John Masters • Deep Scalp Follicle Treatment & Volumizer for Thinning Hair • Hair Treatments

rated 4.1(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 graphicfighter on 8/28/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by graphicfighter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Let's get straight to the facts. This is by no means a super potion that will make your hair magically grow like a unicorn's mane. Once you get past that biased expectation, you're off to discover a good product if you have fine, limp and sparse hair.

I'm currently on my third repurchase and I just couldn't do my hair routine without it. I just feel good using a product that's 100% natural and lightweight for my hair. And it smells good at that. One bottle lasts around 2-3 months (3 sprayings/middle parting, 2/each side, 2/back every other day) which is pretty decent considering its price.

I honestly saw volume results on my first try. This solution gives a puffing effect to my hair when I apply it right after the shower and just before blow drying it upside down. It has no effect on my usual hair loss but I saw visible results on thickness and strength after 2 months. As such, it may earn its qualification of "treatment" but this ain't a permanent cure for fine hair; you just don't change genetics.

I've been using it every other day for 8 months and if the results aren't as dramatic as you could imagine, it does help boosting my hair's health. A definite repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninaulrich on 5/2/2013 10:47:00 AM more reviews by ninaulrich

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Used this religiously for about 6 weeks (used up half a bottle), then my patience began to run out. Like other reviewers, I didn't see any improvement, nor in strength or volume. Actually, when applied together with my usual Thickening Spray (Bumble and bumble) it made my roots a little stringy which is my biggest no go. I like the idea of herbs nourishing the scalp, but honestly a bottle goes fast if used after every wash, and the results are definitely not worth the price. Too bad, because I expected it to be some kind of miracle product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leonka on 4/15/2013 3:48:00 PM more reviews by leonka

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I did not see any significant improvement in my hair, no volume either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iciclerain on 11/22/2012 12:33:00 AM more reviews by iciclerain

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a little undecided on this product. I already used up a bottle, which is very small. and I tend to think for this kind of products to work, it will have to take longer. So I might give it another try. Honestly I did not see any significant improvement in my hair after the first bottle

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamstep on 11/13/2012 10:18:00 AM more reviews by glamstep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Is it messed up that I want to stop & tell every woman with hair of a 70+ yr old at my salon to stop wasting money on weekly blowouts and try this gem instead?? Not trying to be offensive, because thats exactly how my 26 yr old Indian (I know its shocking, but mine has gone through multiple colors/relaxers/hot tools abuse over the yrs) has looked for a while now. I stumbled across this while reading top reviews online on dermstore/beauty and wanted to sample it first so went to my local Whole Foods with wet hair. I followed the instructions & applied a spritz on my balding side part, after my hair dried I noticed more volume, as if I had teased the area! There was no residue, stickyness, tingle or any trace left behind.


Being highly impressed with the natural ingredients & price point of around $20 for 2 oz I invested in it. Ive used about 1/4 of the bottle in roughly 4 months. I use it RELIGIOUSLY after each hair wash, I did use it sparingly though because I truly wanted to test it out. I used about 2-3 spritz around my entire head, lifting portions that I need volume in or have thinning at (bangs & crown area mainly). Since the use of this miracle in a bottle my side part is less visible, I see baby hairs emerging & I dont need any bumpits/teasing! I can even go on more days without washing (probably another reason why its lasted me so long) my hair just doesn't get oily as quickly. Previously, I would use a dry shampoo every 2nd day & wash 4th day (because I couldn't afford more frequent washes, since I would shed more hair) but thats not the case anymore. There alot of textruizers/volumizer products out there but none actually improve the quality of your hair. JMO truly stimulates your hair follicles with essential oils and herb extracts.


I can't imagine what it would do for my hair in the long run, especially because I intend on using it more generously. No need to be stingy now that I know the results are promising and a little goes a long way. Its in a tiny dark bottle to preserve its goodies from the sunlight & the clear liquid spritz out evenly, has a sweet non-bothersome scent that dissipates instantly. So ladies with thinning hair do yourself a favor, skip the blow dry/tease & use this instead. It will give you the same results, with the added benefit of hair growth. Here's what makes this stuff so potent & efficient:


Aqua (Purified Water), Glycerin, Sorbitol, Panthenol (Vitamin B), Centillica Asiatica (Gotu Kola) Extract,* Chondrus Crispus (Irish Moss) Extract,* Plantago Asiatica (Chegian Zi) Extract,* Arctium Lappa (Burdock Root) Extract,* Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Urticia Dioica (Nettle) Extract,* Yucca Schidigera (Yucca) Extract,* Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Distillate, Arnica Montana (Arnica) Extract,* Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile),* Hyaluronic Acid, Camellia Sinensis (White Tea) Extract,* Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract,* Calendula Officinalis (Calendula) Extract,* Tocopherol Acetate (Vitamin E), Carica Papaya (Papaya) Extract, Cucumis Sativa (Cucumber) Extract,* Soy Protein, Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Extract, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Oil,* Triticum Vulgare (Wheat Germ) Oil,* Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Oil,* Linum Usitatissimum (Flax Seed) Oil,* Rosmarinus Officinalus (Rosemary) Oil*.
*Certified Organic By QAI/CCOF

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 closetrebels on 9/7/2012 7:26:00 PM more reviews by closetrebels

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Let me just preface this by saying, it's extremely pricey, especially for a student in London, but I honestly think it's worth it. I have really fine hair, aggravated by developing SD a few years ago, and this product really helps provide a bit of volume. I've only been using it a couple of months but my hair has been falling out a lot less and it has helped improve the condition of my scalp. The bottle has lasted me for about 2 and a half months, and I use about 8 sprays per day.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cosq on 2/5/2012 10:53:00 AM more reviews by cosq

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Definitely worth it! My already fine hair was getting even finer and thinner at the roots and I have started to lose it rapidly (hormonal changes, bleach, sunÖ). Having read some positive reviews here, Iíve decided to give it a try and I am so glad I did! The change was visible straight after the first application. Iíve washed my hair, sprayed the product on my scalp, massaged it lightly and Ė instantly - my limp hair was lifted at the roots and actually got some shine and volume! After a month or so of regular use (I wash my hair some 2-3 times a week) a miracle happened - no hair in shower drain! I am on my second bottle now and Iím definitely seeing huge improvement in my hair quality Ė not only does it grow faster, but itís also fuller and much stronger. The product does not make my hair greasy or sticky and it does not even remotely weight it down. I will definitely keep on buying this stuff again and again!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kellyessman on 7/22/2011 9:35:00 PM more reviews by kellyessman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff. I have thin, fine, colored hair. I switched over to all natural hair products all at the same time so I can't say for sure if it is this product (vs. the Intelligent Nutrients shampoo and conditioner) but my guess is it is. I have noticed a lot of new growth and my hair seems a lot thicker and a lot shinier. This product does not weigh it down or gum it up. I spray it directly on my scalp. I wash my hair every 2-3 days. I have seen a huge difference and I used to be strictly Kerastase.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChrisseMarie on 1/6/2011 9:55:00 AM more reviews by ChrisseMarie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was really excited to try this product based on the few reviews that it had. I have really fine, thin hair that is just past my shoulders.

I was not impressed. I did not notice a difference after use. I think it's quite expensive for the small bottle that it comes in; I believe I paid around $20 for a 8oz bottle.

Had it worked, I definitely would have repurchased and price would not have been an issue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 savliving on 11/13/2010 3:29:00 PM more reviews by savliving

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is awesome. My hair is fine and limp but I have a ton of it, yet the scalp always shows. With this spray after 2 months I can no longer see scalp. I don't mind the price because the bottle has lasted a couple months with about a quarter used. I'm only 27 but got really sick and started taking care of my hair and scalp and with this it really shows! Update: I really love this stuff. I bought 2 more bottles with their 25% off code. Oh and the bottle is not glass anymore. I will never be without it.The easiest and most economical way is to spray directly to the scalp and quickly massage in. I spray on each side and 2 spots in the back. My hair also needs to be pretty damp so I don't get any greasies. 3/17/11 another update: I still love this. My scalp started getting a little flaky due to spiro so I cut back to this every other wash and it's great. Even without the spray on days i don't use it, my scalp doesn't show! So continued use has worked really well for me. Another Update 9/5/11 I still use this but only on the days I feel I need it. My scalp never shows anymore but sometimes I like a little lift! Will always have this on hand.

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Masters products

More Hair Treatments products