MAC • Cult of Cherry • Lip Gloss

rated 4.3(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikki_L on 12/22/2012 10:55:00 AM more reviews by Nikki_L

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's a cool cherry red shimmer. It's just okay to me even though it is flattering on my skin. I like nitrolicious better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chickatthegym on 8/29/2009 12:09:00 PM more reviews by chickatthegym

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color! Perfect red for my medium skintone. I usually shy away from red lipsticks since I am not very coordinated LOL. But this gloss gives just the right hint of color without making you look like a clown. It's a true red that isn't orangy or pinkish which I really like. The texture of MAC lipglasses is worth the price because they are not sticky at all and go on so smooth and last. I have two of these and would buy them again for sure if they were not LE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 muffinphonic on 3/4/2009 10:46:00 PM more reviews by muffinphonic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It needs to be noted i am not a fan of lipgloss. I find all varieties of it really annoying because i hate the stickiness of it and my hair gets stuck in it, urgh. However, i got Cult of Cherry because i was hoping it was the perfect ruby red shade i've been looking for.


On it's own, Cult of Cherry is very pigmented for a lipgloss, but on my light yellow toned asian skin, it does go a bit pink when it fades. And it fades quicker than lipsticks (as all lipglosses do i suppose).

However, i realised i could remedy it by wearing red lipliner or lipstick underneath. I suppose this does defeat the point of wearing such a pigmented lipglass in the first place, but this does stop it from fading pink and it does make the lipstick look more cherryish in appearance.


After a bit of testing, i worked out how to get my perfect ruby red - firstly i applied my favourite MAC lipstick, Viva Glam 1, then sparingly dabbed Cult of Cherry over the top. Oh my god, i've finally worked out how to get that red shade you see in adverts but are never able to replacate! Click 'continued' link below to see my photos:


This is MAC Viva Glam on it's own (excuse the messy testing):


And this is Viva Glam WITH Cult of Cherry lipglass over the top:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arikabh on 2/17/2009 5:34:00 AM more reviews by arikabh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Holy smokes, this lipglass is unbelievable!!! I am so lucky to have gotten this right away. Its so lovely and amazing. I am so mad it's limited edition. This shade is the ultimate HG red lipglass! I wish I had a backup. If you ever come across this one snap it up!. Its shiny and sexy with the rest of you face in minimal makeup. Black liner, mascara and a bit of bronzer would be hot. I would wear this more if I had a backup. I dont want to run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 petiterocker on 2/15/2009 12:10:00 AM more reviews by petiterocker

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The smell is nice, and the color reminds me of a cherry pie. The reason I bought this one day at the MAC counter in Macy's was because that damn "cult of cherry" collection song was stuck in my head. Once i swiped it on, I wasnt surprised. t felt a bit sticky, but the color was charming. The past few times I've worn it, I find myself blotting it off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetie_cake on 12/30/2008 2:30:00 PM more reviews by sweetie_cake

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is a gorgeous color! Unfortunely I just don't do reds. It is very pigmented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* illuminate1 on 12/3/2008 3:42:00 PM more reviews by illuminate1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A very pigmented lipgloss indeed! I purchased to use with my Port Red or my NARS Flaminco and its very complimentary to both. I am wearing today alone and its also nice by itself. I have reds but wear them only occasionally. I am going to make more of an effort to USE what I buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* turkey2083 on 11/23/2008 2:18:00 AM more reviews by turkey2083

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a really amazing, truly red lip gloss. I just picked it up in a sale on livejournal because it was cheap and I wanted to try it, but it is soooooooo pretty. I'm not a lipstick girl, more of a lipgloss girl and this is like the perfect lipstick look, but with the weight of lipgloss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olympialetantoli on 11/14/2008 5:18:00 PM more reviews by olympialetantoli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oddly enough I was desperate for a red lipstick or a gloss. I stick to nudes and mauves on my lips. I opted for the gloss Cult of Cherry because I didn't want to buy a lipstick, liner and gloss.

This gloss is the same texture as all the other MACs but because it is red you have to be careful to apply. Comes off real easy so you have re-apply and re-apply...ugh exhausting on a night out! My friends hated it, but I loved it for a phase.

Its an easy colour and shade for anyone to wear, I'm an NC30-35 and the MA was much paler and it looked nice on her. It makes my makeup look much lighter. I dont bother with too much eyeshadow when I do wear it.

Overall, if you want to experiment with reds but not invest too much this is the one. Otherwise I dont think red will ever be my colour!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zhariel on 10/5/2008 10:51:00 PM more reviews by Zhariel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite red lip gloss of all time. The color looks perfect on me. It looks great on its own or layered over a lipstick. It's easy to apply. I highly recommend this lip gloss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lip Gloss products