a subtle incense, to my nose. I don't smell any florals at all (which is good, because I'm neither a floral nor fruit scent lover -- I prefer natural earthy musky perfumes best, like Narciso Rodriguez for Her EDT & EDP). The muskiness of White Patchouli's drydown has a warm & "melty" quality, which I loooooove.

Lovely lovely fragrance -- I catch whiffs and go "ahhhh". One of my best finds this whole year, if not THE best find. Signature-worthy, for sure. The patch is light, and the strength of application is easy to control. Can be worn any time, anywhere, since it wears like a 2nd-skin, albeit slightly peppery.

I'm so glad I bought this -- totally worth the price -- and it's now my favorite Tom Ford (and I also have & **love** Black Orchid, Voile de Fleur, and Grey Vetiver). Even though the beautiful solid white bottle does protect the fragrance against light damage, I always prefer to see how much juice I have left, so a point off for packaging -- otherwise, 5 lippies.

There's a soul connection for me with this fragrance. I can see WP becoming one of the "must-haves" in my collection.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jellybean78 on 2/25/2014 7:05:00 AM more reviews by jellybean78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Well I missed out when I tried this when it came out , I wasn't really into it. Wow this is great , if you like white florals and patchouli , you will love it! Amazing quality ! At first the burst of white florals are sweet and strong the patchouli is always there and present but always in the background. After 40 minutes I get some rose that gives me a soir de lune vibe but only for a brief moment . The white florals dance around the rose and it doesn't stay the whole time . The dry down is great when the incenses comes in and softens the whole thing . The patchouli is clean and sexy . This was a blind buy for me and I don't regret it. This is a step up for me from the sweet and fruity fragrances that exist in overload! Thank you Tom ford for this fragrance!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 koridixon on 1/20/2014 6:46:00 PM more reviews by koridixon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It took a couple days for this perfume to grow on me, but I absolutely love it. It's totally different from any perfume I own and it's not one that every girl will love. White Patchouli is soft, delicate, and stunningly beautiful - smelling better and better as it settles.
The scent is seriously a work of art and difficult to describe, but I would say it's a clean, musky floral with the light hint of patchouli & spices. It's classy, refined, but modern. I find it to be more feminine than unisex, and imagine a very seductive, confident woman wearing it. My fiancé loves it and can't seem to keep his hands off me since I bought it. I sometimes wear it on top of a more earthy patchouli scented lotion...the combination is basically irresistible.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 UrsiG on 12/6/2013 2:54:00 PM more reviews by UrsiG

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a good scent for me from Tom Ford.
First of all, It does not last at all!
Secondly, it has such a weird smell. I'm not really a fan thus the bottle is still full. *sigh*
Sorry Tom Ford, you didn't get this right

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* greenreed on 5/25/2013 10:03:00 PM more reviews by greenreed

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I liked this but the dry down is similar to Covet, which I already have. I love the bottle.I will put as rebuy because it is worth a try if you like heavier dry downs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marcoleptic on 1/3/2013 6:19:00 AM more reviews by marcoleptic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Tom ford is like my favorite person on the planet, i would want to spend my entire salary on his products and stuff. However, this doesnt change the fact that this perfume is not a good investment. I wanted a modern and sexy scent after my Coco Mademoiselle, so I had to try this. I bought a whole bottle even properly examining the longevity and stuff. Just liked the scent. It is a splash of freshness. However, in a couple of hours it is all gone. For that much money i would expect sth better. Besides my boyfriend didnt think that it was feminine and bought me another Coco immediately :) The scent is good but the longevity is unsatisfactory. Besides I have small hands and it was a torture to spray this on me due to the shape of the bottle. Sorry Tommy:(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlamDiva on 5/24/2012 10:46:00 AM more reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

TF White Patchouli is a strong and sharp patchouli. There may be some flowers on top. Even the tiniest amount spread around was too much for me - I may try mixing a spritz or so of the juice into a decant jar of unscented shea cream to dilute it. Could be fabulous on the right man, dosed lightly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* euroasian on 2/16/2012 10:48:00 AM more reviews by euroasian

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I did not enjoy this as much as I do other Tom Ford fragrances. I usually like patchouli in my fragrances, but it was almost non-existent in White Patchouli; to me it smelled like something between sweaty arm pits and fresh cut flowers, not a good combo IMO. I adore Black Orchid and Violet Blonde but this was not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Fragrances products